We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's All-Star Movies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's All-Star Movies Resort to your Saves list
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1901 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stay here when we comes to Disney. We love the food court, food is delicious and fresh. Housekeeping is always smiling and saying hello. Pool is clean and love the gift shop. Check in is easy. Just wish they would update carpets and furniture, kinda old and ratty but I have no other complaints

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    1,614
    694
    267
    158
See reviews for
2,499
506
43
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here in May, over mothers day. We stayed in the 101 Dalmatian Building due to paying for a preferred room. I would not pay for a preferred room again, it is much more compressed than music or sports. We did express check in, and still had to wait an extremely long time to check in and get our keys. The food court is always busy, so expect a wait there. A plus is that you can send your park purchases to the shop there for pick up. The room is basic, but that is what you should expect with a value, we had 3 adults and the room was an alright size. I would probably try Pop next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at this resort. The only problem I had with our room was the location as we had to walk a long distance to get to the pool and the main lobby, food etc... We had paid for a prefered location and got in a prefered building but still took about 10 minutes to walk to the pool if you went at a good clip. I will say they were very accommodating though. When I mentioned to them that I didn't feel like I was getting my money's worth paying for a prefered location, they offered to give me what I wanted to make me happy. I asked for another day in the parks for free. They gave it to me for our entire party. Housekeeping was great and did their job well. Very nice crew of people working there. I would definitely stay here again if I ever do return to Disney.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The reason why I chose to stay at this hotel was for the four-story Buzz and Woody, which my son adored. That was the best part of the hotel. We had numerous issues from the moment we arrived. The staff at the quick service area had little patience and did not speak politely to several customers, myself included. Once we got to the room, we discovered the items we requested were not delivered (balloon which I ordered online) and bed rails. A Disney worker knocked on the door 5 minutes later, didn't say a word to me, plopped the rails in the room and shoved them toward the bed. Another 5 minutes later, a different worker delivered the balloon for my son. She made it a magical experience for him and a fun memory.

At this point, it was close to 11, so I pull back the sheets to put my son to bed and discover a 6inch x 8 inch area of dried blood spatters at the foot on the bed. Due to it being so late, I put my son down in the opposite bed and called the front desk when he fell asleep. I explained the disappointment of the customer service we've received thus far, the blood on the sheets and the large chunks of wall missing near the door. I explicitly asked to have the manager call my cell phone in the morning, after 9 am. At 12:15 am, the phone rang. It was the front desk manager. Geesh! These people couldn't even take a message correctly!

The next morning I spoke to the manager who did refund our stay for the previous night and switched our rooms. No apology was offered.

The best thing about this hotel is my son got to say 'hi' to Buzz and Woody every morning. But the level of service and lack of cleanliness was enough to turn us off. We won't be spending our money here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am a huge Disney fan and even worked for Disney for a few years so I know the Disney standard. I have to say they lost their "magic" touch. The place itself isn't too bad, not the greatest accommodations but certainly not the worst I've ever stayed in. The place is HUGE so location is key. After the 4th day of hiking to the front for a cup of coffee you will see what I mean. We did find a big cockroach in our room which is gross but I do understand it was Florida and there are lots of bugs so hard to control. The most disappointing part of our trip was the service. I had two incidents that occurred during our stay, the first was when I was trying to do laundry. Their machines are very old and the coin machine ate my money. I called the lobby and they said I had to go to the front desk. Their front desk is VERY un-efficient and I spend 20 minutes in line without it moving before I called over a manager that simply wouldn't help me until I waited in line. Mined you I had a sick baby back at the room and clothes sitting in a washer. Very frustrating. THEN the rest of us got sick the day before we were to check out. I called the front desk to see if my Mom could get a late check out and they replied, "Uh, we have a marathon going on, there's no way." I ended up having to call the the next morning to tell them that she isn't leaving and they needed to figure it out. They we not helpful or sympathetic and even said my mom needed to come to the front desk. She couldn't even leave her bed!! Over all it was a very terrible experience. My only advice if you decide to give it a try is not to expect too much and to bring LYSOL wipes and wipe down your entire room!!! We all got a nasty stomach bug and after doing some research this happens a lot. Not a fun vacation!!!

Room Tip: See if you can get something closer to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast, OH
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I just came home from a two night stay at All Star Movies. Room was in the Love Bug area. I was apprehensive as I read in other reviews that value resorts are not that great...The reviews are right. They are FABULOUS! I loved it here! Check in was a breeze, room was ready at 9 am (this may not happen all the time-not sure but we lucked out), CLEAN, fun decor and property. Room had two double beds, CLEAN bathroom, a table with two chairs, dresser and flat screen tv. The outside decorations are neat-o, we had great MouseKeeping--I asked for more soaps and shampoo as I am a collector of most things Disney and they gave me quite a few! Breakfast was good in the food court. Not badly priced for the "Bounty" breakfast. A small Mickey waffle, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, and biscuit for around $9. Fair I believe for being onsite at Disney. You will not find a meal for $4 here, that is just how it is. You can take a bus to parks or use your parking pass that comes with your room reservation. We chose to use the parking pass as you can come and go when you please. What a deal! You save $14 per day. How can you go wrong? The pool area was nice. We were in the Fantasia pool area. We were only there for about an hour but the staff started a pool party and they had dancing and I was dancing and I am over 30. Sure it is geared towards kids but who is not a kid at Disney? What a great pool staff. Fun!! I would definately come back to All Star Movies. It was fantastic and more than I expected!! Also, when you stay onsite at Disney you get Extra Magic hours. On the Monday we were there we were going to MK and the Magic Hours were from 10pm-1am. Wow! Three hours of more Disney fun!! Safe, fun, and clean. Staff is great. The only downers were: AC is okay, toilets are like rockets flushing, walls slightly thin but not so horrible I would not go again. Try it out for yourselves and your family! Terrific value and CLEAN!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This motel-style Disney resort is the way to go if you want to spend your hard-earned money on other things like park-hopper passes and souvenirs. It's especially good for short stays where you will want to spend all your waking hours in the parks. Our room was basic, clean, quiet and relatively convenient. You have to walk a bit to the food court where you can spend $16 for a free-refill mug. Our first night there our AC was out. Maintenance came quickly and got us cool. Transportation to/from airport and all the parks is a breeze- making it the better choice over off-campus hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's All-Star Movies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Movies Resort

Address: 1901 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#105 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's All-Star Movies Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself sharing the spotlight with some of your favorite Disney friends, as you headline your very own all-star adventure. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that salutes the legends of Disney films-from the dotted pups of 101 Dalmatians to the playful toys of Andy's Room- with whimsical, larger-than-life decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Disney's All-Star Movies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movies Resort
All Star Hotel Disney
Disney All Star Hotel
Disney Movie Resort
All Star Movie Resort Disney World
Disney All Star Movies Resort
Disney All Star Resort Orlando Florida
Disneys All Star Movie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's All-Star Movies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.