We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falafel Moroccan Restaurant - CLOSED

Falafel Moroccan Restaurant
13605 S Apopka Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32821
407-238-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Recommend. If you are looking for something that is authentic Moroccan, this is a great place. The lamb was wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    7
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Different but not much taste.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Service is bad and slow. Food has different stuff to try but it has little flavor. Prices are up there for what they serve. You can miss this one.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have been here three times over the course of several years. It is always empty. Perhaps because it is so dark inside you can't read the menu without a flashlight (or see if the place is clean). However the food has always been tasty and the service good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, FL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“MOROCCAN IN ORLANDO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This Mediterranean restaurant is mostly a hookah lounge with sofas and small tables inside, and dining plastic tables outside. The atmosphere may not be the best for eating but the food is really good, fresh, and affordable. It is out of the tourist area so it is not crowded during the week.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basford
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“How is this place empty!?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited here after looking for alternative restaurants in W.Orlando and stumbling across it on restaurant.com.

We checked it out on their website and was able to book a table online- which was handy, though as it turned out not necessary!

Its located on a small strip mall in Lake Buena Vista, just off the I4. From the outside we thought that it would be incredibly drab inside but they have done a fantastic job with the interior!

They have made it feel like you are in a lavish Bedouin Tent with fabric and morrocan lights hanging from the ceiling with large but intimate booths covered in colourful fabrics and rustic tables.

To start we ordered the Hummus, Chicken Bastilla and Spicy Shrimp. We chose well!
The Hummus was excellent, The Spicy Shrimp was very spicy yet was very flavoursome and the Bastillas was spicy yet sweet! All of the flavours complimented each other perfectly.

For main we had the Lemon Chicken Tagine and Mixed Kebab. The Chicken Tagine was great- full of flavour! It was served in a large terracotta dish with a side of bread. We took the rice which was served with our mixed grill and soaked up the sauce in the Tagine; YUM!!!

The mixed kebab was tasty. There was a decent amount of each meat and all the meats were well cooked and tender.

We had a few Morrocan Beers which complimented the food very well and a couple of cocktails, which weren't the best to be honest.

Our only disappointment was that it was dead in there! I don't know why as its great. There was us, a guy on his own, who took a shed load of take out when he left, an older couple and a family. Also no entertainment as shown on their website. If this place was busy it would be awsome and we would have no doubt stayed, had a hookah and a few more drinks!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falafel Moroccan Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falafel Moroccan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.