We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Good at The Point!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Free Night
Ranked #9 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandra, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All Good at The Point!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed in a Grand Suite, there is lots of room to spread out with a spacious bathroom & kitchen.
Breakfast was very good along with the lovely staff who worked there. In fact we found all the staff at The Point friendly and helpful. Great location with Wet n Wild across the road and a courtesy van to the shuttle parks and return. The pool area was perfect to relax after a day out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Sue, we are delighted that you enjoyed our luxurious suites and superb guest service! It is terrific to hear that you had a relaxing time by our lovely pool. We appreciate you commenting on the friendliness and helpfulness of our team. Please know that it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to serving you for your next holiday to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,125
    781
    186
    34
    24
See reviews for
1,260
1,152
64
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Found this hotel on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Excellent value for the quality of property and service from staff. Very convenient to get to Universal Studios and City Walk. $5 - $7 cab ride. They have a complimentary shuttle, but it is only available during the daytime. Pool was great, pool bar prices were a little high, but it is a resort. Not sure if we were unlucky or what, but at 2:30 pm a generator came on adjacent to the pool area, that was very noisy and produced fumes, yuk. The room was very nice, full kitchen and amenities.The only other negative was the room was not ready until close to 4:00 pm, which was what was advertised, but somewhat disappointing. Overall, I would recommend the hotel, especially if you are visiting Universal. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We appreciate you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our ideal location in regards to the Universal Studios theme parks. Many of our guests tell us that they enjoy our close proximity to the Universal Studios theme parks and Wet n Wild water park as well. Thank you for also commenting on how much you enjoyed our lovely pool. As part of our efforts to ensure the safety and security of our guests, we do periodically conduct a maintenance test of our generator and fire pumps. We are sorry that this noise inconvenienced you. We value your feedback and we have addressed your concern with our Engineering team. We are glad that our superb quality of service and the excellent value you received has made you recommend us. It is wonderful to know that you would visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This was my bf and mines first trip together. We had a rocky start because our flight got us in extremely early. We thought we might be able to get checked in early from other reviews but that was not the case. In fact so many people checked out late and so many housekeeping staff called out sick we didn't get into our room until almost 7pm.
The room was gorgeous and the view was amazing. We got a room on the 10th floor facing universal and it was a perfect view of the park and wet and wild. You really could walk anywhere. We bought the I-trolley passes but never used them.
Since we had a kitchen we decided to take a cab to walmart to get some food. By the time we got out of the store one of Floridas infamous thunderstorms had struck. One downside to the kitchen is that they are electric stoves not gas and the cooking tools are very basic. For example we got a digornos pizza to make but we didn't realize there was no cookie sheet or tin foil to make it on, we ended up using the muffin tray which somehow worked.
The shuttles are ok. If you want to go to the parks you better plan to stay there for a good part of the day. And if you want to see the fireworks in Disney you better be prepared to pay $50 for a taxi. The last shuttle back to the hotel from Disney is before the electric parade and fireworks. We went to Magic Kingdom and the shuttle only takes you to Epcot. So you have to take the monorail to transport where you wait on another line for a monorail or boat to take you to Magic Kingdom. The shuttles are not good if you want to take a break from the parks in the middle of the day.
The staff was very friendly. Being from NY I was not used to so many people being so overly nice.
If you stay at this hotel and want to do Disney a lot it's best to just rent a car. I would stay here again but maybe not in a room with a kitchen since we barely used it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our luxurious suites as well as the beautiful view from your suite. We appreciate you for commenting on the friendliness of our team. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the great guest service we offered. Please accept our deepest apologies for the delay in getting you checked-in. Please know that this is highly unusual as our team works very hard to have our suites ready for our guests as soon as possible. We appreciate your feedback and we will be sharing your comments with our Front Office and Housekeeping team.

Thank you for sharing your tips with other travelers. You are correct, our shuttle is only permitted to go to the main transportation center located at Epcot, where guests can then use Disney transportation to reach the other theme parks. We are thankful to be part of your trip to Orlando and we are happy to hear that you would stay with us again. We look forward to your next escape to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have a family reunion in the area, so most of us stayed here. Great pool area with a lot of seating areas to chose from. We stayed in a double king room which was fine for us. Some other members of our group stayed in the suites. The room was fine with a fridge and sink. The carpet was alittel dirty but that was our only problem

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort as part of your family reunion in Orlando! We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities in your suite. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed spending time by our beautiful pool as well. We would like to offer our apologies in regards to the carpet. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we will be addressing your concern with our Housekeeping team. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will stay with us again for your next visit to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The staff were friendly and awesome to work with. They were accommodating and helped out whenever possible. The room was clean and spacious. It was nice to spread our things out about the room and not feel like we were tripping over things. The pool was nice and the barista was excellent. The resort was in a great location from the amusement parks especially Universal Studios. There was so much to do around the location of the resort. The only negative I have is that I don't think the breakfast was worth the price paid for it. There wasn't a great selection and there were flies flying around the fruit. It should have been more of a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Stephanie, thank you for sharing your experience with our resort. It is excellent to know that our beautiful suites were spacious and comfortable throughout your stay. Thank you for your awesome compliments to our entire team. We appreciate you for taking the time to express how friendly and helpful you found our team to be during your visit. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Universal Studios theme parks as well. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast selections were not to your preferences. Please know that what you have described is extremely unusual and we will be addressing this with our Food & Beverage team immediately. Thank you once again for choosing our resort and we look forward to serving you on your next trip to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at the Pointe Orlando resort the staff are friendly the rooms are nice and clean the location is great for going to the attractions. The rooms were equipped with everything we needed and the pool area was fantastic,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Tonya, it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy that our friendly guest service along with our luxurious suites and convenient location contributed to an excellent stay. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to your next vacation to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel post cruise for 5 nights. He is an amusement ride fanatic and wanted to spend a couple of days at Universal. We rented a car to drive from Fort Lauderdale to Orlando but once we arrived here, we found that it was not necessary to keep the car as everything was so close. You are practically on the doorsteps of Universal Studios. For the energetic, you can walk but in the heat and considering you will be doing quite a bit of walking at the parks, I recommend using the free shuttles the hotel to Universal and Disney World. We got a pass from the front desk for $6 for the bus system that can take you all over the area including the outlet stores. From the moment you walk into The Point, you will feel at home. I am not exaggerating when I say they must have the friendliest front desk staff that I have ever come across. They greet you when you come in and out of the hotel just as you were family. We had a room on the 12th floor overlooking Universal Studios. At night we could go on our balcony and see the fireworks off in the distance. The rooms themselves are beautiful. We had a one bedroom studio which was more like a one bedroom apartment. The kitchen is fully equipped with all the necessities including dish washer. Leather couch in living room. The bedroom is beautiful and the bed and pillows are comfortable. So nice to get a bed with good pillows. The bathroom has a separate walk in shower and whirlpool tub. There is a starbucks for your coffee in the morning and the hotel provides a small buffet breakfast. There is no restaurant on site but that didn't bother us as we like to check out the area. There are numerous restaurants to choose from around the hotel as well as gift stores, 711 store where you can purchase wine or beer. The hotel has a lovely pool area that we spent a lot of time in during the day and at night after returning from the parks. This hotel provides extremely good value for money. We were able to get an on-line price for our room of a little over $100.00 plus taxes. This hotel is rated high by TripAdvisor and that is why I chose it. I can assure you it deserves the high rating and if we return to Orlando, we won't have to guess where we will be staying.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the top floors either overlooking the pool or universal studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We can’t thank you enough for the stellar review, Joanne! We are thrilled that your terrific experience with our resort has lived up to the high rating that we have earned on TripAdvisor. Thank you for mentioning how beautiful and well-equipped you found our suites to be. It is very rewarding to hear that you felt right at “home” throughout your stay with us. Here at The Point, we are committed to providing our guests with a comfortable and memorable stay and we are happy that you felt that way. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient proximity to the Universal studios theme parks. It sounds to us that you and your husband had a fantastic time at the parks. We are pleased that your excellent experience combined with the value we offered has made our resort your first choice of accommodations in Orlando. We look forward to your next adventure to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#8 Family Hotel in Orlando
#14 Business Hotel in Orlando
#22 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.