We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Free Night
Ranked #9 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great stay! Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Point Orlando for a week and we had an awesome time! The staff is absolutely amazing! We were able to check-in two hours early without any problem. As it was our first time in Orlando, the staff helped us greatly with informing us about transportation and attractions near by. They were quick to offer us various options and provided us with maps that helped us a lot. As for the rooms, we stayed in a grand suite, 1 bedroom. It was very clean, the kitchen was fully equipped and we had everything we needed. The pool area was very well maintained and the fitness centre was very clean. The cabana bar had awesome service and the food was great. Overall the Point Orlando is located in a convenient area, close to attractions and trolly stops. We will definitely be staying here when we visit Orlando again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Jason, it was such a pleasure to serve you throughout your stay here in Orlando. We are thrilled that you had such a good time! Thank you for mentioning the exceptional service you received throughout your stay. We strive to provide this to each and every one of our guests, and it means a lot to know that we succeeded in providing that to you. It is also excellent to hear you enjoyed relaxing at the poolside Cabana Bar & Grille! We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,126
    782
    186
    34
    24
See reviews for
1,260
1,154
64
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Universal and Disney resort areas of Orlando are generally safe, but as a young female traveling on my own, I never want to compromise on security and peace of mind. I spent three nights here and felt extremely comfortable during my entire stay, even though it's in a quieter location of the city. Returning late in the evening after visiting friends was never an issue. I had a studio on a higher floor with a gorgeous view of Universal. The room itself was absolutely spotless - one of the most impeccably clean hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Also, I've been a subscriber to The Point's email list since staying here and I've noticed that this hotel generally offers the best prices and value in the Orlando area even during busy times of the year. Overall, I'm very pleased and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience with the TripAdvisor community. The safety & security of our guests is of the utmost importance to us, so we are pleased to know that you truly felt safe and comfortable throughout your entire stay. It is wonderful to know how much you enjoyed the beautiful Orlando views from your studio suite. Thank you for also commenting on the great deals that you have gotten from being a part of our Email list! You can sign up right on our website, and we guarantee that we can offer the best value by booking directly with us. Your recommendation means a lot to us and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the resort for a week to enjoy the weather and had a wonderful time. The staff was so accommodating and anytime we needed anything they were very fast with their responses. We only had one issues with getting towels. We called down twice about it and still didn't receive any for the day. We also needed our tv looked at. I went to the front desk to speak with the supervisor (Breanne) to let her know the situation, she was very understanding and apologetic. She gave me towels right away and made sure we received the proper amount every day there on out. An engineer met us in the room by the time I went back to fix the TV which was super quick. She was awesome! Best supervisor we have come across in our travels. We really appreciated her attention to detail.
We ate at the Cabana Bar for dinner one night and the service was great as well as the food. Our meals came out hot and quick which was appreciated after a long day at the park we were very hungry!
The rooms were very spacious and clean and we can't wait to come back to the resort once in the area again. Thank you for an awesome vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so glad that you chose to stay with us in the warm Florida sunshine! Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so glad that you enjoyed the friendly service and delicious food served from our Cabana Bar & Grill. We sincerely apologize that your request for towels was not completed as it should have been. This is highly unusual and we will be addressing this with our team to ensure it does not happen again in the future. It was a pleasure to serve you throughout your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit on your next trip to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is our first time at the point in Orlando, we were here for five nights six days, we had the greatest stay that we've had at any hotel in a long time! From the moment we checked in....the staff behind the counter to the young man who took our luggage to our room, and the sweet ladies who cleaned our room, our stay was awesome! Great pool, and full bar with a great food menu! We have already discussed booking a year in advance to come again! I will say one gentleman in particular really made our stay wonderful he is "Jeff Swirsky" general manager, not only is he personable and kind, he actually really cares about your stay here! He alone is a huge part of why we can't wait to come back! Try it out for yourselves, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Tiffani, thanks for the great review! We are so glad that you decided to try us out and even more pleased that you had the best resort stay that you've experienced! Thank you for mentioning the friendly team members who made your stay so great. We also appreciate you commenting on the delicious food and drinks served from the Cabana Bar & Grill. Thanks for the great recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I am rating this hotel on the hotel ONLY not our time spent in Orlando (because the parks were awesome). I was back and forth on my rating as the staff are very friendly there so I aint trying to be negative to them at all.. so here we go:

Rooms:
Rooms here are average - beds are reasonable and comfy enough for a good night rest - there is nothing fancy about the rooms so it does the job for what you need it for. Most people going to Orlando will be gone most of the day anyways. A/C worked thank goodness - shower pressure wasn't the best but was ok - a lot of light in the room which was nice.

Location = Average depending on where and what you are doing:
Yes the location is semi-central to parks and attractions but people with no car have to realize that you cannot just walk anywhere you please. Close to Wet and wild and I trolly bus stop (I trolly is key for shopping malls and idrive). I drive is only great a little further south so use the I trolly people with no car!

Front Desk:
Nice people - although they did not give me much information about places, eating, maps, etc when I checked in. and things like that goes a long ways for a hotel rating :). I had to ask myself throughout the trip. But when I did ask they were helpful so I give them credit here.

No Ice Machine on the first floor I had to get them to fill it up for me... really :P ??

Pool:
This is the highlight of the hotel. It has a big pool - its not loud - they have a hot tub as well and a pool side bar to get drinks and order food. Drinks are obviously more than the pubs we went to on idrive but I knew this as all hotels charge a little more for drinks. Its also easy to get a chair here to lay down and water is a nice temp even at night.

Resort Fee = Boo on you Point Resort!
ok first of all people I KNEW ABOUT THE $11/day RESORT FEE and I paid it without saying a word - but it doesn't mean I have to agree with it and not talk about it lol :). The resort fee is suppose to give you shuttle access, gym access, internet, phone local, self parking, and coffee in the room lol..... really?? OK soooo many places I have been without a resort fee already included the gym, pool, internet, coffee pot in room and even shuttle services FREE OR included in the price of the hotel room so don't give me silly excuse what this resort fee is including lol. If you must then yes charge people to park at hotel if they rent a car fine. But come on - I paid 11 dollars per day and BREAKFAST IS STILL another 11 dollars a day. There is even an extra charge for any additional things the maid has to do.......I never complained about this resort fee to anyone at the hotel but in order to give my honest tripadvisor review I have to talk about it.

Breakfast:
Boooo to charge 11 bucks a day and give us a breakfast that taste like it was nuked in the microwave lol :P

Housekeeping:
There was no housekeeping for half our trip which was getting frustrating as towels were piling up and garbage was too.

I don't want to sound too mean on the point resort - the staff were nice... but Ive been to a lot of 4 and 5 star hotels and so I cannot give this a 4 star. Average hotel, need to do a little extra to make it a true 4 or 5 star hotel. however it did the trick for sleeping in, we were gone most of the day anyways, came back to a pool and quiet. So that's all I needed.

TIPS TO KNOW:
-Cab drivers are sneaky - make sure you ask them how much it will be before leaving because half of them don't have meters running! be firm with them
-I trolly is helpful and its 2 bucks per ride but STOPS around 10:30pm-11pm
-Don't walk to universal you will do enough walking when you get there. Its about $10 cab ride
-Wet and wild is a 5 minute walk
-Disney is a long haul from the hotel - if you don't have a car make sure you catch the only 2 morning times they have or you will have to pay a lot to get a cab
-Get a room facing the pool

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Brad, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. It is excellent to know that you found the staff to be friendly throughout your stay. Thank you for also mentioning how much you enjoyed our relaxing pool area with poolside bar and hot tub. We do apologize that you did not agree with the resort fee. We are glad to know that you were aware of it ahead of time and understood what it was in place to cover. We will take your comments into consideration. We are also sorry to know that you did not enjoy the breakfast buffet served each morning. We will address your comments internally with our staff. Please also note that we offer large suites that include a full kitchen, balcony, and separate living area for guests looking for a larger room. Thank you again for your comments, we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a very nice spot located close to Universal and just round the corner from Wet n Wild.
Everything is set up a like apartments so you can get suites which have a cooker, washer, dryer, fridge freezer and microwave. If you are in a big group then you can get a suite and a room offering 2 queen beds and 2 bed setees and all within one front door.

The staff in general were very polite and helpful. Regarding amenities, the breakfast area is probably too small and the bar staff were great in the main but they were expected to serve drinks take food orders and cook the food (?) this meant that at least one of the staff was a little bit flustered most of the time. We had a couple of rooms with bed setees as the second bed - they were a bit uncomfortable.

Overall though this was great value for money and you should have no reason to complain if you pay budget prices.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite even if you pay a bit more you will have more room and you can cook your own food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for commenting on the setup of the suites with your suggestions for other travelers. We are so glad that you enjoyed the poolside bar. We appreciate all of your feedback and will be taking your comments into consideration internally. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you return to the Orlando area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful trip. Even better than the first time we stayed here last month. Location is close to everything.Service was excellent. Room was very nice. I will definitely return. Probably for memorial day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are so honored that you decided to stay with us for a second time! It means so much to us that we even exceeded your expectations this time around. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the service, location, and rooms. We are already looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#8 Family Hotel in Orlando
#13 Business Hotel in Orlando
#23 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.