We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited the Point Orlando from April 1-4, 2014. From the moment we walked through the doors, we were treated in first class fashion. We had a one bedroom suite and it was perfect for 4 of us including two children, ages 4 and 7. The pool and the cabana bar/grill were perfect. The location was a few miles from a Publix store and less than a 5 minute drive to Universal Studios. The housekeeping was perfect and the parking was ample. We would stay here again without question!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor with a pool view that overlooked the surrounding skyline. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Mike, we can't express enough gratitude for your great review! We strive to provide all of our guests with incredible service, and it is such a pleasure to know that you experienced that throughout your stay. Thanks for mentioning how perfect the Cabana Bar & Grille was for your food & beverages. We are delighted to be considered your new home in Orlando and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,118
    781
    186
    34
    24
See reviews for
1,258
1,149
64
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good = great location, bright and cheerful, extremely helpful staff, loved the pool area and the Cabana bar and grill. We spent a lot of time there. Disappointments = upon entering our room we felt very closed in, very small for a 2 king room, carpets were very stained and old, shower curtain in bathroom had a ton of MOLD growing at the bottom, bathroom small and no additional mirror in main room, continental breakfast is NOT continental.......its nearly $12 per person for breakfast.

Room Tip: Close to all Universal parks, shuttle only takes you to 3 spots (no airports)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for commenting on the perfect location, friendly staff, and how much you enjoyed the poolside Cabana Bar & Grille. We do apologize that you found some features of your room to be below our standards. We will absolutely have our housekeeping team address the carpeting and shower curtain in your suite right away. Please accept our apologies. The buffet breakfast served at our lobby barista is hot and fresh. We do not refer to it as a continental. If you'd like the breakfast buffet included in your stay, you can book our bed-n-breakfast package on our website. Thank you again for all of your comments, we hope to welcome you back again when you return to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We Stayed at the Point for 10 days in March and had a great time. The staff always had a smile on there face and were happy to help, especially Josh. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was very spacious and upon request we got one with a pool view. The groceries i had pre-ordered from gardengrocer.com were also in the fridge for our arrival. The king bed was very soft and comfortable and having the washer/dryer was great. Breakfast was always enjoyable and included in our room rate, although only for two adults. There was three of us in the room, but this worked out ok, as we ate out a couple of days. Its a voucher system, so we were allowed to carry over the spare breakfast vouchers for the following day. We didn't have a car, so really appreciated the park shuttle service to disney. It cost about $80 return on the occasion we got a taxi. We got married while in florida and the swan towel left by the maid was a lovely touch. Its a 10 minute walk to international drive, with TGI fridays, chilli's and steakhouse's to eat out and Universal close by. I would happily stay at the Point again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Alan, it is excellent to know that you had such an enjoyable 10 days with us. We are so glad you felt welcomed by our staff and enjoyed your one-bedroom suite. Ordering groceries is a great option for guests who plan to cook in their full kitchen, as it saves you a trip to the grocery store and your room is fully stocked on arrival! Thank you for also commenting on the delicious buffet breakfast that you enjoyed as part of the package that you booked. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope that you will return to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I've stayed at this resort once a month for the past year and never once have I been diassapointed!! Guest services are a 10++! Every staff member is wonderful, rooms are beautiful, extremely clean and pool is beautiful! Excellent location, but why would you want to leave with service and a resort like this! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review! It means so much to us that you have chosen to stay with us over and over again for the past year. We are so glad that you have enjoyed the service as well as the cleanliness of the resort. We appreciate your high recommendation and hope that you will be visiting us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at this property on March 27, 28, 2014 in room number 1211S which is a 1 bedroom grand suite. This room had a full kitchen with a stackable washer and dryer. The view from this room was priceless. For added security this room had two doors to get in your room. Had a few issues with housekeeping but the GM step up to the plate and took care of it on his day off. This property is very close to I-4 and the Disney properties. We had booked this room for one night and we enjoyed it so much we asked Rose at check out if we could stay another night. So Rose re-booked us in the same room for another night. That says a lot about the property. You would make a mistake if you didn't stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor over looking the pool. Any floor above the 5th floor would be good over lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the view from the balcony of your one-bedroom grand suite. We do apologize that you had an inconvenience with housekeeping, but it was our absolute pleasure to ensure that was taken care of right away for you. Thank you for your review, we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is our fourth time we have stayed at the Point, we would not consider staying anywhere else whilst in Orlando!
From welcoming us back at check-in to check-out we were always greeted with friendly smiles and feeling as if nothing was too much trouble.
Special thanks to Rose for all her help with our requests and Fabio as usual.
Room clean as always, good housekeeping! Safes are now installed in the rooms which made it much easier and convenient for guests.
New pool chairs were very comfortable, unlimited pool towels available, the gym refitted to a high standard. Free Wi-Fi round the pool and in rooms is another bonus as well as free car parking!
Thanks for another great stay!!
Glenn and Steph Edwards from UK.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Glenn, we are so grateful that you took the time to write a review. Thank you for your loyalty and for considering us your "home" here in Orlando. We appreciate you commenting on the friendly service you have experienced along with the quality housekeeping. We appreciate you choosing us, and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The resort was great! The staff was friendly and always willing to assit. It was w/in walking distance to many restaurants and ~1.5 miles from Universal Studios. We took a cab for ~$9 each way which beat the hassle of parking and when the fee was $17.
We stayed in a suite which had a balcony, living room and fully equipped kitchen. The bathroom was huge and the separate bathing area from the toliet was a plus. We did not have breakfast there but the cabana bar was nice. The gym could be bigger and have more weight equipment available. Would definitely recommend !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Point Orlando Resort for your long weekend in Orlando! Our resort is perfect for weekend getaways, as we are close to the best dining & entertainment in Orlando but tucked away just enough to still offer a quiet environment. Thank you for commenting on the luxurious features of the one-bedroom suite. It is also excellent that you enjoyed the poolside Cabana Bar & Grille. Thanks for the recommendation! We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#9 Family Hotel in Orlando
#13 Business Hotel in Orlando
#22 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.