We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Free Night
Ranked #9 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just left this resort a day ago and everything was fairly average. The only thing that was unpleasant during our stay was our sheets weren't changed during house keeping and it seems as my son may have bed bug bites on his feet and legs. We understand that bed bugs are common in hotels but perhaps if they changed their sheets during individuals stay it would eliminate the amount of dead skin that is accumulated to actually create bed bugs. The hotel manager did call me to discuss the matter but it was just to let me know they didn't find any bed bugs (which is virtually impossible to see) and to let me know maybe my son had mosquito bites, which was funny because it was almost 50 degrees at night there was not a single mosquito. I truly understand the severity of bed bugs in a hotel and they should take better precautions to prevent it. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello Jax's Mom17,

Thank you for choosing to be our guest and share your recent experience. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience and the refresh housekeeping services our team provides. We do hope that your son is feeling better and want to let you know that when we were alerted after you had departed we immediately checked the room and no evidence of any type of pest including bed bugs were found in your room. We do hope you reconsider your decision of not returning and when your plans bring you back to our area, please contact me directly as I will make sure that everything is perfect for your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,124
    781
    186
    34
    24
See reviews for
1,260
1,151
64
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I booked this on- line as a result of one of Trip Advisors recommendations. It is well taken care of and had a nice small bar and restaurant on site. I booked a room with a kitchenette. There was a small snafu with the accommodation but the staff took care of it very well and we were happy. I would recommend this hotel as it was just under a mile to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you decided to stay with us based on the recommendation of other travelers. We appreciate you mentioning the great service that you received and also that you enjoyed the poolside Cabana Bar & Grille. Thanks for the recommendation, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a great hotel. First vacation with the kids, visiting WDW and the Point was Awesome! Great location. Short drive to the WDW parks. Nearby restaurants Olive Garden, Pei Wei & Chick-fil-A was convenient and Walmart was close by too. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was like a 1 bedroom apartment. Kitchen was handy and so glad to have a washer/dryer in the room. We did use it. Super-friendly staff. The bathroom was big and extremely clean. A little apprehensive about not staying on the WDW parks but this place was so great we would definitely stay here again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so honored that you chose to stay with us for your first vacation as a family. Thank you for mentioning how convenient our location is as well as all of the great features of the one-bedroom suite. We are thrilled that you would stay with us again! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for five nights in an Executive Studio Suite with a king sized bed. It was a lovely quiet comfortable room, as access to it was by two sets of doors so there was no corridor noise, except perhaps the room next door. If you wanted the use of a washing machine, you would need to upgrade to a deluxe room. There is limited housekeeping service for the room and we did find a charge of 11$ per day for the use of the pool a bit steep considering only one of us used it once and found it too crowded with young children who were allowed to jump in. It was handy for International Drive and across the road from the Wet and Wild theme park.

Room Tip: Think all rooms should be quiet - the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It was a pleasure to serve you during your time with us, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your studio suite. You are correct that only the one-bedroom suites and two-bedroom suites come equipped with a washing machine. The hotel service fee covers the cost of the scheduled theme park transportation, resort-wide WiFi, self parking, and pool towels. We apologize that this was not made clear, and appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you find yourselves returning to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were in town with a large group for a convention and many were staying at a larger hotel at Universal. I saw reviews for The Pointe and like the price so we took a chance. So glad we did! Location was easy to Universal and shuttle was great or cheap taxi. Nice room, good breakfast and good location. Only thing that we didn't like was no coffee replacements and the front desk guy told my husband the wrong tower when we checked in. He wasn't happy about pushing a cart all over the wrong area. Otherwise it was great!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you decided to give The Point Orlando Resort a chance! Thank you for commenting on the great location as well as the delicious breakfast buffet served each morning. We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication regarding the location of your room, we will address this internally with our staff to ensure that this does not occur in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I enjoy reading reviews but have never wrote one myself but when a hotel WOW'S me like this one I just had to write about it. First of all you do not need a car to stay at this hotel. The shuttle service works very well and the trolley can easily get you anywhere else you may want to go. The trolley stop is right in front of the hotel. The staff are the friendliest people ever. There are so many that made our trip great that I hesitate to name names in case I forget someone but many thanks to Kaitlyn (sp), Diane, Josh, Mark, Fabio, Rosa (breakfast area) and all the others that are just the most amazing people ever. The room you see on the website is the room you get. Perfect for singles, couples and families. This hotel is quiet and so nice to be so close to International Drive but far enough away to be out of the noise of it. International Drive is maybe a 10 minute walk straight up the street. We watched Universal's fireworks from our room on the 6th floor which was a nice ending to each day. We have come to Orlando every year for the last 5 yrs and have stayed at a Disney resort. Never again will we stay with Disney after being at this hotel. We have found our home away from home. Thank you for everything, hope to be back in the future. Cory, Judy and Adam

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Judy, thank you for taking the time to write a review! It means so much to us that you felt compelled to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of our resort an the exceptional service that you experienced. You've got it absolutely correct that our resort is perfect for those who want to be close to everything but still in a quiet environment. We are honored to be considered your home in Orlando, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We spent a week in February and the Hotel exceeded our expectations ! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our bedroom suite overlooking Disney fireworks every night was awesome !
We found this hotel by reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, so we were not sure what to expect but it did not disappoint. We pre-ordered our groceries via Garden Grocer, (on the hotel website link) and recommend it. We arrived late at night but we had beer in the fridge, ice in the freezer, eggs for the morning and ready to start our holiday. The pool area is much nicer in person than on their website. Lots of seating and a cozy pool bar. The only improvement could be if the hotel offered convenient recycling of pop bottles etc. The location is also great. We were a very short walk to International Drive, and for the week we did not rent a car but walked or jumped on the Iride Trolley to get around. A few evenings we used the hotel car service to go out. Nice vehicles and flat rates, so no guessing and about the same price as a cab. Again very convenient, we just ask the front desk to get us a vehicle and in 5 mins one arrived to take us wherever we wanted. Overall we are planning another holiday next year and will definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are honored to have exceeded your expectations! We are so glad that you enjoyed the fireworks from your suite balcony. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed relaxing by the pool area with a drink from our Cabana Bar & Grill. We are thrilled that you plan to return next year! Please let us know if we can assist in setting up your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#8 Family Hotel in Orlando
#14 Business Hotel in Orlando
#22 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.