We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Save Saved
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% & $50 Gift Card
Ranked #7 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We got a great deal using the non-refundable option on a one bedroom grand suite. The room was of good size and everything was very clean upon arrival. The staff was very friendly and the taxi access to Universal was very helpful. The pool was nice, and the food was alright (to be expected at a pool side bar). The hotel's location was great and parking was very easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Matt, thanks for choosing The Point Orlando Resort for your trip from Boston! We are so happy that your room exceeded your expectations. It is also great to hear our staff provided you with memorable customer service. This is something that we strive for and we were glad to provide that to you. You mentioned that you took a taxi to Universal. Did you know that we also offer complimentary shuttle service to Universal? Maybe you can give that a try when you stay with us again if that's something that might work for you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experiences. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,774
    638
    150
    31
    22
See reviews for
1066
953
55
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights of fun and visiting with my parents who stayed in another room. The hotel rooms - actually small apartments - were huge and brightly lit, with tasteful furniture and a comfortable bed. There was a full kitchen, and a bathroom almost as big as the bedroom. The hotel property as a whole was well maintained and the staff were really great -- always friendly and helpful. Tasty buffet breakfast in the morning, or you can just have Starbucks pastries and coffee. The pool was large and sunny and the pool bar had a good drink selection and menu. The hotel is about half a block from Wet N Wild, International Drive is only a couple of blocks away, and there are plenty of restaurants within a short drive. This place is a great deal for the money

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to avoid the noise of the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting us all the way from Rio de Janeiro! We are so happy to read about all of the different features of our resort that you and your family were able to enjoy. Our one- and two-bedroom suites, equipped with a full kitchen, are perfect for families like yourselves who are traveling together. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast served in the lobby each morning. This is something that many of our guests enjoy so we are glad you were able to as well. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we are thankful that you took the time to write a review on your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a really great stay here - the 1 bedroom suites are a good size for a family of 4. The staff is courteous and helpful. The pool and hot tub is a great spot to relax after spending the day in the busy parks. It's close to everything, especially Universal, but it's located away from the main strip, so it's pretty quiet.

The kitchen is full of most anything you would need to cook a meal (except a pizza cutter - thankfully I brought one!). I would suggest bringing your own detergent (laundry and dish) if you're staying any length of time - they only give you enough for one load.

A few things that would have given it a five - they may seem small, but they add up. The carpets are dirty and there are scuff marks all over the walls. A Mr. Clean Magic Eraser and a regular carpet cleaning could take care of these issues. The bed on the sleeper sofa is really uncomfortable. Also, I was hoping to get in a workout a few times this week, but the fitness room is under construction - so why put it on the site that it's available? They did offer a one day pass to a nearby gym, but I didn't want to go a couple of blocks to work out. And why only one day?

Regardless, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Ericca, thank you so much for staying with us and providing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had such a great experience at The Point Orlando Resort. You are absolutely right that we are located extremely close to the parks as well as International Drive. However, we are tucked away just enough that guests still experience a relaxing and tranquil environment on our property.

We apologize that there seems to have been a miscommunication regarding our partnership with the nearby gym. While our fitness center is being renovated, we have an agreement allowing guests to visit nearby Gold's Gym. All guests may go as many times as they would like during their stay. Guests must get a pass from the front desk each day that they would like to use the gym. There is no limit to how many days a guest can use the nearby gym during their stay.

We are honored that you plan to visit us again, and hope to have you back soon to see our brand new fitness center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at The Point for 16 days in April and was very surprised despite the appearance.
The staff in reception were excellent and very helpful.
The room we booked was a one bed suite looking over the pool which was very spacious with all mod cons including dishwasher,dryer and cooker.
We also had two tv's a radio and a very large bathroom.
The hotel was very clean with a small pool (which was never crowded while we were there) and snack bar beside it.
The hotel is 10mins walk from Wet & Wild and 25mins from Universal Studios.
Only negative point was no restaurant in the hotel but this is no problem as there are plenty of places nearby to eat.
This a hotel i would have no problem recommending to friends and if i return to Orlando will definatly return to.

Room Tip: Not a high room and overlooking the pool if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for visiting us all the way from Ireland! We are so glad that you had such great experiences at The Point Orlando Resort. Our staff aims to provide high quality customer service to all guests, and we are happy to hear that this is what you received.Thank you for noticing all of the hard work our housekeeping team does. Cleanliness is a top priority for us, and our team works very hard to make that happen for all of our guests. I will pass on your comments to make sure they know they are doing a great job. We are thrilled to be considered your home when visiting Orlando, and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed 8 nights at this resort. Our family of four stayed in a one bedroom suite with washer/dryer. We could see the fireworks at Universal from our hotel room which was a nice bonus. It was quiet and comfortable. We didn't eat food at the barista because we would have had to spend $40/day total for breakfast which was a bit too much for us. We saved money by buying our own breakfast foods at the local stores. The King size bed in the bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. The sofa bed was not very comfortable but okay for children.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We really appreciate you choosing to stay at The Point Orlando Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experiences. We are delighted that you enjoyed the view of the Universal fireworks from your room. This is a bonus that many of our guests appreciate. We are happy you got a good night's rest in our comfortable king size beds. We apologize, however, that the sofa bed was not up to the same comfort level. We are currently looking in to this specific issue and working on getting it resolved. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to your stay when you return to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here after staying in a villa for 10 days and weren't looking forward to moving into a hotel. However, this hotel was clean, rooms were very spacious and the location was absolutely perfect.

We were two couples and stayed in a two bedroom suite, so we were able to jointly use the common areas but then had our private space if we wanted it.

We had the main suite room which was a smaller room, but had a lovely on suite bathroom with a great walk in shower, spa bath and double basin. Outside the room is the living area with its own kitchen. All very nice.

The other room was bigger (as it can be used on its own or part of the two bedroom suite). Bathroom was good.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for couples, families or friends. It is close to international drive with lots of eateries, but not on it so is a little quieter. Literally a 10 minute drive to Universal Studios.

The only reason I gave this a very good rather than an excellent was the maid service was not all that great. She didn't come every day (and she was meant to) and when she did she missed things like not making the bed or cleaning the bath. We did complain to the hotel but it didn't really improve. I think this was down to the individual maid rather than the hotels management though.

Room Tip: Get an iRide ticket and you get free transport up and down International Drive and Universal Bouleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Point Orlando Resort. Our two-bedroom suite is, as you describe, perfect for couples or families traveling together who may want some private areas. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our resort as well. As you mentioned, our resort is located conveniently close to plenty of dining and entertainment options. However, we are tucked away just enough to still provide our guests with a tranquil and relaxing environment.

Thank you for sharing your concern regarding our housekeeping services. We apologize that this part of your experience was not up to our usual standards. We do have a daily refresh service that should include making the beds and changing the towels. This is something that all guests should receive, so we will definitely be looking into this. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we hope you will stay with us again when you return to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have stayed there with my girl friend 6-7 times in the last 3 years.the last time we visited on may 27th 2013 Fabio recognized me as soon as I entered the resort.its always nice to go somewhere were people recognize you.Fabio is a great manager.the resort is always clean, landscape well maintained and very friendly staff.we are traveling again in july and we are looking forward to another great stay and seeing all the smiles on the friendly staff's faces.see you guys in july

Room Tip: All the rooms are great ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Marc, we are so honored that you have chosen to stay with us each time you visit Orlando. We are happy to have truly become your home-away-from-home. Fabio, along with the rest of our staff, are dedicated to providing sincere customer service that our guests will remember. Thank you so much for recognizing that, and we will be sure to pass your comments on to him. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding the cleanliness and maintenance of our property. This is something that is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to recommend our resort, we look forward to your trip in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Orlando
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#10 Family Hotel in Orlando
#15 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.