We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #7 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Actually stayed jan 2012 for 3nights perfect spot for all attractions , nice rooms clean and new looking ,easy to reach from airport pool is nice front desk very friendly it was a good atmosphere for families u have your own kitchen wash,dryer

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    695
    170
    34
    23
See reviews for
1,152
1,045
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had high expectations due to the positive reviews and were greatly looking forward to our stay. We stayed here twice within a two week period on both occasions in a one bedroom suite. The first stay was on a higher floor with a small balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom was enormous and had a spacious separate shower cubicle and a small bath. Our second stay was a suite on the ground floor with cars parked right outside our window and the main walkway to the hotel reception from the car park. For the sake of privacy, we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time as people continually looked in our windows. Also the bathroom was much smaller with inadequate towels for three, a broken shower head over a small bath, and a shower curtain that stuck to your body while showering (one thing I hate most in the world). Had we been staying longer than two nights we would have requested to be moved, although we were told at check-in the property was full.

There is a nice pool with towels but not a lot of sunbeds if a lot of guests use at the same time. The bar is ok but the drinks expensive and the food disappointing. Breakfast too expensive for the offerings. As previous reviewers mention, you can go out nearby for better value.

To enjoy the whole Orlando experience you really need a car. However, we walked past Wet n Wild to International Drive the first evening for dinner. It was an unpleasant experience with tacky shops and restaurants. We don't encourage you to experience the same. If you take a taxi, make sure they put the meter on - we called out a "friendly" taxi driver who tried to overcharge us one evening on a short route we knew to be much cheaper. He didn't argue and reduced the charge by almost half. Hate that.

We strongly suggest if you stay that you do what you can to ensure you don't end up in a suite like our second stay. We would not return.

Room Tip: Stay on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We traded our time share for 1 week in Orlando and decided to extend our week - so we need a place for 4 extra nights- and book at the Point Orlando Resort.
Our King Executive Suite was perfect for my husband and I, and a pull out sofa would be perfect for my daughter for her extra 1 night. When my daughter and her family were unexpectedly able to come as well, we upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. Perfect.
The hotel staff could not have been more accomodating to our fast changing plans! We would like to thank Derek at the front desk for is warm welcome (seeing the weather in Orlando was ONLY 48 degress at the time!), and a BIG thank you to Rose who took care of all of the necessary changes to make our stay more comfortable. ( What a wonderful and friendly and patient help she was !)
As far as the accomodations - both rooms were everything we needed at the time, clean and well prepared. Have we stayed at newer resorts - yes. - but the service here coult NOT be beat! Thank you to everyone at the Point Orlando Resort, we will definetly be back and tell our friends
to check it out too.

Room Tip: We had rooms on both the pool side and non pool side - both were acceptable, quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I took my grand kids for only couple of days to Orlando, from the information on Expedia I though this would be a great place to stay. The description of the room was a little off as we got the impression that it would be a much larger room. We got to the hotel by 2:30 and checking in to e was mot until 4:00. I ask if there would be a possibility to chech-in early but I was informed that there would be no rooms available until the normal checking in time. I felt sorry for the other people that apparently have been waiting for many hours. It is hard to believe that in such a bog hotel not one room could be ready before their set hour to accommodate their clients. I personally was very disappointed.

Room Tip: I really like the quality of their mattress and specially the pillows very few times I have been abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Front Office Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear BitaOne,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It saddens me to hear that the room that you had reserved was not ready upon your arrival. This Spring Break season was very busy for our Resort and I can assure you that our front desk team is always willing and ready to check guests in once the room has been vacated, cleaned and gone through housekeeping inspections to assure all our guests are greeted to a perfect room. Even though it was a short visit, we hope you had the opportunity to enjoy the amenities of the Resort including pool, cabana bar and grill and the lobby barista to name a few. When your travel plans brings you back to Orlando please contact me directly as we wish to be your home away from home.
All the best,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were traveling to Orlando to see our boys march down Main Street in the Magic Kingdom and needed a place to stay. I am very hesitant about booking site unseen, but after checking trip advisor more than once, I decided to book it. I am SO glad I did. Upon arrival, Derrek was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The room we booked was a suite, very clean, decent size, the bed was so comfy and the bathroom was awesome. I would stay again when traveling to Orlando.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our third visit to the Point in a year and was greeted by Fabio smiling face and a welcome back nice to see you again,
We were upgraded to a one bedroom superior room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool.

Room was spotlessly clean the bed and bathroom nice and large, and as usual at this resort all the staff were most welcoming and friendly.

The weather was not very accommodating and we did not spend as much time around the pool as we would have liked but was as spotless as usual, although I think the pool could have be a little warmer as not many of the guests were using it.
Thank you once again for a lovely stay.

Edwards family
England

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We book two different hotel,wish i would book one with this hotel only.My family enjoy it. When we check-in we went straight to our room. it was a executive it did not match our expectation due to some issues. Fabio took care of us and upgrade us to a grande suite.I would not be surprised if this guy owns a sucessful hotel one day excellent customer service. The room was beautiful. My wife caught me sleeping in the bathroom jacuzzi. We where on the 7th floor the view is amazing at night in the balcony towards the pool side.The housemaid are friendly. The kitchen is well equipped. My toddler had enough space to move. Nice pool and jacuzzi, we would definitely come back compare to the other hotel we where in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#9 Family Hotel in Orlando
#15 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.