We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Point In Orlando suddenly lives up, just minor issues.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% & Gift Card
Ranked #9 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The Point In Orlando suddenly lives up, just minor issues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, checked in at room 1101 H, it was suddenly a big room that we are not use too, 2 queen size beds, for 2 adults and our 3 years old son, this cld fit a family of 6 :o)
the room offers comp. coffee and tee, microwave and fridge, i believe it was more an apartment hotel, although minuses was not able to open windows, where the other rooms had a balcony, perhaps coz we had a little boy with us, nonetheless it was a clean and a really nice pool with a pool bar as well, ( didnt use that ) remember the last days we ask for some tissue boxes and some comp coffee, we were told the wld charge us, but housekeeping didnt fill them in our rooms like the other days, so why charge us ? minor issue.

one thing also bothered us was when using the bathroom the vent was attached to the light, and the vent made so much noise ur had to close the bathroom door :o( this cld have been done a better way.

fresh pool towels provided at pool side, and comp parking as well, ( good thing ) the hotel also had breakast for the cost of $ 10.99 adults and half price for kids, let me say one thing Orlando provides a wide range of breakfast places and the competition is enormous for just $ 5.99 at Ponderosa is just all u need for breakfast, so just tried it :o)

Really friendly staff, let us check in early than expected, although they cld just say the room is guerantee from 3pm, but we got there couple of hours before.

If u like shopping this place is probarly one of the best places in Florida, the premium outlets on Intl drive offers many shops for every taste, and there is also the prime outlets which is pretty much the same thing although the they have some more top designers.

But if we were to come to Orlando again, this hotel wld definately have my reservation again.

free wi-fi ( thumbs up )

Room Tip: Upon check in request an room with a balcony and on the top floor wld suddenly be a plus nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear panerai1966 -- Thanks for your well-balanced review. A couple good tips that we'll note for the future as we continue to maintain our rooms and suites. You are correct that there are many dining options nearby to choose from. Glad you found the Ponderosa. I'm sorry for your experience with the housekeeper regarding your items. We should have taken care of that. I've notified our head of housekeeping to help tighten up this area of our customer service. But best of all is that we have your future reservation. Thanks so much for that, and we look forward to welcoming you at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,105
    774
    185
    34
    24
See reviews for
1,247
1,142
64
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The One bedroom suites are just wonderful! Clean and a GREAT value. I've been here a couple times now. Tower Two is my preferred choice. Something about facing that direction watching the sunset over Orlando...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear JDT82 -- Wow "Great Hotel!!" How could we ask for more?? And welcome back. We appreciate our returning guests. And I'm glad we could accommodate your request for "sunset view." Sounds nice! I can't wait to welcome you back on your next stay with us. Let me know if I can assist with anything in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff go out their way to make your stay as nice as they can. Our welcome( after a 12 hour journey )was warm and charming and though the place could do with a coat of paint or some touch ups it was delightful.
Our suite was lovely and had a full kitchen all for the same price as most nice hotels, and cleaning staff gave us loads of extra towels and powder for the washing machine that they even have in the room.
Pool is beautiful warm and a sun trap , though the pool bar a little expensive for drinks.
Breakfast was pleasant , but to be hones better value to go to Denny's down the road.
But over all it was really very good, and would go back.

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and book a pool view room its only a little extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear asksteve2cu -- Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our team really does do our best to accommodate all our guests' requests. You are correct; there are many dining options, within the resort and a short distance away, so guests always have choices. Just to clarify, we don't charge extra for pool view, but we do our best to accommodate guest requests for pool view, when we can. I'm pleased to read that you'll be back with us. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I felt like I took a chance on this hotel as it wasn't a major brand and I am thoroughly happy I did! Clean, wonderful service, comfortable rooms and fabulous pool environment. Amazing - will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Jen G -- Thanks for the review and your glowing stream of adjectives. It's always nice to get a pleasant surprise when you're not certain what you are getting into. I'm happy we were that good surprise for your visit to Orlando. Come back again soon, and we'll make sure you have another "amazing" visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent staff in a well maintained hotel within easy distance of I drive.
Second time I have stayed and would stay agin without any hesitation.
Stayed in a 1 bed suite .
The Room was clean & spacious with the addition of your own washer & dryer made it very handy especialy if you are on a long haul fight or have kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Janet D -- Welcome back, and thanks for sharing details about your stay. Yes, the washer/dryer is a great help, cutting down on how many clothes you have to bring with you. And, perfect for kids, too. I hope your next visit to us comes soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nts for Outlet mall shopping in Orlando. We had a fully appointed suite on the 8th floor. We had a separate bedroom and bathroom with a large shower and a separate jacuzzi.
Nice balcony with a pool view. The service was excellent.
Great location close to I-Drive.
Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear AMLAP -- Thanks for making us part of your shopping trip to Orlando, and thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Your recommendation means a lot to us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Nicely located near universal studios and a short easy drive to Disney complex. We rented a grand 1 bedroom suite. It's more like a one bedroom apartment with kitchen, ensuite laundry, living area, nice size bedroom and a wonderful bath with jetted tub and separate shower. They have shuttle to universal but with only one to/frOm trip daily. The shuttle goes to epcot more often. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear pirateis48 -- Thanks for the review. We love being our guests' "home away from home." How comfortable does THAT feel?! Our shuttle schedules do vary, depending on season, so we suggest our guests keep an eye on the schedule. As others have said here on TripAdvisor before, sometimes it's more convenient to skip the returning shuttle from Universal and take a cab back. Usually, it's less than $10. I'm happy that you'll be staying with us again, so we look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#9 Family Hotel in Orlando
#13 Business Hotel in Orlando
#23 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.