We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Staff a little lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #7 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Staff a little lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First things first, this isn't a resort, it's a hotel. They can call it whatever they want, but going in know this is a hotel a bit above your typical Holiday inn.

The room was nice - we stayed in a studio - big bed, wet bar, small bathroom. Wish the bathroom was a little bigger, but can't complain.

Have two complaints - the maid service never could seem to work at what I would call "normal hours." In most hotels, the maids are usually in and out between about 11 and 3. Only once during the week did they come before 3, and most visits happened around 4 or 5. This was during our midday breaks, so we only ended up getting fresh towels once.

The other complaint was that the wifi service went down for most of the week and the desk mostly blew it off. I called to ask after it was down for the second day and they said that it was being switched over from a password protected network to an open network and didn't know when or if it would be fixed during our stay (it wasn't). I don't need wifi, but if you are charging a resort fee for little other reason than for parking and wifi, it seems lousy to have half of that reason lost.

We did not eat at the restaurant or bar, but the breakfast looked like what you would expect. It was not a part of our package and cost about ten dollars, which seemed a bit steep for some hotel pan eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear risdis -- I appreciate your review of your stay. I'm sorry about your experience with the housekeeping service. I'll pass this along to our head of housekeeping to try to accommodate our guests a bit better. For your future reference, feel free to contact the Front Desk to try to schedule housekeeping service at a specific time. That's something we can try to arrange. And I apologize for the experience you had during the transition of our WiFi service. I appreciate your patience during that time. I hope to see you back with us soon, when we can better schedule your housekeeping service, and our WiFi will be running on all cylinders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,937
    695
    167
    34
    23
See reviews for
1,148
1,043
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great hotel. Party of 3 that stayed for 4 nights. Staff at this hotel were extremely nice and helpful. Photos on the website don't do justice to the rooms! Our room had two large king size beds and great sized bathroom. Hotel is on Universal Boulevard and is easily accessible to Mall at Millenia, Universal Studios, Disneyland etc. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Jade F -- Thanks for the review, and glad you enjoyed everything. Your recommendation means a lot to us, so thanks for that, too. On your next visit, please don't hesitate to check with the Front Desk, if there is anything they can do to make your stay more comfortable. We strive for perfection in all our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barquisimeto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great location, good service. The Hotel is near to all interisting places to visit orlando, great for vacationers. The room has microwave, coffe machine and fridge which help to have some food in the room and save a few dollars in food and helps to keep the drinks cool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Ricardo F -- I appreciate the review of your stay. You are wise to use the room's amenities to prepare some food for yourself, to save a few dollars. Hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel experience has been one of the best we have EVER had. But, it is NOT a resort. "Resort" is a misnomer. That being said, the price was reasonable, so we didn't feel as if we were tricked into a resort price for a standard hotel experience. The reception staff is friendly and helpful, the grounds are clean and pretty, and most importantly the room was lovely. We stayed in the smallest type of room, but it did not feel claustrophobic. It was clean, did not smell, and the bed was clean and comfy. I thoroughly checked for bed bugs (always do), there were NO signs, and NO bites. There is a little kitchenette, even in the smallest rooms, and they provide dish soap, paper towels, fridge/freezer, and other amenities. The television is not flat-screen, but that wasn’t a priority for us. The shower pressure was great, bathroom was very clean, lots of towels provided, and nice bath products. The pool is standard, and there is also a hot tub. The pool chairs are a bit uncomfortable, but we didn’t spend too much time poolside.
The only negative aspect was that the WiFi wasn’t working for any of the guests. They had recently installed a new system, and the engineers themselves didn’t even understand how to get it working. I don’t take points off of the review for this because the staff really did try, and at checkout I requested that we not be charged the $11/day fee for internet, parking, etc. and the attendant took that charge off the bill. With a AAA discount, the room only cost us $80/night after taxes and fees.
This hotel is very close to Universal, and not far from Sea World. We will recommend this hotel to our friends, and if we’re ever in Orlando again, we will stay here!

*This location is also great if you keep KOSHER, and can only eat kosher food (and therefore cannot eat at any other restaurants except those kosher certified). The Chabad center and kosher restaurants are within walking distance from this hotel, and the food is decent! *

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio (smallest rooms), and it was spacious enough for us (we are a couple). Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Suiteflute -- Thanks for the nice review and kind words. Glad to hear we passed your thorough inspections. I apologize for the experience you had regarding the WiFi, as we transitioned to a new system. I'm happy to hear that the Front Desk agent accommodated your request in that regard. I appreciate you seeing the good value we bring to a vacationer's travel dollars. And good tip regarding keeping Kosher. I'm sure many others will appreciate that tip. Your recommendation is important to us, as is your promise to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

So glad we stayed here for our 17th anniversary! They made it special. Clean and hospitable. Staff super friendly. Close to attractions but not so close it's loud or crazy. Didn't eat at restaurant so can't say much there. Continental breakfast was what you'd expect. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Ginnie P -- Thanks for the review, and congratulations on your 17th anniversary. Thanks for allowing us to be part of the celebration. Sounds like you found everything to your liking. Except it doesn't sound like you enjoyed the Buffet Breakfast. We're always looking for feedback, so it appears we need to work a little harder on our breakfast to "wow" you more. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed in Florjda previously but this is the first hotel I would recommend to anyone. The hotel is situated on Universal Boulevard which is just one road/block over from International Drive; which is perfectly suited for visiting all the major attractions, while also keeping you near lots of food outlets and restaurants.

The hotel is kept very clean and the staff are very naturally nice and helpful. It does not feel like they are being nice because they have to, but because its natural. Food on site is good, and the rooms are very well presented and comfortable.

In short, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Cantonalives1974 -- You made some good observations. Thanks for that. Always nice to hear that our guests recognized that our staff is genuinely friendly... it's in our blood! And always nice to hear that our guests are coming back soon. I look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent 5 nights in November 2012, everything was excellent: room, cleanliness, pool, bar, service, transportation to theme parks. Breakfast was modest, but it was included to the price of room. Very good location. Highly reccomend for families with children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear astai -- Thanks for the review, and I'm pleased that you found everything EXCELLENT. Sounds like you were on our "Bed 'n Breakfast" package (not included for everyone, just on this package or with some tour operator packages).Your recommendation means a lot to us, so please hurry back, with all your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#9 Family Hotel in Orlando
#14 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.