We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good almost perfect stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Save Saved
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% off & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good almost perfect stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this Hotel for a 4-days vacation. Overall experience is very good and we definitely recommend it. We gave just 4 points, but you may wanna know we are rather picky.
Pros were many: staff is helpful and friendly; overall the hotel is very nice; the room was HUGE and services like WiFi and shuttles to the theme parks were complimentary. The hotel is rather essential - the breakfast area is small and buffet is average-sized but OK; there is a nice looking swimming pool and that's more or less it. Ah, location: it is close to the I-Drive so you are connected with everything even in the case you do not have a car.
The only Con: as I told before we are picky, and actually maniac on cleanliness (more or less scanning the room with a magnifier to see if everything was spotless). We found one spot in the bathroom in which cleaning was a bit inaccurate, but that was it and we actually fixed the situation ourselves.
Overall it was a great stay. We'll get back there on our next visit to Harry Potter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Francesco_Marangoni -- Thanks for your review. Though we prefer a perfect score, I guess a 4/5 is still high praise from someone as "attentive" as you say you are. I'm sorry for the cleanliness issue you had in the bathroom. In the future, we'd be happy to have someone come and take care of any issues like that, so you can feel totally comfortable in your suite. Thanks for the recommendation, and don't hesitate to reach out to me directly if there is any way I may assist with your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,754
    632
    151
    31
    21
See reviews for
1031
940
54
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We rented the apartment ( one bedroom) The apt is very, clean and modern. Every thing you would need was in the apt. Washer, dryer,fridge stove, ect. ,The staff were excellent. The pool is 85 degrees. The pool area is beautiful and clean. It has a full bar with food and very comfortable seating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear rmkelly -- Thanks so much for the review. Glad you enjoyed everything. I appreciate your enthusiasm to urge others to stay here. I look forward to your next visit with us, please let me know if I can help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

well having been to orlando a few times we like to try different hotels but i think we have found one to return to again and again.we stayed for 2 weeks from the 3rd of november,wish we could of stayed longer! well after a long and stressful journey from the uk we arrived to such a friendly welcome from the reception staff. were checked in quickly and given some great advice about the shuttles to disney universal and the i ride trolley service which stops right outside. then we headed up to our room on the 10th floor (great view). now normally when you book a hotel the room doesnt quite live up to the picture you have seen, but this room was better. nice kitchen with all the appliances you could want and a handy washer dryer which was a godsend after 2 weeks as we were heading on to california. nice comfy huge bed in the bedroom and a nice sitting area in the lounge. even a balcony which i have never had in the usa before. there was a nice pool area with a bar that did delicious cocktails. a small gym which was always empty when i used it early in the morning. also a small coffee shop in the lobby which did breakfast in the morning although we never used it. Big thanks to the reception staff who checked us in on our next flight online and even printed our boarding passes for us. so glad we chose the point orlando resort. will be staying there next time we visit orlando. m thorpe

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear mth1109376 -- What a great review! Thanks! I'm pleased that we exceeded your experiences with other Orlando hotels. That's what we were going for. All our staff is great, especially the welcoming folks at the Front Desk. It means a lot to get that first "Welcome!" I couldn't be happier that we're now your hotel of choice in Orlando. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived early (11 am) and our room was ready. Everyone very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and welcoming - efficient kitchen area with microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher... Bed was comfortable and bathroom well stocked. Good location to Universal. Pool & outdoor Grill lovely and food good. Only down - free shuttle schedule did not work for us but not too big of an issue. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: We had a smaller room - no balcony but with a pull out bed and view of pool. Worked for the 3 of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear kms1680 -- We appreciate your review of your stay with us. I apologize that the shuttle didn't work out for you. Yes, our Executive Junior Suites are nice, perfect for 3, but it's a nice luxury to have the 1-Bedroom Suite, with the full kitchen. Maybe on your next trip? See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went to Orlando, FL for a Universal Studios trip. A couple we went with suggested this hotel. The hotel had nice reviews online so we booked it. When we got there the hotel staff was very nice and checked us in right away. We went to our room and discovered our room to be very clean and had all the essentials we needed. The hotel property, pool and hot tub were very clean.

The only downside is they didn't offer a shuttle to the airport. They offered a shuttle to Universal. But other than that we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear BabyGorilla -- Thanks for the review of your Universal Trip to Orlando and your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed everything. Sorry about not having an airport shuttle. Tough for us to make it very cost-effective, since people arrive all day long. But lots of taxis are available, without a reservation. I look forward your next visit please reach out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here , with husband and two teen daughters in a one bedroom suite, i would recommend a two bedroom suite, as sofa bed was very uncomfortable for 2 girls. Suite very clean , kitchen excellent and bathroom big ,great shower. Great location walking to International drive, wet and wild, and even to Universal, I ride stop just outside. Overall I would recomend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear kildare101 -- Thanks for the nice review. Sorry that the sofa sleeper wasn't comfortable for your daughters. For future reference, if you contact the Front Desk, sometimes they can bring an additional mattress to put on top, for those who don't find it comfortable. Or, your suggestion of a 2-Bedroom suite would work even better. And thanks for the recommendation. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Firstly, the name of the hotel could be a bit confusing for someone on their first trip, its no where near to The Point, (restaurants, bars,shopping complex) International Drive. You would have to drive/taxi or use the trolley. Having been going to Florida for 20 years we knew exactly where it was located but others may not.
We had a one bedroom apartment with full cooking facilites and washer/dryer. We were early to check in and all that was on offer was either 1st or 2nd floor looking out to the car park but as we were willing to wait we got the 10th floor overlooking the pool. Great view. Could see the fireworks at night and watch the sunset.
The furniture overall is fine. A bit old fashioned in the bedroom with a big grey box type tv. Think by this time a flat screen could be installed. Living room furniture fine a bit chipped in parts. Sofa nice and comfy. Well equiped kitchen.
The downside was the pool loungers. they were brick hard. You couldn't really sunbathe for more than a couple of hours.
My husband used the gym every morning but said the machines were very old and make all sorts of strange noises.
Everywhere was nice, clean and well kept. We did have to call reception on 2 different days as our room had not been refreshed . One time was around 5.30 and the other 6pm. They were done after the phone call though.
Location of the hotel is good for the trolley bus. Stops for both ways right outside. Not really any quality restaurants within walking distance. We used the trolley several times to head to The Point on I-Drive.
All in all a good standard of hotel and if the price was favourable (we booked direct with the hotels own website) we would return

Room Tip: try to get at a high level room and not a 1st or 2nd overlooking the car park. You may have to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Marion -- Thank you for the review and great tips. Others will find them helpful as they plan their Orlando holiday. Flat-screen replacement TVs are on the horizon, so they should be replaced soon. Thanks for the feedback regarding the loungers. We'll consider adding that to our future enhancements for the pool area. I apologize for the housekeeping service that was missed. That's not typical, and I've advised our head of housekeeping to keep a better watch on that so it doesn't happen again. You were smart to book directly with our website, as we guarantee the best room rate out there, when booking directly with us. Please come back soon, and we'll work even harder to make your stay a little bit more comfortable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Orlando
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#9 Family Hotel in Orlando
#22 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.