We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Orlando Resort to your Saves list
The Point Orlando Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Binbrook, ON Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I spent the first 3.5 days of our honeymoon at The Point and we were very happy with our stay. I picked this hotel when booking because of the positive reviews and its central location to Universal Studios where we planned to spend a couple of days. We arrived at the hotel a couple hours before the standard check-in time because of the time our flight landed and we were pleasantly greeted by Natalie who checked us in immediately and even upgraded us to a suite for our honeymoon. We were very happy with the service we received from Natalie and the room we stayed in was clean and had plenty of space for the two of us. The only issue we had while at the hotel was that the wifi was a little less than dependable and went down a couple of times, but these things tend to happen from time to time and it wasn't anything disastrous. Unfortunately we were fairly busy during our stay here so we were unable to use the pool or hot tub and therefore I cannot comment on them but for customer service and cleanliness I give The Point an A+!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Ashley L -- Thanks for the review, and for choosing us as your honeymoon destination. It was great that Natalie was able to get you in your suite quickly, and surprise you with the upgrade. We apologize for your experience with the WiFi. We've just recently completed the installation, and were working out some of the last-minute bugs. Thanks for understanding. It's all working perfectly now. Come back and visit us soon, when you can just relax by the pool and hot tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    781
    186
    34
    24
See reviews for
1,260
1,150
64
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at The Point for 5 nights and loved every minute of it. We had a 2 bedroom deluxe family suite, which was extremely spacious and perfect for our family of four. We stayed in tower 1, floor 11, poolside and had wonderful views of Orlando and far in the distance you can see the Epcot ball and fireworks. Very close to Universal and Wet n Wild and about a 20 minute drive to Disney parks. The only complaint I did have was the cleaning service was rather slow. Granted we were on the 11 floor, but some days we would come back to our room around 2 o'clock and the room had not been cleaned yet. Two or three times the cleaning ladies did not even bother to knock and just walked in, which I found rather rude. But that is my only complaint about the staff. The front desk clerks were always pleasant and helpful. A definite place our family will visit again. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear JillyJar -- Thanks for writing up your review for TripAdvisor. We're glad we could be your "Great Place to stay." And what a nice view you got, too. We apologize for your experience with Housekeeping. There shouldn't have been any lapse in your service, and the housekeepers are trained to knock before entering. We'll pass your comment to our Housekeeping Supervisor, to be sure other guests don't experience this. But we're glad that didn't deter you from thinking about your next visit with us. Hope that's soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I, and his parents had just completed a Disney Cruise and were staying in Orlando a few days to visit the parks. We knew we’d need two separate bedrooms and a shared living area. The Point was perfect for us. Parking was easy and the lot was never crowded since only guests can park there (the front desk will give you something to put on your dashboard). Everyone at the front desk was very nice and check in and out was easy. They even let us check in at 11am without an extra charge! There is a small breakfast buffet in the morning for a price but we always went to IHOP for breakfast which is right around the corner and was cheaper. The hotel was always quiet and we never heard anything from other rooms or the hallway.

We had the largest room option. There is one entrance door and when you open that there’s a little foyer and then the 2 door entrances- one for the smaller room, and one for the larger room. We just always kept the interior doors open with a chair. The smaller room has a king bed, a little seating area, a mini fridge and microwave, and an average sized bathroom. This single room is connected to a much larger hotel room that has a private king bed, large bathroom with separate shower and bath tub, and a large living room and full kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, large fridge, pots and pans, plates, glasses, silverware, and even a washer and dryer with one box of detergent (more is sold in the lobby).

Housekeeping did a good job, there was good water pressure in the shower and the room was very clean and looked new. The pool area was large and clean and there was lots of seating areas and a nice bar. The hotel couldn’t be in a better location. There are tons of restaurants and activities like Wet N’ Wild, CSI Experience, Wonder Works, shopping, mini golf, etc. and the Disney parks were a 20 minute drive.

Here are the things I didn't care for which is why I rated 4 stars: the bed was the hardest and loudest I’d every slept on. Every time my husband and I would roll over there was so much noise that we’d both wake up. Also, the entrance door on the side of the hotel didn’t have a keyed entry so anyone could walk in. In fact, throughout the evening we kept getting flyers pushed under our door for restaurants in the area. And there wasn’t a safe in the room. They’re only at the front desk. Free wireless internet was only available in the lobby and wired in the room.

The Hotel website describes this place as an elegant resort but I think that’s a bit of an exaggeration. It’s really just a quiet place that’s more comfortable than elegant and is ideal for those travelling with family who need extra space.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear wildlotus2482 -- Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and helpful review. You did a great job, and it will be helpful to others planning their accommodations. We appreciate all your comments and apologize that the bed was not comfortable for you. The firmness is tough to get right for everyone. Many prefer firm, and many prefer softer. We'll have to take a look and see why your bed might have been noisy. We'll have our Maintenance staff look into it. That should not have been the case. You'll be pleased to know that we are in the process of adding safes to all our rooms, so guests won't have to leave their valuables at the Front Desk. And we've now completed the integration of WiFi throughout the resort, in all suites, so no more wires required. We appreciate all your comments and opinions. We're more than happy to be a comfortable resort, in a great location, with helpful staff. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room was very nice and had all the amenities you need to spend a memorable vacation in Orlando. The breakfast is optional, we preferred to stock the fridge. Walgreens is only 2 mins far by car. Parking is no problem. All theme parks are easily accessible by car. Only 15 to 20 mins ride. DEfinitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear StephenC25 -- Thanks so much for the review and recommendation. You are wise to put your kitchen to good use. Hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you are reading this it's because like us you rely on trip advisor to make your decision as to which hotel deserves to receive your hard earned cash. Well after reading the reviews we chose this hotel as a change, we have stayed at the homewood suites int drive which I loved (twice) plus the Floridays resort. I'll start with check in, this was straight forward and we were given a high floor room with wonderful views, really impressed by the service, but then on day 3 we came back to our room only to find our room door was open by approx 8" we stopped and looked at each other in confusion and mostly concern as to how this can be, o entering the room there was no one in there, I checked my money, iPad etc and thankfully nothing had been taken. I rang reception to complain and find out what the hell was going on, I was advised they would send an engineer up to determine who had used entry into our room, I later found out it was house keeping and was given an apology, I was still very annoyed and concerned, I voiced this to the manager and was offered a free brekfast for one day. I took this as a slight insult when there were upgrades free champagne etc being thrown at other guests according to trip advisor just for mentioning a special occasion. Another issue we had was lack of towels being supplied, my partner and I showered and this just left my son only to find no clean towels were available, we had been replenished for just two people. I rang reception who apologised and immediately arranged for a towel to be delivered.
Guess what???????? 30 minutes later no towel was delivered and my son used mine, I did address this once again with the front desk and they delivered the towels. By now it was too late.
So to summarise the hotel, the rooms are nice, the service we recieved was very poor in my opinion especially when our passports, money, iPhone, ad etc could of been taken from the room, I don't, want to sound negative but ask yourself if this was you would you feel secure knowing this was not taken seriously when addressed.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 10th floor and could see the fireworks, the bed was the noisiest creakiest bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Atgk -- Thank you for sharing details of your stay with us. We apologize for your room being left open. As I'm sure the Front Desk told you, this is not keeping with our standards of guest service, and should not have happened. Our offer of a free breakfast was our way of apologizing for the situation, in a tangible way. It was not intended as an insult to you. We're sorry if it came across that way to you. And we apologize for the towel situation. We should have supplied you with adequate towels or, at least, brought the towels you requested promptly. We are sorry for that situation. We pride ourselves on high standards of Guest Service, and we clearly slipped in your case. We have discussed this situation internally, particularly with Housekeeping, to be sure such a situation doesn't happen to any other guests. We do truly hope you will give us another chance to show you the Guest Service you deserve. Feel free to contact me directly, if there is anything else I can do to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had six lovely nights here in a 1 bedroom suite. Everyone here is extremely friendly and all of the amenities are as expected. The shuttle to the parks are free and convenient. The only drawback is some unusual return times, however we chose to taxi home anyway as it is only a short ride (less than $10 for Universal and SeaWorld).

We were celebrating our Honeymoon and the lovely staff sent us a delicious slice of chocolate cake!

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend The Point to anyone looking to stay near International Drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Sam H -- Thank you for the review and recommendation. And thank you for letting us share in your honeymoon celebration. Glad you liked the cake! Sorry for your experience with the shuttle service. But you were wise to use a taxi to give you more flexibility controlling your vacation time, still at a reasonable cost. We're glad you'll be staying with us on your next Orlando visit. We look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

new,clean hotel good location, excellent helpfull friendly staff, thoroughly recommend to any kind of traveller/s.all you need is there or a phone call and a few short minutes away! a very pleasant place to stay with rooms to accommodate everyone.we returned later the same month and received a free upgrade which was a nice touch to end our vacation

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#10 Family Hotel in Orlando
#14 Business Hotel in Orlando
#22 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, luxury boutique hotel has a combination of junior suites (sleeping up to 4), one-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 4) and two-bedroom suites (sleeping up to 8). One- and Two-bedroom suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. Junior suites include mini-fridge and microwave. The resort is a Universal Partner Hotel, and located less than 1 mile from Universal theme parks. It offers scheduled theme park shuttles to Universal, SeaWorld, Wet 'n Wild and Walt Disney World. And the Orlando Convention Center is just 2 miles down the road. Resort amenities include an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness center and lobby lounge. Daily buffet breakfast is served at The Barista. After 11 a.m., guests can get snacks, coffees and sandwiches. And the new poolside Cabana Bar & Grill serves a varied menu of sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Plus, you can get frosty drinks and cocktails, all served poolside. This resort is consistently rated in the top 10 of 339 hotels in Orlando, by TripAdvisor reviewers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Orlando Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.