We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Cove

Discovery Cove
6000 Discovery Cove Way, Orlando, FL 32821
877-557-7404
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Discovery Cove like an insider
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Orlando Attractions Roundtrip Transfer
Ranked #1 of 285 things to do in Orlando
Activities: Swimming with dolphins, Swimming, Snorkeling, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Discovery Cove is an all-inclusive tropical getaway where visitors can swim with a dolphin, snorkel a reef and swim with fish.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was not sure what to expect here, so let me tell you what they provide. All meals, snacks, beverages, frozen alcoholic drinks, beer and wine. As many towels as you want. Free locker and a bag with snorkel, mask and sun block. You have to wear either a vest or wet suit when in the water, they supply it also. We wore just the vest and it was CHILLY getting into the reef in October. Buy a waterproof camera at Walmart. $9 there as opposed to $19 at the park.

There are 4 bodies of water. The otter/ marmoset pool- very neat. You get to swim into a cave and see the otter family behind a glass. The marmosets hang on an island in the middle.The lazy river- wonderful. Feels like bath water, there are "noodles" so you can just relax, place to get out and feed birds in the Avery, 2 waterfalls you go under. It rained mid afternoon, so we just hung out in the water here... It was warm and relaxing. Third is the dolphin area. You get to ride a dolphin, kiss him and hug him. A lot of individual dolphin time so it was just amazing. And last is the Grand Reef. It was cold, but once you got your face wet was just awesome. There are a ton of fish every where. Shallow pools and deep area but you float with no effort at all. There are sting rays and man arrays. They feed them late afternoon which is cool but freaky because they swim right by you and they're huge! I took 2 cameras worth of pictures and could have taken more! I thougt there would just bee a couple of fish, but there were hundreds and they have amazing colors! this was expensive for me, but so worth it. Just a wonderful exciting but relaxing day!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,634
    916
    217
    82
    48
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best day ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Loved the entire day. It was salty in price but it was worth every penny. The pictures are totally over priced but I still bought them $230.00 for pictures and $857.00 for three. Just no other experience measures up to this.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Hands Down Orlando's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Compared to some of the other amusement parks, the experience at DC is the best value that you can get in the Orlando area. While it definitely is not as packed or full of rides as some other parks, the dolphin meetup is unparalleled,

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The best day of our vacation. There was no running around trying to make it to different rides.
We were not going to go until we visited sea world with our season passes and listened to a salesman offer discounted tickets. I then requested the same price but was denied, so I went to Discovery Cove and spoke to a manager named Jeff from Nebraska and he could not have been more helpful. I ended up purchasing tickets for 6 adults and 8 kids.
I am so grateful to Jeff because it was the best day of our entire vacation. It is a beautiful all inclusive resort. The kids loved the hidden reef the best.
I will be returning to Discovery Cove.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A fantastic day for something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This day experience was unique and a very good one, quite different from the rest of the parks. Albeit extremely pricey, it offers all-inclusive food and drinks, and a focus on a more natural setting for a water experience.

The big draw is the swim with the dolphins thing. Although you don't really swim, the experience is learning about them, being in the water with them, touching them and being amazed at their intelligence. It's a very neat experience!

The rest of the park has an area dedicated to stingrays and fish, which is well done. Then there is a lazy river of sorts that looks like a real river complete with rocks and sand. The aviary was a nice touch as were the otters.

You won't see tubes or floats here. You are required to wear a wetsuit or a vest (made of wetsuit material). These are provided free. Lifevests are provided as well for kids or non-swimmers.

The food quality was decent. I liked breakfast more than lunch, but it was fine/good. Not outstanding. They have beer, wine and a few frozen drinks available. The wine wasn't very good but the beer was either Bud, Budweiser, Longboard, and maybe another option or two depending on which hut you went to. The frozen pina colada was weak and nothing to write home about. They had a mango frozen drink that looked good but I didn't try it.

The park provided towels, private showers, chairs, strollers, etc. It was very well run and a nice facility.

The cost of the ticket included Sea World and Aquatica, which I suppose makes it much more palatable. However if you buy a ticket with the purpose to only go to Discovery Cove, it's entirely overpriced. Nothing in Orlando is cheap, especially this place, but maximize the value by getting there as soon as it opens and be sure to visit Sea World and Aquatica to make good use of what you spent.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Cove also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.