We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really have to love ballet to appreciate Orlando Ballet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando Ballet

Orlando Ballet
Dr. Phillips Performing Arts Center - 1111 North Orange Avenue, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Southern Ballet Theatre) (Central Business District)
1-407-426-1739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 285 things to do in Orlando
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ballet performing center and school which now attracts dancers from around the world and performs classics to sell-out audiences.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You really have to love ballet to appreciate Orlando Ballet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very low budget - I am from Cleveland, so I am spoiled with a world-class ballet - this is more like a high school performance. Small stage, often no set at all except colored lights, cheap costumes. I used to get free tickets from donors and with so little art/culture in this area compared to where I grew up I tried to be supportive but its just not that good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We like to take the family, with children ages 10, 14 and 16, at least once a year, especially to see the Nutcracker during the Christmas holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not your grandmother's ballet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We attended the Battle of the Sexes during Arts Fest 2012. This is more cutting edge ballet (read no tutus). Very athletic choreography to pulsating music. It was absolutely riveting. Part of our group had never seen a ballet before and they were totally thrilled by the experience. So whether you are a traditionalist or a newbie, try to catch this show next year. It's a must-see.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“White Swan/Black Swan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Was great i loved it. Wish i could take pics after with a balleraina.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable to watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

For something beautiful and different the Orlando ballet is an enjoyable and cultural experience. Reasonably priced their performances are always well received by the Orlando community. Try to catch one of their performances, especially with the children.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando Ballet also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Orlando Ballet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando Ballet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.