We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Proud of my DVC home resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Save Saved
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   3701 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So Proud of my DVC home resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I will admit, I am a Disney Hard Core vacationer and believe me I will be very honest in my review of my home resort. After all I am invested financially and do have expectations for my vacation club that I look forward to every year! I must say, this last stay was probably the most impressed ive ever been with service! This resort is so clean and even has a fesh, clean smell throught the resort! Its almost like they overcompensate knowing there are animals outside the balconies and keep this resort exceptionally clean! The rooms are beautiful! In my opinion the best Disney has to offer so far! We stayed in a One Bedroom villa and it had all the comforts of home ( I know i sound like an infomercial) but honestly it does! This is a huge plus if you enjoy/need access to a full kitchen with granite countertops, eating area, full living room, Huge bathroom and a washer and dryer! It makes it easy to spread out and bring back food to keep in the fridge or keep bottle waters and such in the fridge. What I love so much as well is the theme. It is so well appointed with all the african artwork and I dont know of another resort that sets the mood as well as this one with the colors and lighting! They truly have created a beautiful resort and it has so many beautiful common areas you want to spend time at the resort as much as you can! The service for check in was the fastest and glitch free check in I have ever had at ANY resort! They acknowledge us at check in with a smile, didnt rush us and asked us of any questions and really matched the level of check ins we had at the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton which we stayed at right before we check in here. If you are thinking about staying here do it! It is worth every penny!

Room Tip: The quick service is only at the Jambo house, so request a room close to that if you plan on walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    188
    76
    21
    15
See reviews for
561
75
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Beautiful view, rooms, service, resort! Activities for the kids and dining are right on site. Check out the animals with Night Vision Goggles. Small disney store on site. Waterpark is awesome. Buses transport you to and from the parks and shopping with ease. Best vacation our family has had yet!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me, my daughter, son-in-law and three grandchildren spent a week at the Kidani Village in a 2 bedroom suite, which was just beautiful. There were three bathrooms! and a washer and dryer in the suite. The hotel is gorgeous, and our balcony that looked out at the savannah was so cool. The kids got up early every morning to watch the feeding of the animals. The pool area was so much fun for the kids that they were running for their suits even after a day at one of the parks.
We did have some trouble with room service. My advice, don't bother, it's not worth the price and the food is really not well prepared at all. If we had only had one bad experience, I wouldn't mention it, but it was more than once. I wasn't too impressed with how it was handled at the front desk either...it didn't feel "magical". All in all, we had a good time, but when we go back to Disney, we will stay on a different property.

Room Tip: You could end up at the very far end of the hotel, and it is quite a walk to the lobby, pool, and bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Disney is Disney is wonderful. But the atmosphere in Animal Kingdom's Kidani Village is a step above. You have all the amenities of Disney plus the real feel of another place and culture. Whether you are in a savannah view room or not, you will have ample opportunity to see and enjoy the animals. The lobby is amazing, the restaurants are amazing. The rooms are clean, comfortable and just fine. Not the largest ever, but you are not in them all that much. We were a family of 4 in a one bedroom and we did just fine, and cooked quite often. The room had everything we needed, and the staff went out of their way with suggestions and help with dining and activity reservations. We really felt as though we were important to the hotel. I cannot say enough about the atmosphere, you just need to experience it. Plus it's a quick walk to neighboring Jambo House if you want to try one of the restaurants there. I've been to Kidani in the summer, and at Christmas. Each time was unique and special.

Room Tip: Don't fret if you cannot obtain a savannah view - there is truly ample opportunity to see the an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Kidani Village with our two young boys.
When you step off the shuttle to the entrance of Kidani, the door man says, “Welcome Home!”, and he means it! B/c this is the DVC part of the resort, it is designed to feel smaller scale and “cozier” than Jambo across the savanna… Cool oil lanterns light the way into the lobby with African music softly playing in the background… You feel like you are about to enter an exotic lodge in Africa! It’s a magical experience only Disney could pull off well… On the flip side of being in the cozy (read as quiet) side of the resort it that if you want to be in the middle of the action, you might feel “out in left field”… The walk to and from the main lodge is enough to plan your day accordingly… There is a shuttle but cueing up for that takes time too… But for us, we liked having our own quiet corner of the savanna. We loved having the extra bathroom in the 1 bed villa (you only get one in the Jambo House). That allowed us to easier accommodate the grand parents who stayed with us for one night. Room was clean and in excellent shape. The décor was “as expected” for higher level Disney hotel. Thoughtful details to enhance the Disney experience were noticeable. Only complaint is with the lights… I know the lighting design is part of the African savanna feel but it was just too darn dark in the hotel room. Need better task lighting to make it feel comfortable.
The kids water playground was an unexpected bonus at the pool area. The facility was never too crowded and the staff was exceptional with the kids. Be on the lookout for some fantastic “Magic moments” at the pool!  Go to the far side of this area to see more views of the Pembe Savanna and the animals. Tennis and basketball courts we very underutilized! Probably b/c there was not a lick of shade available and a bit of a walk.
Definitely make time to talk with the naturalists to hear more interesting facts/stories about the animals in the savanna. These people have amazing stories to tell of their own background and how they found themselves working at Disney World. In fact, in my opinion, the wonderful international staff is an underappreciated attribute of the Animal Kingdom Lodge in general. Story time around the camp fire is special. Go there if you love animals and want to be transported to the savannas of Africa. But you’ll LEAVE raving about the staff as we did…
Dinner at Sanna was just OK. Staff seemed overwhelmed and timing was off (even though we had a reservation). Again, everyone was friendly and tried to be accommodating. But do be prepared to wait! Best meal at Animal Kingdom Lodge was Jiko without question. We ended going back two more times it was so good! Great wine list. We got the meal plan but ate breakfast in the villa so we could save our chits for better dinners (our kids are pretty adventuresome when it comes to food). All in all, a very rich and rewarding stay way out in Kidani village. It’s worth the trek.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We and another family had a 2 bedroom, 3 bath suite that we purchased with rented Disney Vacation Club points. The 2 bedroom suite was the size of three large/standard rooms put together with bedrooms on the ends and a large living area in the middle. The set-up was great for our two families and having a full kitchen and an 3rd bath made all the difference. The quality was what you would expect from a top tier Disney resort and we never had any problems with anything in the room.

We went in January and the cost was $200/night per couple since we rented DVC points. Prior to learning about renting points we were planning on staying at a Port Orleans Riverside in a standard room for $210/night, $10 more than we paid for our portion of the large suite at a deluxe hotel.

We had a view of the pool/parking lot and I'm happy we didn't pay the extra amount for the animal views. The location of the hotel is fairly far from the parks so going back the hotel midday is a pretty time consuming task (unless you are at Animal Kingdom), so we were only in our rooms in the mornings and then after dark in the evenings. At night they have night vision goggles (the real ones that are $3k+ each) for viewing animals and my girls had a blast using them. In the mornings we were more concerned with getting up and to the parks than we were about looking out the windows. Sure if I would have paid more and I woken up earlier to spend time looking at the animals but for me I would rather have more sleep and less expense. Plus you can see the animals as you walk to the lobby, and it can be a LONG walk, although no longer than you would have to do at a moderate resort; but it does feel like a longer walk because you are inside the whole time.

Our only problem with the hotel was that they had just switched over to Disney's new IT system and were having a lot of troubles with it. They said they switched over in the slow period (January) so they would have all the bugs worked out by spring break but for us it was a pain. We ended up having to have three sets of keys made and at one point they had to cancel our reservation and rebuild it from scratch. Overall this probably waster 45 minutes of my time and I'm sure they have everything worked out by know.

We didn't mind not having quick service food on site as we had groceries delivered from a local company that we stored in our kitchen. It saved us a lot of money and allowed us to make a warm breakfast and eat at our own pace, which saved us time in the morning.

We are happy with our trip and the hotel was great but we would probably choose a more centrally located resort for our next trip. Our style is a little more active so choosing one of the monorail resorts or the EPCOT resorts would be better for us next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room close to the lobby. The first floor is actually elevated so you are alre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kidani Village as this is our home base for DVC. We absolutely loved it here. The resort is quiet and gorgeous, which is a nice reprieve from the bustle of Disney. Our kids loved the pool and waterside. And the savanna view from our balcony was amazing. Loved seeing giraffes and zebras and other exotic animals walk by our room. We asked for a room near the lobby since we read reviews that the walk was long to some of the rooms and we have two little kids. We bought our food at Publix and made our meals in the room. The restaurants are all african themed and our kids wouldn't eat that type of food. Our one bedroom unit was gorgeous. Huge master bath with a jet tub and large shower and access to the balcony. We had a nice kitchen and dining room with plenty of space. We walked to Jumbo House in the evenings to let the kids play on the playground and get in a nice walk. Jambo is much busier than Kidani , which some people prefer. We also enjoyed the activities for the kids to earn beads and the campfires at 6:45pm to roast marshmallows. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Address: 3701 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas – Kidani Village is an African lodge-style Resort boasting accommodations that include kitchenettes/kitchens and multi-bedroom units. Featuring over 30 species of wildlife that roam free amidst a 21-acre wildlife preserve that includes lush, tropical savannas, Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas – Kidani Village offers you the unique opportunity to observe exotic animals in their natural habitat from special viewing areas throughout the Resort – and from the balconies of select Guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.