We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rented DVC points for an awesome experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Save Saved
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   3701 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rented DVC points for an awesome experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We and another family had a 2 bedroom, 3 bath suite that we purchased with rented Disney Vacation Club points. The 2 bedroom suite was the size of three large/standard rooms put together with bedrooms on the ends and a large living area in the middle. The set-up was great for our two families and having a full kitchen and an 3rd bath made all the difference. The quality was what you would expect from a top tier Disney resort and we never had any problems with anything in the room.

We went in January and the cost was $200/night per couple since we rented DVC points. Prior to learning about renting points we were planning on staying at a Port Orleans Riverside in a standard room for $210/night, $10 more than we paid for our portion of the large suite at a deluxe hotel.

We had a view of the pool/parking lot and I'm happy we didn't pay the extra amount for the animal views. The location of the hotel is fairly far from the parks so going back the hotel midday is a pretty time consuming task (unless you are at Animal Kingdom), so we were only in our rooms in the mornings and then after dark in the evenings. At night they have night vision goggles (the real ones that are $3k+ each) for viewing animals and my girls had a blast using them. In the mornings we were more concerned with getting up and to the parks than we were about looking out the windows. Sure if I would have paid more and I woken up earlier to spend time looking at the animals but for me I would rather have more sleep and less expense. Plus you can see the animals as you walk to the lobby, and it can be a LONG walk, although no longer than you would have to do at a moderate resort; but it does feel like a longer walk because you are inside the whole time.

Our only problem with the hotel was that they had just switched over to Disney's new IT system and were having a lot of troubles with it. They said they switched over in the slow period (January) so they would have all the bugs worked out by spring break but for us it was a pain. We ended up having to have three sets of keys made and at one point they had to cancel our reservation and rebuild it from scratch. Overall this probably waster 45 minutes of my time and I'm sure they have everything worked out by know.

We didn't mind not having quick service food on site as we had groceries delivered from a local company that we stored in our kitchen. It saved us a lot of money and allowed us to make a warm breakfast and eat at our own pace, which saved us time in the morning.

We are happy with our trip and the hotel was great but we would probably choose a more centrally located resort for our next trip. Our style is a little more active so choosing one of the monorail resorts or the EPCOT resorts would be better for us next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room close to the lobby. The first floor is actually elevated so you are alre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    184
    72
    19
    15
See reviews for
537
75
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kidani Village as this is our home base for DVC. We absolutely loved it here. The resort is quiet and gorgeous, which is a nice reprieve from the bustle of Disney. Our kids loved the pool and waterside. And the savanna view from our balcony was amazing. Loved seeing giraffes and zebras and other exotic animals walk by our room. We asked for a room near the lobby since we read reviews that the walk was long to some of the rooms and we have two little kids. We bought our food at Publix and made our meals in the room. The restaurants are all african themed and our kids wouldn't eat that type of food. Our one bedroom unit was gorgeous. Huge master bath with a jet tub and large shower and access to the balcony. We had a nice kitchen and dining room with plenty of space. We walked to Jumbo House in the evenings to let the kids play on the playground and get in a nice walk. Jambo is much busier than Kidani , which some people prefer. We also enjoyed the activities for the kids to earn beads and the campfires at 6:45pm to roast marshmallows. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrived in the dark and we were greeted with an entrance lit by only oil lamps! What a way to begin an African adventure! Our one bedroom Disney Vacation Club villa was in perfect condition with two full baths, service for eight and a master suite! We opened the sliding glass door and were greeted on our private balcony by giraffes! During our stay we were greeted by zebras, osterage, water buffalo, and various birds. The guides were pleasant, knowledgeable and helpfull. Disney imagineering provided for the feeling of being alone in a large resort.

We had a fantastic dinning experience at Sanaa at a reasonable price. I informed the manager that it was our wedding anniversary and our dinner began with complimentary champaign with strawberries and ended with a complimentary dessert.

Suggestion to Disney: As you have on board the Disney Cruiseline, consider an adult dining time, which would have enhanced the experience.

Kidani Village is truely a Disney secret.

Room Tip: Savana view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Olive, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

In April 2013, my family (3 kids) and I spent a week in a 1 bedroom unit/savannah view. The room is beautiful and the decoration is amazing. The lighting is very dark which my wife did not appreciate it. It has two bathrooms which is needed with a big family. The view of the animals was very impressive. We saw giraffes and zebras throughout different times of the day.

Our room had to be close to 1/3 a mile away from the lobby and even further to the bus stop. Needless to say we got our exercise in but we had to time ourselves if we had a reservation.

Transportation was excellent, staying at Kidani you get picked up first and dropped off first. Jambo house (way more crowded) is always second for the four parks. The drives were long because you are nowhere near any of the parks. Even Animal Kingdom takes a while.

When staying at Kidani you are in the middle of nowhere.

The pool area is very good and it has a decent slide.

The store is small but sufficient for a few small items. I wish they had a counter service restaurant there. There is one at Jambo House but that would be a 2 to 2 1/2 mile roundtrip walk.

Due to its far distance from the rest of WDW, I give this a very good rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the lobby. It will pay off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a Savannah view. Each morning the kids my wife and I would see giraffe, zebras, gazelle, etc. cruising right by our balcony. Unbelievable! The room was very big, very comfortable and very nice. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The restaurant was excellent. Cons - our room was a very very long way away from the lobby, pool, etc. 12 minute walk through the hall to the lobby. The restaurant on site was excellent but if you want fine dining or a real breakfast you must go to another resort. We usually stay at the Grand Foridian and are spoiled by the ease of access to amenities and being on the Tram line. Taking the bus to the parks was somewhat of a pain but manageable since the kids are not in strollers anymore.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a family of 10 stay at Kidani Village for 5 nights. I had great expectations for my grandchildren. The workers at the hotel could not be beat ,as usual with Disney properties.We had 2 rooms with a savannah views.My grandchildrens room was on the inside of the hotel with all sorts of animals,my wife and mine was on the outside of the hotel,I didn't think that chain link fences were part of a savannah..The other part of my disappointment was the fact we were in the far end of the hotel.We had to walk the total perimeter of the hotel to get to the lobby.WE were located in rooms 7771 and 7772 quite the walk for my pregnant daughter and young children,thank god we brought a stroller for the 3 year old. The room my children had was superb,nice bathrooms ,dining area and kitchen.My room was typical queen room with a bad coffee pot lid that we had to ask for a replacement,nothing amazing about this room at all..One of the great features was the pool area ,though it was a long walk it could not be beat.We had a wonderful time hanging at the pool,waterslides,music and they also had interactive games for the children. The cost for these rooms were more than any other hotel rooms I have ever stayed,it was for the kids ,but I do not see me staying there again..I am sure to try out another Disney property at sometime but not at a luxury resort like this.

Room Tip: Make sure you are closer to the lobby,and your savvanah room is on the inside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Arrived way earlier than the check-in time and pleasantly surprised to find our room was all ready for us. We checked in online, so all our room keys were prepared, making the physical check in process a breeze. Upon entry, the carpets were still damp from being shampooed, but left the ceiling fans on and balcony door slightly ajar, and by afternoon, it was dry.

Lobby: Kidani's lobby is much smaller compared to Jambo House and lacks the wow factor.

Rooms: We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa in Kidani Village overlooking the savanna. The rooms were spacious, layout well thought-out, modern and clean. Our sauté pan had a deep scratch in it, but housekeeping came within 15 minutes to replace it with a new one once we notified them. The local market at the lobby had the usual breakfast items at reasonable prices to purchase so we could save a little by preparing the first meal of the day in the villa. We chose to stay at Kidani instead of Jambo House because their two-bedroom villas have 3 bathrooms vs 2 at Jambo. It was comfortable for three families (with 5 kids in total). Although Jambo House is where the main entertainment and food is, we liked the quieter Kidani Village and the walk over to Jambo is not bad at all. Worse comes to worse, just take the shuttle bus or drive over. Oh, and wi-fi signals were surprisingly strong for a resort this size (well, our room was fine anyway). Our room was right above the pathway to the pool, so we lucked out in terms of not having to walk far to get to it.

Amenities: Washer and dryer was a nice convenience. Only comes with one load's worth of detergent, so plan ahead and buy your own or bring some from home. Bathrooms were well stocked with toiletries as well. Kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, etc if you choose to prepare your own meals. If you're staying as time-share members, room service comes on the 4th day to replenish supplies, linens, etc. As hotel guests, the rooms are serviced daily.

Food: Both Jambo and Kidani have their own on-site restaurants, so there's no lack of sit down service if that's what you crave. We only went to the buffet at Jambo House, so that's the only one I can review.. it had something for everyone, so we all left there full tummies with smiles on our faces. There's also more casual dining places by the pools for quicker "fast food" service (usual themepark fare: burgers, salads, kids meals, etc).

Gyms: Both areas have them, next to the pools. Both well equipped. Folks staying there and staff are super friendly and courteous!

Pools: Kidani has its own pool and slide separate from Jambo (guests can use both). Jambo has a bigger pool, but also more crowded. Daily flyers are packed with poolside activities for the kids in both pool areas. At 7p each evening, Disney cast members bring out the marshmallows for roasting.

Garage: underneath the hotels! Keeps your cars cool in the summer. Once you figure out what part of the complex you're staying at, it's no effort to know where to park to be closest to your quarters. Each section is named with Lion King characters.

Savannas: If you're going to spend the money to stay at this resort, don't skimp now. Worth the little extra to get savanna views. Our kids really enjoyed waking up and seeing giraffes and ostriches, etc wandering right out the windows and balconies. The animal caretakers spread their food throughout the savanna to lure the animals all over the space to insure all guests can have the best chance to see the animals as close as safely possible (no, animals are not within touching distance). Warning though.. guests are not allowed to throw food or objects to the animals. There are cameras overlooking the savannah. Savannas at Kidani and Jambo have different animals, but there are plenty of opportunities in common areas to view them. Disney has plenty of knowledgeable staffers to answer any questions about the animals and their habitats.

Morning of check out, we utilized Disney's onsite airline checkin services at the lobby and got our boarding passes and checked in our luggage so our time spent at the airport was less. Yay!


Possible gripes, but really non-issues for me: TV signal is still analog and not high-def, but no matter, we weren't there to watch television anyway. It is one of the farther resorts on Disney property, so the drive or shuttle bus rides to the other parks takes a few more minutes longer, but not a problem really. We used both car and shuttle bus to get around with no kids whining, and it wasn't an issue since both options were air-conditioned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Address: 3701 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas – Kidani Village is an African lodge-style Resort boasting accommodations that include kitchenettes/kitchens and multi-bedroom units. Featuring over 30 species of wildlife that roam free amidst a 21-acre wildlife preserve that includes lush, tropical savannas, Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas – Kidani Village offers you the unique opportunity to observe exotic animals in their natural habitat from special viewing areas throughout the Resort – and from the balconies of select Guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.