We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love my Home Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village to your Saves list
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   3701 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I love my Home Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was our 3rd trip to our home resort as DVC members. Both previous times we had one or two bedroom villas but this time we had a studio. Although when it was just me and wife this would of been enough room, we defenitley felt crammed this time around with the addition of our daughter. None the less, it had all the quality and charm we remember. My absolute favorite aspect of this resort is the African theme but most importantly is its cleanliness. Always smells fresh and clean everywhere throught the resort and we so proud to call it home.

Room Tip: Although the Savanah views are great, realistically you wont be seeing any abundance of animals and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    242
    94
    28
    16
See reviews for
716
103
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
APP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I loved the room as it set the tone for the trip. The wood furniture was carved with African figurines and the sort. The little ones (ages 3 and 7) were a bit put off by the dark scenary, but came around eventually. They loved the idea of waking up early and looking at the animals from the patio.

While utilizing room service cost double the amount of going down for breakfast, it saved time as even with a reservation there is still a wait. There was a great variety to select from for breakfast.

The washer/dryer located in the room were of great use, but obtaining a sufficient amount of detergent was a bit tricky. We ended up purchasing detergent from a local market.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this facility to future travelers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in a 1 bedroom Villa and thoroughly enjoyed Kidani Village. The space was more than adequate for 4 adults and the decor superb. We did not have a Savanah view but enjoyed watching the animals from the viewing areas. Room service was very good and quick. Much better than expected. We had a car and drove ro the parks about half of the time but we never waited longer than 10 minutes for a bus. We did the Wanyama Safari and it was well worth the money. We are already planning next year's stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We are DVC members, but this was our first stay at Kidani Village. Best thing to us is that the 1 bedroom villas have 2 bathrooms, which is not the case for most 1 bedrooms at Disney. Great to have when you have 2 parents and 3 kids in the room! Additionally, the bathroom in the bedroom does not have the window between bedroom and bath that is pretty standard in DVC villas and not my favorite feature, never have figured out why you want a window to the bathroom! Super quiet too, never heard anyone overhead or to the sides and there were plenty of people staying there! The decor of the hotel is very nice, and it is super clean and all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The corridors are very long; according to a staff member it is 1/2 mile from lobby to the end of each wing. if you are not a fan of walking be sure to request a room close to the lobby. If you are driving it is not as big of a deal as the parking for Kidani is under the hotel and there are elevators down to the garage at various points along the hall, so you could park closer to your room than the lobby/bus stop is. The kitchens, washer/dryer, and balconies are standard DVC, very nice except for the narrowness of the balcony, but it is fine for sitting and watching the animals. If you want giraffes and zebras in your savannah view be sure to request the main savannah, the back side one we were on did not have those on it, just ox, gazelles, and other "deer like creatures", but they were fun to watch too! Best pool we have found at a Disney resort; standard water slide and zero entry, but Kidani also has a water play area divided into a big and little kid side, with squirting cannons, tipping buckets, and climbing area and those random squirting water out of the ground things little kids love. Both my big kids and little one had a great time at the pool. Only other issue we had with Kidani was the lack of a quick service restaurant. There is one at Jambo House right next door, which is only about a 10 minute walk and they run a constant van shuttle between the two, but it would have been nice to have a quick place there. The pool bar offers some options but most of the food from there counts as room service, not great if you are on the dining plan. Overall a great place to stay, as long as the walk is not a big deal to you. It is considered deluxe so the bell service, etc is more like Boardwalk than Old Key West (where it can be painfully slow for bell services). Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Close to the lobby, main savannah view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Disney Kidani Village for our weeklong visit to the parks. We rented a 1-bedroom villa, which was perfect for our family of four.

The hotel is beautiful. You can tell it was recently built. The rooms are very well furnished. The lobby is not as magnificent as Jambo lodge, but it is still very nice.

We had a little trouble at check-in. We had put in a request for a specific part of the hotel where we would be close to Jambo lodge with a sunset savanna view. After a very long check in, we were initially put at the other end of the building, with a view of the smaller Pembroke savanna. This matched our reservation, but it was about as far as you could get from our room request. After much discussion, they found us a room on the end of the hotel we wanted to be on with a view of the sunset savanna.

Other than the initial room issue, we have no major complaints with the hotel. The rooms were perfect. The savanna view with animals right outside your window was great. The full kitchen was perfect. There is a Super Target not far away, so we stocked up on breakfast supplies and snacks to save money on food (we rented a car). One of the best things about the one bedroom unit was having two full bathrooms.

The pool area is very nice. Since we were here in October, the pool was never very busy. The kids loved the slides and the spray park area.

One of the best things about this hotel is all of the activities for families, many of which are free (or at least included in the very high room rates). There are games in the pool all during the day; they show movies in the pool area at night (Disney, of course). There is marshmallow roasting at sunset. There are games, drum lessons, African history demonstrations. One of my kids favorite things was animal enrichment, which the kids to make “snacks” for the animals which are later put in the savanna for the animals enjoyment.

A review would not be helpful without a few caveats.

First, the while the hotel is not huge it is very linear. Which means the walks to the bus stop, pool, lobby, savanna-viewing areas, and generally, anywhere else can get very long.

Secondly, this hotel is the farthest Disney property from all of the parks (except Animal Kingdom of course) and areas like downtown Disney. Therefore, if you are using the Disney busses, it can take a long time to get around. It took us 45 minutes to go from our room to the Magic Kingdom using the bus service. I would recommend getting a car if you are staying here. You will save some money on food since you can go to the grocery and make your own meals.

Thirdly, while the savanna view is great, the animals are not always there. In the morning before you go to the park, they tend to bring them back to the barns for breakfast and checkups. Therefore, the only time you will really see animals is in the afternoon if you are spending times in the park. In addition, even if the animals are out they may be on the other side of the Savanna. Since we were there in October, with a 6:30 or so sunset, there were days we did not see the animals at all.

Finally, while I loved staying at Animal Kingdom Lodge, you have to ask yourself if it is worth the cost and how much time you will spend there. If you are planning to spend all of your time touring the parks, Animal Kingdom Lodge may be a waste of money. You really need to make sure to allocate time to enjoy the hotel and get your money’s worth out of the relatively expensive room rates.

Room Tip: Savanna view is great. Larger animals are on the sunset savannah, but the pembrook savanna is cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at Kidani village using my sister's timeshare points. The room was good - not as big as our room at the Radisson but adequate. The kitchenette was handy and the balcony was nice even though it didn't have much of a view. The pool area was fun - lots of different tiki statues spraying around - ping pong tables - etc. They have activities for kids and adults but we were busy doing our own thing. They have a fire pit where you can roast marshmallows at night which I thought was pretty cool. All of the staff was courteous and helpful - as usual w/ Disney properties. To stay at the animal kingdom lodge is pretty expensive - if we weren't staying using a timeshare I wouldn't pay $300 a night - it's not worth that much to me for any hotel room - unless it was a huge suite in Vegas or something! All in all this is a cool place - relaxing and fun - with comfortable beds and a separate toilet so you can handle business while the woman is doing her makeup!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadesville, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for the first time in late July of 2011. The accommodations were outstanding. Very new, spacious and good quality and comfort. The views of the animals on the savannah were nice when they were there. It was very quiet. Almost too quiet for me. This may be a big plus to others. The lobby is smaller and less active than the Animal Kingdom Lodge and has less amenities. There is no quick service dining available and the gift shop is small. One nice plus is that you are always the first stop for the park buses when they pick you up and when they drop you off. They had a GREAT pool area. Although it may not be as close as other resorts to the parks (other than Animal Kingdom), I didn't think the bus rides were bad. There was only one day that we had to wait a long time for a bus (40 minutes +). The other days were fine. A great resort but a little quiet for me. I prefer the Animal Kingdom Lodge for their large and tall lobby, large gift shop, pool outside the lobby and more active feel. One last thing, our room was only halfway down the hallway from the lobby and it felt like a two mile walk. Of course I'm exaggerating but if there are older travelers or very young, the hallways are soooo long it is almost silly.

Room Tip: A two bedroom savannah view room is great. Try to get a room close to the lobby as the walk to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Address: 3701 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape on your own African safari adventure at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design offers exquisite views of lush savannas-where over 30 species of African wildlife freely roam. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and all the comforts of home in our spacious Studios and multi-bedroom Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.