We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large zoo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom

Disney's Animal Kingdom
Bear Island Road, Orlando, FL 32819 (Walt Disney World Resort)
407-824-4321
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Disney's Animal Kingdom like an insider
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Orlando Attractions Roundtrip Transfer
Ranked #2 of 33 Nature & Parks in Orlando
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "The largest of the 4 theme parks at Walt Disney World Resort, Disney's Animal Kingdom park is filled with attractions, adventures and entertainment that reflect Walt Disney's dedication to nature and conservation. The park leads the way in animal care, education and research—for an enchanting experience that blends learning with family fun.Home to more than 1,700 animals from 250 species and sprawling across 500 acres of lush landscape, Disney's Animal Kingdom park is the biggest animal-themed park in the world!Disney's Animal Kingdom park is divided into 7 areas:OasisDiscovery Island® areaCamp Minnie-MickeyAfricaRafiki's Planet Watch® areaAsiaDinoland, U.S.A.® areaEncounter rare and majestic animals—and get close enough to pet some of them! Exciting attractions await, along with live and wild entertainment like Broadway-style musical shows and parades that invite you to be part of the excitement.From the spectacular scenery of the African savanna—where you may spot zebras, elephants and hippos—to the high-altitude, roller coaster thrills of Expedition Everest® in Asia, global adventures abound at Disney's Animal Kingdom park.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Large zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Okay most of this review is tainted but we did what most people did and made sure to go on the safari. From there Kali Rapids which was fun but before we stopped at a Bugs Life my oldest who is 6 and loves dinosaurs wanted to go that area. We rode the smaller rides and met Goofy and Pluto, and Russel and Doug (UP!) but then we made the mistake of going on the ride Dinosaur. That ride is not meant for kids. and its marketed for them. The t-rex attacking the car even scared me and after that my kids wanted nothing more to do with animal kingdom. Pity because we missed half the park. Sorry Disney dropped the ball on that one.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,564
    3,561
    1,458
    290
    117
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another great Disney park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Animal Kingdom is fantastic, both the attractions and animals are seemlessly themed together.

Fairly educational for kids, but we go for Everest, Dinosaur, Safari and a beautiful stroll around the great looking areas.

Quite a small park and we find it seems a little hotter than the other parks - not sure why?

Gets busy as everything Disney does, so go early to see animals and Fastpass the attractions you want to do first.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a great park!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 6 days in Orlando with our 4 year old son and were wondering which park would fit for our son out of all the parks you have in Orlando. As the parks are very expensive, we really wanted something where he could go on the rides and where we could have a nice family experience. Look no further, Animal Kingdom is just perfect!! The park is just amazingly beautiful and our 4 year old could almost go on all the rides. The safari was the highlight of the day! It was just incredible.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good place to slow down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The mix of rides. things to do and shows make this almost one of my favourite parks. The tree of life show, the best. The water rides are to drown for (wet - try drowned). Shows are great. Yet it seems snall and you can do it in 3 hours. Something is missing!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west des moines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth your time or money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I love zoos...just not paying $500 for my family to go. We went to the safari first thing hoping the animals would be awake and visible. They were but it was still boring. At a zoo I can stand as long as I want to look at the animals I want to see but the truck moves at the same pace regardless of whether you're looking at lions or warthogs. We're not roller coaster riders so the Everest ride looked cool but I have no review. We did do the Dinosaur ride which was very disappointing. This park was also missing the "Disney Magic" that's found everywhere else. Our family was done with this park within several hours and not impressed. If you're curious, get a park hopper so you can at least move on to someplace else by noon. They were building an Avatar world which may change everything in a couple of years.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.