We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Opa

Taverna Opa
9101 International Dr., Ste 2240, Orlando, FL 32819-8120
407-351-8660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Opa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #255 of 3,238 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sand Lake and International Dr.
Transit: I-Trolly stop #24
Hoover, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice happy hour. They have 2 for 1 drinks and several small plates. Taverna Opa is located on the second level at Pointe Orlando.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    188
    66
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited this restauarnt after getting a card from the hotel. We popped to see what it looked like during the day and thought it looked nice and had some authentic items on the menu.

We then went back in the evening. What a mistake. This is the worst place that we ate at during the whole 2 weeks we were in florida.

The evening was loud, there were women who seemed to need to shreak at the top of their voices, people dancing on tables, serviets being thrown round the room.

To top it off the food was a let down. We ordered shrimp and they bought out sausage, umm not the same. We did eventually get what was ordered. Then the mains. Most of the meat in the kleftico was very fatty. I left most of it and just ate the vegtables.

All in all I hated it. we paid the very expensive bill and left. never again

There are much better places to eat for the same money. Try Maggianos little Italy nearby which was my favourite during our visit.

This place has potential but doesnt make the most of it. shame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loud, unappealing, not authentic and did I mention LOUD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Well, I supposeit's time for my first negative review. To be honest, I shocked at how many excellent reviews Taverna Opa received. But, here's my story.

It was a Saturday night and we had to wait about 30 minutes for a table, not unreasonable for a Saturday night.

We were sat in the main dining area, the music was at the volume of a dance club. You could not hear a word your server said, and could not carry on a conversation with anyone at your table, even the person sitting next to you.

The menu was large and over priced, but it was in the touristy part of town, so I guess it should be expected. If you are looking for authentic Greek food, this is not the place to go. Many of the menu items are modified or "dumbed down" to appeal to the American palate, or more specifically, the South American palate that flocks to this area.

Service was spotty and rude at times.
The manager was especially rude when I asked about having my parking validated, which they don't do either.

Entertainment wise, there are Belly Dancers and they dance on the tables. Bring $1 bills, you're expected to tip. Also, there are restroom attendants that get tips also, so keep that in mind.

In closing, skip this place, it's a LOUD, rowdy party and not so much a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good atmosphere but poor expensive food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

If you want to visit this place for atmosphere alone it is a great night, had fun with belly dancing etc. however the food is not good, dont think any of chefs have been to greece and have been told to make everything taste like lemon. 4 courses and the predomint taste was lemon, each dish had lemon wedges on them. Come on chefs even purchase a good greek recipe book

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and FUN!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went with a large group, had a reservation and our table was ready upon arrival. Everyone reported the food was good. I had the sea bass and it melted in my mouth. Two got lamb dishes and both said they were very good. The sides (potatoes or rice) were okay...nothing to brag about. There was complimentary flat bread and humus. The atmosphere is the thing to come for. There were two belly dancers that performed most of the time that we were there. They are friendly and encourage participation from the customers. There were three different bridal parties there celebrating as it was a Saturday night. They all danced on top of the tables with one of the belly dancers at one time or another. Overall a great place for good clean fun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Taverna Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Opa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.