We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, but way too loud for a business dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Opa

Taverna Opa
9101 International Dr., Ste 2240, Orlando, FL 32819-8120
407-351-8660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Opa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #273 of 3,123 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: European, Greek, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sand Lake and International Dr.
Transit: I-Trolly stop #24
Wayzata, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun place, but way too loud for a business dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you like smashed dinner plates and torn napkins thrown into the air, then this place is for you. However it was way to loud to have any kind of conversation over dinner. We had to take out group and leave before ordering because no one could talk! Looked like a gun place for a party however!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    157
    60
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are tired of the breaded and fried food along International Drive, I recommend Taverna Opa. Everything had was fresh and delicious. The grilled octopus appetizer was especially good, and I can honestly say is was the only real food that we ate in Orlando. If you are not into ethnic food, I guarantee you will be able to find something you like on the menu and maybe discover that you like Greek food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very annoying”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This is my first negative review ever and is based on the set up only.

We booked a table for four adults and two kids for 7:30pm and on arrival were told that reservations don't get you in on or near time ? You just get added to the waiting list ? Told one hour wait. With kids waiting till 8:30 is not what we had planned. They suggested waiting at the bar ? That's really practical with small kids. The place was busy. Extremely loud and had women dressed up as belly dancers dancing on the tables. Greece is renowned for belly dancing ? Been going to Greece for years and never seen that once. I know my opinion was soured by the booking policy but when I say it was loud I mean deafeningly so.

Regardless of the booking policy I would definitely not recommend unless you are an adult only group.

We left and went to bahama breeze. Much better for a family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“LOUD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're a tourist and/or don't want to chat with people you are with, you may enjoy this place. The food was good, service very good. But for us, it was WAY TOO LOUD. At 7pm the belly dancer comes out. She danced the entire time we were there. She was entertaining. You are also entertained by the guests having a good time dancing with her, dancing on tables and chugging down ouzo. Before you go, take the reviews that say the place is loud literally. The place is deafening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Greek Food Experience was Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband's and I's first try at Greek Food was excellent. We had complimentary hummus that had garlic, olive oil, salt & pepper and chick peas from what I rememembered and pieces of pita to go with it. It was so delicious and satisfying that it could've been a meal in itself. Our appetizer was the wonderful Saganaki which was a flaming Vlachotiri cheese at your table with brandy, this paired with the hummus and pita was delicious. Our main entree was the huge Steak Souvlaki Platter served open faced on a pita bread with veggies and Opa fries. It was a definitely huge portion, I was barely able to eat half. The service was great and the staff were more than happy to let you know their popular dishes and specials. Great atmosphere located on the top open floor of the Pointe Orlando.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Taverna Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Opa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.