We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, but way too loud for a business dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Opa

Taverna Opa
9101 International Dr., Ste 2240, Orlando, FL 32819-8120
407-351-8660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Opa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #238 of 3,488 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sand Lake and International Dr.
Transit: I-Trolly stop #24
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun place, but way too loud for a business dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you like smashed dinner plates and torn napkins thrown into the air, then this place is for you. However it was way to loud to have any kind of conversation over dinner. We had to take out group and leave before ordering because no one could talk! Looked like a gun place for a party however!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonkamanMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Northern California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are tired of the breaded and fried food along International Drive, I recommend Taverna Opa. Everything had was fresh and delicious. The grilled octopus appetizer was especially good, and I can honestly say is was the only real food that we ate in Orlando. If you are not into ethnic food, I guarantee you will be able to find something you like on the menu and maybe discover that you like Greek food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WickedThistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very annoying”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my first negative review ever and is based on the set up only.

We booked a table for four adults and two kids for 7:30pm and on arrival were told that reservations don't get you in on or near time ? You just get added to the waiting list ? Told one hour wait. With kids waiting till 8:30 is not what we had planned. They suggested waiting at the bar ? That's really practical with small kids. The place was busy. Extremely loud and had women dressed up as belly dancers dancing on the tables. Greece is renowned for belly dancing ? Been going to Greece for years and never seen that once. I know my opinion was soured by the booking policy but when I say it was loud I mean deafeningly so.

Regardless of the booking policy I would definitely not recommend unless you are an adult only group.

We left and went to bahama breeze. Much better for a family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrails4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“LOUD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're a tourist and/or don't want to chat with people you are with, you may enjoy this place. The food was good, service very good. But for us, it was WAY TOO LOUD. At 7pm the belly dancer comes out. She danced the entire time we were there. She was entertaining. You are also entertained by the guests having a good time dancing with her, dancing on tables and chugging down ouzo. Before you go, take the reviews that say the place is loud literally. The place is deafening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank searchinggreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Greek Food Experience was Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband's and I's first try at Greek Food was excellent. We had complimentary hummus that had garlic, olive oil, salt & pepper and chick peas from what I rememembered and pieces of pita to go with it. It was so delicious and satisfying that it could've been a meal in itself. Our appetizer was the wonderful Saganaki which was a flaming Vlachotiri cheese at your table with brandy, this paired with the hummus and pita was delicious. Our main entree was the huge Steak Souvlaki Platter served open faced on a pita bread with veggies and Opa fries. It was a definitely huge portion, I was barely able to eat half. The service was great and the staff were more than happy to let you know their popular dishes and specials. Great atmosphere located on the top open floor of the Pointe Orlando.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyMinnie7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Taverna Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing