We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a quiet respite from the parks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trail's End Restaurant

Trail's End Restaurant
4510 N Fort Wilderness Tr, Orlando, FL (Walt Disney World Resort)
407) 939-5277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #265 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Walt Disney World Resort
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Good food and a quiet respite from the parks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

On our last day in the parks, we escaped from Magic Kingdom and took the boat over to Fort Wilderness. The restaurant wasn't very busy, so we were seated immediately without a reservation. The beer tasted great! The server said that the burgers were the best in Walt Disney World, so my wife ordered an angus chuck bacon cheeseburger. It was, indeed, one tasty burger, but at $12.99 (with sweet potato fries), it shoulda been! I had the pan-seared catfish. It was very nicely cooked and delicious. It came with coleslaw, half an ear of corn, and some dynamite chive hush puppies. Again, the price was typical of Disney - $14.99. Despite the cost, Trail's End is a nice, cool escape from the hustle and bustle with very good food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    104
    43
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Typical buffet food, but pretty good! Ribs were excellent, vegetables were perfectly cooked and seasoned, not mushy! As other reviews have said, mashed potatoes were a little off, but roasted potatoes provided an excellent alternative. Apple crisp was also great. Hosts and servers were very attentive and nice. We were about half an hour early for our reservation and were seated almost immediately.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“There are many other better options at Disney besides Trails End”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Our family of two adults and two children dined here on April 5, 2011. We were staying at the Wilderness Lodge and thought it would be fun to leave the Lodge by boat and try Trails End for dinner. While the boat ride was nice, but we found the restaurant choice to be a mistake. The restaurant's atmosphere was lacking, and it felt to me like the entire place needed a good pressure washing. The servers looked "unkept" and very unlike the rest of the Disney cast members we encountered on our week-long trip. The other people dining around us looked as if they had just crawled out of their camping tents and had not showered in days.

The food was average, not terrible, but nothing special and it was not worth the trip in leaving our resort. For the $100.00 including tip, taxes and two beers, there are many other better choices to be found on Disney property. I wish we would have stayed at our resort on this evening and dined a second time at Whispering Canyon instead.

Other Disney restaurants we love that can similarly priced to Trails End (depending on what you order) are Sanaa, Cape May, 'Ohana, Kona Cafe, le Celier, Coral Reef and Raglan Road.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Never Fails to deliver Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Dined here again this Disney trip. As always, great food, service, and clean facility. The rare find here is that you can purchase Evian water. We always have a reservation but we see people arrive at opening (4:45) and always get seated for dinner. Chef is always willing to put the beef back through the oven for those who do not like bloody red meat. Great variety, something on the buffet for everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious buffet! Not a big selection but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Delicious buffet! Not a big selection but that's what makes this tasty. Everything was tasty and fresh love the chicken. Will go here again staff was friendly place was clean

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail's End Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Trail's End Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail's End Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.