We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Japanese experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Dining

Tokyo Dining
EPCOT Center, Walt Disney World, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)
407-939-3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #263 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Walt Disney World Resort
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Japanese experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Three members of our group love sushi, so we wanted to eat somewhere that had great sushi. Tokyo dining was referred to us so we decided to give it a try. We had a small problem because we went on test track and was making our way to the restaurant. That is when we realized we had left the stroller with our belongings at the entrance of Test Track. So my boyfriend and son went back while me and my daughter went ahead to make our reservation. Three more people were going to be eating with us and were just entering Epcot. The first thing I noticed was the huge flight of stairs we had to climb. When we go to the top, there was a lobby where one would check in. This lobby was for two restaurants, Tokyo Dining and Teppan Epo. It was really crowded in there. When I checked in I was advised that we could not check in until our whole party was there. Well the three showed up and so we were only missing two so we were able to check in. we were shown to a table with a wonderful view of the lake.
Our server was attentive and started out with giving us hot towels to wash our hands. Then we ordered drinks and food. I had the Panko Chicken with Miso Soup, Sumomono, Noodle Salad, and Sukiyaki Beef Rice. The soup was to be sipped as in the traditional Japanese way. The noodle salad was delicious as was the beef rice and chicken. The Sumomono was an acquired taste. My boyfriend ordered the Grilled Steak Combination with Tempura Shrimp with Seasonal Vegetable, and Sukiyaki Beef Rice. He said the steak was cooked well and the rice was great. However since he let his son eat some of his shrimp (son was really hungry) he said he didn't get enough to eat. The older kids loved the sushi and the younger kids loved the airplane shaped kids plate. Dessert was good, I had the chocolate ginger cake. The best thing though was when the fireworks started we could see it all. We had a great view. It was spectacular. I would recommend this restaurant if you are in Epcot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    95
    46
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
661 reviews 661 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 227 cities Reviews in 227 cities
543 helpful votes 543 helpful votes
“Excellent place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stopped in for lunch at Tokyo Dining. There are two restaurants to choose from that occupy different sections of the same building. Tokyo Dining serves traditional Japanese dishes, while the other (Teppan Edo) provides an experience where the chef cooks at your table. The hostess at the bottom of the stairs outside provided me a card for the specific restaurant. Inside the restaurant someone escorted me to the Tokyo Dining Room area and to my table. The waitress came by quickly to take my drink order.

There was a main menu as well as one with the lunch specials. You also had a menu of sake, a traditional Japanese liquor, but they were expensive. I chose the Chirashi Zushi lunch special which came with miso soup and ice cream (all specials come with miso soup and ice cream). The dish was a selection of sushi over a bed of rice. It included tuna, crab, egg and seaweed. The waitress provided an option to have the miso soup as an appetizer or part of the main meal. She mentioned that the Japanese traditionally sip the soup from the bowl, but still provided a spoon if I wanted it. The main course came out pretty quickly even with the large number of customers.

Both the food and the serve were excellent. The waitress was cheerful, helpful and respectful throughout the entire meal. The décor was simple, but elegant and added to the overall experience. You felt like you were in Japan and not battling the crowd at EPCOT. If you are at EPCOT and looking for a place to eat for lunch or dinner, I would highly recommend Tokyo Dining.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended for Tempura Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We attended the Epcot Wine and Food Festival in October 2013, and sat in on a cooking demonstration from the chef at Tokyo dining. We were intrigued enough to seek out the restaurant when we returned this May, and were not disappointed.

In particular, the panko battered shrimp was the best tempura style dish we have eaten in the US or Japan. That dish alone is worth a trip to the restaurant. There is a good assortment of other Japanese entrees, but I can't imagine passing on the shrimp.

Decent selection of sake, served properly (cold).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the fourth time that we have eaten at Tokyo Dining. We made reservations for lunch at 12 noon. We arrived a few minutes early and they were not yet seating guests. At 12 o'clock the entire staff gathered around the sushi bar and put on a three minute welcoming presentation that was very nice.

I was aware of the fact that the sushi here is very good and always fresh. We decided to try the fried calamari appetizer. It was excellent. Actually it was beyond my expectations. Also tried the Chirashi, which is unusual for us. It contained an excellent assortment of fish, not the usual 3 or 4 different types. This is also the only sushi restaurant where all of the sushi chefs are female. They do a fantastic job.

The prices are not cheap but not any more expensive that a good sushi restaurant. The service is also top notch. This place never disappoints!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Food was not as good as it used to be. Service was good and staff very kind and gracious. Tempura batter was nice and light, but sushi was not as good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Dining also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Tokyo Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.