We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coal fired Pizza and Wings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pompeii Pizza

Pompeii Pizza
2134 Park Avenue, Orange Park, FL
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 199 Restaurants in Orange Park
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Coal fired Pizza and Wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great place for some good coal fired pizza and wings. The owner is very friendly and comes by to greet you. This is got to be the best place to enjoy good friends and family. The atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Coal fired pizza. Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Little neighborhood restaurant that has great coal fired pizza. Varied menu other than pizza but the pizza pretty awesome. You can mix and match toppings. Service was very good. Definitely a good place to go with family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pizza and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Pompeii is one of our favorite places to eat in Orange Park. We almost always order pizza, but all of the food we have tasted is fresh and delicious. The staff is quite friendly, and remembers us even though we only dine at Pompeii once or twice a month. We are lucky to have Pompeii as an option for eating out. I have to qualify the choice I made when asked by TripAdvisor, "Is this one of the best meals you've ever had in a restaurant?" by noting that we travel and eat out a lot, so it isn't really fair to ask me if this is one of the best meals ever. But I would say YES, one of the best meals ever in Orange Park!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good pizza, great salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Coal fired Pizza and salad exceptional. Location is wonderful and safe area with great parking. Sometime a little noisey.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Really good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The only thing keeping me from giving this place five stars is the physical aesthetics of the dining room. (Also, I'm trying to avoid "grade inflation" on TripAdvisor).

The pizza is the best we've found in Orange Park. Thin crust with an excellent sauce and obviously fresh ingredients. Definitely worth paying the small premium over the chains. We have also tried the lasagna and other dishes on the menu and haven't found a clunker yet.

As for service, we walked in about 10 minutes before closing and were greeted warmly and assured that our business was important and that it would be no trouble at all to serve us. And, they did. With no sense of being rushed or that the staff was in any way troubled by our late arrival. Our waiter said "Hey, if the door's not locked come on in and we'll take care of you."

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompeii Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Pompeii Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompeii Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.