We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They gave our room away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Wells Road, Orange Park, FL 32073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Orange Park
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“They gave our room away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed there before and had been very happy. But this trip, despite a confirmation letter. They gave our room away because they were overbooked. When you have been traveling for 14 hours from the UK, this is not what you want to hear! They refunded our money and paid for us to stay at the rather rundown and dated Best Western on the side of the interstate. Definitely not like for like... So next time I will book elswhere

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxco051508, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard- Jacksonville/Orange Park, FL. We strive to provide our guests with the service and accomodations Marriott Courtyard guests expect and deserve. I apologize that we were forced to relocate you during your stay. Our goal is to honor all of our incoming guests requests, especially guaranteed reservations, but due to unexpected and uncontrollable events we rarely are forced to relocate some guests. I am sorry that the property were relocated your reservation to was not satisfactory. We will look elsewhere in the future when being forced to relocate guests. Since you have stayed with us in the past and have been satisfied, I would hope that you would return to be our guest in the future, should your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
12
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hayden, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I attended a seminar at the Orange Park Marriott and felt the hotel was a little over priced. I know most people on business trips don't worry about the price, but when you're self-employed and pay your own way, it makes a difference. The location was ok, but there was not many restaurants within walking distance. At least the room was clean though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxco051508, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard- Jacksonville/Orange Park, FL. We strive to provide our guests with the service and accomodations Marriott Courtyard guests expect and deserve. I am happy to see that your stay here was pleasant. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future, should your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently finished a 13-day stay at this Courtyard for a business trip. The location was ideal for my daily commute (<15 minutes door-to-door) and very convenient to many restaurants near or at the Orange Park Mall. My room was on the second floor overlooking the back parking lot and the swimming pool. I prefer a higher floor (this hotel has 5 floors) as I like to keep my windows open to let in the natural light, but I did not feel comfortable doing this here because people at the swimming pool or in parking lot could look in, esp. at dusk. When I checked in, there were two wedding parties and a sports group at the hotel, so they did not have a room available for me on a higher floor. It took until about the fourth day for me to be bothered by the noise of the train tracks nearby. The exercise room had two treadmills, an elliptical machine, and a weights machine. Although there were towels for use, there was no water cooler. If you wanted to refill your water bottle for your workout, you'd have to refill at the water fountain outside the restrooms across from the exercise room. I only did that once because I did not like the taste of the water. I also found out from the maid that they no longer issued lotion, just shampoo and conditioner, due to budget cuts. So, bring your own bottle of lotion. My room had a microwave and a mini-fridge. I thought to keep a single serving cup of ice cream in the teeny freezer, but that was not cold enough to keep the ice cream frozen.

Overall, this was a good stay. The staff are very friendly. Full breakfast is $7.95 and they always had crisp bacon, which I enjoyed. Eggs can be made to order. There was a good variety of fruit available. If I return to Jacksonville on business, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: 5th floor if you like to keep your windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxco051508, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard- Jacksonville/Orange Park, FL. We strive to provide our guests with the service and accomodations Marriott Courtyard guests expect and deserve. I am happy to see that your stay here was pleasant. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future, should your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate Thank you. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The facility is very nice however; the walls are paper thin. If you plan to get a good night's rest, do not bother staying at this hotel. I could hear EVERYTHING going on in the hall, in other hotel rooms, and not to mention that there is a train track right behind the hotel! I heard the repeted slamming of doors until late into the night. I woke up exhausted!! This was a work-related trip so, again, I do not recommend this location at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxco051508, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard- Jacksonville/Orange Park, FL. We strive to provide our guests with the service and accomodations Marriott Courtyard guests expect and deserve. I appreciate the input regarding your stay. I apologize for any noise related issued you may have encountered.

Report response as inappropriate Thank you. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Meeting Lee, the Auditor, was wonder way to end a otherwise horrible travel day. The hotel is very nice, clean and up to date. The location was great for my purposes, but it was the interaction with the staff made all the difference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxco051508, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard- Jacksonville/Orange Park, FL. We strive to provide our guests with the service and accomodations Marriott Courtyard guests expect and deserve. I am happy to see that your stay here was pleasant. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future, should your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this location. Staff at check in was good treated with a smile and recognized for status. Checkout was smooth also with the exception that they didn't slide paper under the door. When I asked they explained a person on crushes worked the night before which was the reason. Hmmm... Ok well then what would that person do if there was an emergency? Just a thought. Staff allowed us use of a meeting room for a few hours since not in use, which always helps our business out. There is no bistro at this location but they do have a full service breakfast, market and bar for additional convenience. Walk 10 minutes east or west direction and you will get to all the chain restaurants. Housekeeping did ok, I saw hairs that were not mine on the bathroom floor, tile and inside the sink. Location of this hotel is also a plus. About a half mile west is river road. Which I took advantage of and ran to and from for 3 of the days. The hotel is also far enough from traffic which made for some great nights sleep and quiet evenings. Pool and jacuzzi are outdoors and not heated. Great exercise room and meeting rooms. The wifi is terrible in the evenings and not "wired for business" like other courtyards when the hotel is full as it was when I was there. I even had to call the helpline once to get online. Be prepared for that... I just woke up earlier and had no problems. I would stay here again. Video on YouTube Chanel. Thanks for reading.

Pros:
- Location
- Staff

Cons:
- No Bistro
- Internet

RetiredArmyRANGER

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxco051508, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard- Jacksonville/Orange Park, FL. We strive to provide our guests with the service and accomodations Marriott Courtyard guests expect and deserve. I am happy to see that your stay here was pleasant. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future, should your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a very nice, clean and modern hotel. Rooms are nice and big, with plenty of room to stretch out. Big comfy bed and soft pillows. There is a full breakfast, complete with a gal that will cook your eggs to order, but it costs $7.95. It appears it is mostly for the business class, but my husband and I enjoyed our stay. Close to the expressway, easy to get around with lots of shopping nearby. The staff was OK, not as friendly as they could be. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxco051508, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard- Jacksonville/Orange Park, FL. We strive to provide our guests with the service and accomodations Marriott Courtyard guests expect and deserve. I am happy to see that your stay here was pleasant. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future, should your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park Hotel Orange Park
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park Hotel
Address: 610 Wells Road, Orange Park, FL 32073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Orange Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Orange Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* 5 floors, 115 rooms * 4 meeting rooms; 4,530 sq. ft. of total meeting space * Located off I-295 and minutes to NAS JAX, Orange Park Medical Center and world-class golf * affordable and healthy breakfast served every morning * Free high-speed Internet throughout the hotel * Non-smoking and ADA accessible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Orange Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.