We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alling House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alling House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Alling House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 E. French Ave., Orange City, FL 32763   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Orange City
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed in the Frontier Cottage and it was absolutely perfect! They thought of everything, down to milk/OJ in fridge, extra toothbrushes and razors in the bathroom, bubble bath, DVDs to watch, books to read, CDs to listen to, porch swing. There was even a computer with internet access in the cottage. The list goes on! I also must say, the pictures on their website don't do it justice.

Room Tip: The Frontier Cottage was fantastic, very private, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Other innkeepers ( and hoteliers ! ) should learn from Gerald and Nan, the owners of Alling House. I hesitated to write a review because I so fell in love with this place that I don't want to run the risk that they'll always be booked whenever I want to stay again ! ( Which will be soon ! ) Used a Living Social coupon to stay for 2 nights which included a bottle of sparkling cider, full hot breakfast either served in the dining room or delivered to your room or cottage, chocolate-covered strawberries and full use of the guesthouse's kayaks to go out on the St. John's River. We stayed in the "nature cottage". Decorated beautifully and so clean one could have eaten off of the hardwood floors. King size four poster bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Cottages come with full kitchens, walk-in stone showers, decks and washer/dryers. Grounds are perfectly kept and the cottages are snug and so quiet that except for the sound of crickets outside, one could hear a pin drop. Within 35 miles of downtown Orlando in quaint Orange City, FL , this is truly the best place to stay in the entire Orlando metropolitan area.

Room Tip: If you want privacy and the ability to play or stereo or the TV at a loud volume, ask for one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, FL
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a great place to stay. We have been staying here for about 3 yrs and have never been disappointed. Nan & Gerald are wonderful and do everything to make your stay memorable. The rooms are all lovely and the cottages are great! This place is wonderful for a romantic getaway or a family outing. Don't skip out on breakfast, it's always enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the Rose is very roomy and all the cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We stayed in the frontier themed cottage on the property and loved it! Every detail was considered in making us feel at home and in decorating the cottage to it's theme. The cottage was spotless, and the family was so accommodating.

Orange City is a small town, but it's a great place to visit if you are interested in the outdoors and want to spend timed at Blue Springs state park or on the St. Johns River. The family has bikes and kayaks you can borrow. There is also a quaint little downtown area in nearby Deland that has some cute shops, restaurants and bars.

This place serves as a great weekend getaway, whether you are traveling as a couple or with kids. Nan and Gerald are amazing hosts!

Room Tip: Would recommend the cottages. They are spacious and private and have everything you'd need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed here on a Groupon and it was amazing!! We took this trip for our birthday trip and had a blast!! First we rode the bikes provided by the Alling House to Blue Springs and had a nice time there, you can also kayak and Gerald will bring the kayaks there. Gerald recommended an awesome Thai Place in Deland and we had an very good dinner.

Our Frontier Cottage was amazing!! It was a very romantic stay a awesome room with a two person jet tub. Breakfast was wonderful!! I hope to stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My fiance surprised me with a weekend getaway at the Alling House. It was perfect. We stayed at the Nature cottage and everything was perfect. Nan & Gerald were very welcoming. Breakfast was delicious. The place is just so clean, neat, and perfect decorated. It is a few miles away from Blue Springs State Park. We went on the river cruise, hiking, kayaking, and swiming. The cottage had a room for our kids with bunk beds. It gave us the opportunity to spend a lot of family time. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. look online at the website and choose the most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Relaxing, peaceful stay; we stayed in one of the cottages which was very well thought out. You have the option of cooking or going out, however do not miss the wonderful breakfast served by Nan and Gerald. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 215 E. French Ave., Orange City, FL 32763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Orange City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Orange City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Alling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alling House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.