We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
1024 Saxon Boulevard, Near the Intersection of Saxon Boulevard and Medical Center Drive, Orange City, FL 32763 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
386-775-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Orange City
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The barbecue was unappealing. The pulled pork was steamer-tray wet. The cornbread was overcooked (even if they tried to bake it in a cast iron skillet for verve, it was still overcooked). The ribs were not done! They were tough and had sauce slapped on them. Obviously this is one of those chains that boils their meat, places sauce on top and calls it barbecue. Blech! Don't waste your money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Bar-B-Q Close to Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A Bar-B-Q chain restaurant that consistantly serves great Bar-B-Q. Service always pleasant, food always good and close to home makes for a guaranteed great (or afternoon) out!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sonny's, yum....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Sonny's is always a good choice for BBQ. This Particular one has a good charm to it. The food is as good as any other. The servers are personable, and the parking lot is plentiful. Sweet sauce is the best.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, FL
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“One of the Worst Sonny's BBQ places I have visited..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My Sister and I were headed off to see a movie at the new Theaters in Deltona and decided we would stop by Sonny's (her choice) for a quick bite to eat before the movie. She promised me this is a great Sonny's restaurant..

We arrived around 1pm, the place was not busy at all, no one in front of us, and we could see plenty of empty tables. But we stood there for almost 10 minutes before someone came to seat us at a table.

Waitress took our drink order, then after 10 more minutes. had to flag her down to take our order, as we were losing precious time.

We both got the Sliced Pork Big Deal sandwiches, I ordered a Sweet Potato as my side and she got Coleslaw. When our meals arrived, I cut into the Sweet Potato and immediately knew it was bad, as instead of being a nice bright orange color, it was brown and mushy, and when I tried it - UGH!! Since all of our delays in seating and ordering, we were on a tight schedule, so did not send it back, but could not eat it. Our Pork Sandwiches had an ample amount of meat, but we both looked at each other, as it was so dry it looked like chipped beef. So we lathered it up with sauce, ate as quick as we could and she apologized for it being so bad...

We had to flag down our waitress to get our bill and needless to say we were 15 minutes late for our movie - luckily the previews are that long..

So, have to say, this Sonny's BBQ was a big disappointment and would never return if in the area. Also had to report the bad experience to our family members who dine at this location often, who were as well shocked and stated, that guess we never should go to this place after 12:30 pm as you get old dried out food.

Wish my Sister would have listened to me and we tried the Woody's BBQ in the area!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbott, tn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just good food, good service, always clean, and a decent salad bar

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 
Orange City, FL
Orange City, FL
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.