We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Outdoor patio.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Cafe

Red Roof Cafe
300 S. Volusia Ave., Orange City, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 76 Restaurants in Orange City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor patio.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate on the outdoor patio with a great breeze due to a gigantic fan. The outdoor seating is good for people watching.
The food was good but not great and the wait staff was slow. We waited a while just for water. It is in a great location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, home atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Home atmosphere but the serving staff could have had better customer service by managing time better.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the Cookie Monster fool you!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place advertised breakfast all day so after looking at the menu for an unusually long time (while we waited on our waitress to sort out family issues with her sister who randomly came in asking for help), we were informed that breakfast had already stopped for the day. We then decide on grilled chicken sandwiches. Mine was supposed to have pineapple on top. They decided to give me a bowl of slimy mandarin oranges instead without first asking if it was ok. My side was sweet potato fries which looked like they had been sitting in the bottom of the fryer for days and they didn't taste any better. Once we finished our meal we had to wait for our waitress to come back from her smoke break to get our check. She stood over our table with her hands on her hips waiting for us to fill out the tip amount on the receipt. Overall this was an awful experience

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

In all fairness I mentioned to the waitress that we were in a hurry and our food was prepared and served quickly. However, the French fries were cold and my friend's Rueben sandwich was soppy wet------apparently the cook didn't drain the sauerkraut. When she sent it back, the waitress said they would comp for it------they did----they took $1.00 off the bill!!!!! So. I don't think we'll be going back there------They should have comped for the inedible sandwich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply Diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick bite to eat. Selection was limited but we found the two dishes we selected as "good": meat loaf with beef gravy & real "mashed" potatoes; blackened fish with wonderful cooked broccoli & "snappy" green beans. Best part of meal was the corn muffins which I ate for dessert. Added to the obviance were 2 oldtimers strumming on their guitars. Not too many folks dining but maybe the old building scared them away. Kudos to the cook, waiter & staff!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Roof Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Red Roof Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.