We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropi Shack

Tropi Shack
2000 North Volusia Ave., Orange City, FL 32763
386-774-9116
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 77 restaurants in Orange City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lakeland, FL
2 reviews
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stopped at Tropi Shack on way to camping at Blue Spring SP, we were so impressed with the selection and family friendly atmosphere we had lunch there again three days later on our way home. Philly Cheese Steak, Pizza Sub and Chicken Salad Sub were all amazing. $27 for three meals, plus ice cream, way better value and taste then the over $30 it costs us to eat at a low quality chain restaurant. Our five year loved the rather unique kids play area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    9
    4
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Cuban sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Who new that you could find such a good Cuban sandwich in little Orange City! Impressive. I tried the tropical Cuban and really enjoyed it. Ask for the homemade hot sauce - nice slow burn and doesn't mask any other flavors. Service was great and we sat outside. Nice, casual and delicious. What more could you ask for

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the place to go for an authentic Cuban Sandwich, and awesome black beans and rice.
We loved the awesome service and will look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.
We haven't tried the ice cream yet but were told that they were going to be offering sugar free flavors, yay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, pricey but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The sandwiches are fantastic and the rice/beans to die for! The ice cream is over priced for what you get but I'd eat there regardless. The owner is a really nice man and very friendly! Aims to please!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy, friendly, and cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stopped at the Tropi-Shack on a whim. Though there was no three cheese sub on the menu, the chef/owner got behind our idea 100% and made up a super tasty sub. The price was very reasonable for a combo (sandwich, soda, and one side) at about $7. These folks have done a great job making the shack cute and cheerful. Seating is available inside and out. We look forward to going back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropi Shack also viewed

 
Orange City, FL
 

Been to Tropi Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropi Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.