We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure in the middle of nowhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solomon's Castle

Solomon's Castle
4533 Solomon Road, Ona, FL 33865
863-494-6077
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home and working studio of Howard Solomon, an internationally known sculptor, features the artist's works plus landscaped gardens and nature trails.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Treasure in the middle of nowhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

What a fun trip to see the castle and works of art. Mr. Solomon has been making works of whimsical art out of recycled materials for over 40 years. He is 80 years old and a man ahead of his time. He still makes things in this workshop and stopped to talk to us. Of course he amused us with his puns about the tire horse. This is a family business and I highly recommend that you visit it while you can still see Howard.

The restaurant (Boat in a Moat) had good food that was reasonably priced. We ate under oak trees on the patio. It was such a nice experience.

There are no tours in June, July, and August as well as all Mondays. The heat of the summer is not the time to visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    53
    17
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Eclectic Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A group of friends visited the Castle on Tuesday and also had a bite to eat in the restaurant. The collection of "art" that he has made is truly amazing. Our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining and characterizing each piece of art with storytelling and humor. His abilities in metal sculptures represent a unique talent; stained glass designs are beautiful; wood pictures and furniture are like none that I have ever seen. We were privileged to talk with him in his workshop which is amazing. The food in the restaurant was excellent. You don't want to miss this opportunity. The castle was built by this amazing man!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ona, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Florida MUST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Solomon's Castle is a unique and wonderful experience. Whether you visit once or once a month, Howard, Dean, and Alane will make it a warm and friendly "local" experience. Don't miss out on the full effect and order the Lily Lime dessert!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webster, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Back again with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Loved it again. Perfect day to investigate this adventure with sons
GPS the address helps to locate. Thanks

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique place in the middle of no where!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Took the advice of a friend and drove out to see this! Pretty drive from St. Petersburg. This castle is located in the middle of no where among orange groves. We enjoyed lunch outside -be ware-they don't take credit cards! Food was excellent. We were amazed that people were allowed to have their dogs with them. Not too sure I liked that! We enjoyed the tour -wish we could have spent more time in the rooms enjoying the unique art. Our tour guide was great and we enjoyed his humor.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solomon's Castle also viewed

 
Zolfo Springs, FL
Arcadia, Central Florida
 

Been to Solomon's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solomon's Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.