We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a Great time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier II Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pier II Resort to your Saves list
Pier II Resort
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2200 US Highway 441 SE, Okeechobee, FL 34974   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Okeechobee
Rockport, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a Great time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I just want to say it was a Great time. The staff is friendly, helpful, and professional, the rooms are clean and well stocked, and my husband and I were treated like a king and queen, I have a problem with not being organized before going on a trip. I called there and spoke to Tracy and she made me feel very comfortable before we left on this trip.
We are a boating and fishing couple, and the accommodations included a nice large dock with electric,and a boat ramp, within easy walking distance. My husband loved it because he could launch the boat right from their location. He also caught a large bass off the dock the first day. They also directed us to some fine dining areas that were amazing. We went several times to the lounge of course, and Chris was very friendly. Maybe the weather could have been better, but we had a great time, and will recommend Pier II Resort to anyone.
We will be back next year.
Trish and Mike Wilson

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    5
    9
    7
See reviews for
9
12
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polk City, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place was disgusting... Ants crawling everywhere... Bed linens torn and disgusting... Mattress stained... Walls stained... Carpet filthy. Internet doesn't reach most rooms and doesn't work the majority of the time... Even their TV service went down. The locks on the doors are ancient and totally un-secure. Need we say more?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baden, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a joke. This place is filthy and infested with bugs and cockroaches. No since in taking a shower because you are just as dirty when you get out. If you have a reservation cancel it, if you don't have one don't make one!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been past this hotel many times and thought it looked quite nice. I booked it for a friend and I to stay recently and found it to be not quite as nice up close. They need to maintain the property and rooms much better. The highlight of the stay was meeting "Joe". He is the alligator that lives under the bar and comes out when the water hose sprays into the water. I hope that "Joe" behaves and doesn't end up getting into trouble because of stupid people. Although improvements need to be made, I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Billing incompetence; facility and customer care issues.

Billing: Stayed 1 night, charged for 2 nights. (2 nights incorrectly charged to credit card on 1st and only night's stay - not at end of stay, 'tho I told the registrar told we may only stay 1 night). When left (after 1 overnight) the desk personnel initially said a credit would be issued for the 2nd night. The credit never occurred. When the merchant was contacted after a credit card bill was received, the merchant said the credit card charge couldn't be reversed without 'corporate' approval, and that would probably take several weeks. Instead, a future stay of two free-nights was offered. My reply: Not an option, since I have no plans to be in Okeechobee again (and, I would never stay at Pier II Resort again anyway).

Facility: Very dated. Purported 'view' is non-existent. Continental breakfast = coffee, boxed goodies (cupcakes and muffins). Overnight, ants completely covered dog's dry dog food.

Customer care: My friend fell at the entrance as getting into car to leave. Personnel responded upon request and as directed. No particular concern expressed or displayed. (She actually sustained a small fracture of the hip.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Myself and several friends stayed at Pier II last weekend as a home base for our two day - 125 mile bicycle ride around Lake Okeechobee. We selected Pier II because of the friendly welcome we received from Cathy on an exploratory visit. We also valued the location as it is easy to find for all of our travelers, and it actually has waterfront with fishing pier/dock and of course the over the water lounge. And - for cyclists this resort is less than five minutes from the Okeechobee recreational ail, which means you don't have to fight with cars to get to the trail! Guests will also discover a great place to eat right across the street at the Rim Ditch Cafe...the friendliest place to eat in Okeechobee - we will never forget the famous okeechobee burgers! Pier II accommodated all of our needs...Cathy, Mark, Steven and Dawn were all awesome and seemed truly interested in our two-wheeled adventure and welcomed us back at the end of our 125 mile ride around the lake. We liked it so much we stayed an extra day, spent some more time in the waterfront lounge and were warmly welcomed by the locals who know that this the place to be in Okeechobee!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

For the past 14 years, I have organized a winter motorcycle ride for several firefighters and friends. Our group members come from VA, NC, GA and of course FL. Whenever travelling through Okeechobee, we have always stayed at the Pier II Resort. Over the last several years, we have seen a decline in the property and service. However, this past January, I had the opportunity to sit down with the new management team from the Barryfield Hotel Group and discuss our visit for 2013. Stephen, the front desk clerk, advised me of the improvements currently being made to the property. He also gave me a number to get in touch with Dawn, the General Manager. I called Dawn and she reiterated the commitment made by the Hotel Group to bring the Motel back to Resort Status. She gave us a fair price for accommodations and we agreed once again to make a stop in Okeechobee. Upon arrival and check in we were greeted by Kathy the front desk clerk. She was very helpful and pleasant. As we were unpacking our bikes, Dawn , along with Larry the Director from Barryfield, and Mark from Maintenance came out to the parking lot to also welcome us. I feel very confident this team will return The Pier II Resort to the Resort Status it enjoyed years ago. They have made a lot of much needed changes. The rooms are clean. The amenities are adequate. The Staff is Outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweedyd, Manager at Pier II Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Fire Ph0enix,
Thank You for the good review. We were very excited when you pulled into the lot. We all love to hear the sound of LOUD PIPES. I hope you return next year here @ The Pier II Resort. We are doing our best to make THE PIER II RESORT , THE BEST KEPTY SECERT IN OKEECHOBEE.
I hope you all had a save trip home. Hope to see you next year.
Thank You,
Dawn Stephenson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier II Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier II Resort

Address: 2200 US Highway 441 SE, Okeechobee, FL 34974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Okeechobee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Okeechobee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pier II Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier II Resort is Okeechobee's only hotel on the lake! Boaters enjoy our pier, boat ramp access, and huge parking area with electrical hookups. Families will love our pier, wildlife, and wonderful pool area. At Pier II Resort there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Pier II Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Ii Hotel Okeechobee
Pier Ii Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier II Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.