We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to stay in Okeechobee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 US Hwy 441 South, Okeechobee, FL 34974   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Okeechobee
Grapevine, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in Okeechobee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed 4 nights last week while on personal business in Okeechobee. Before the Holiday Inn Express was built, I HAD to stay at the other hotels in the area, and was sorely disappointed. Hands-down, the Holiday Inn Express is the Gem of Okeechobee! The location is perfect. The front desk staff were very professional, helpful, but the staff that stole the show were Betty and Gladys in the breakfast area. They made you feel like you were at home. The breakfast quality and selection was superior to any other chains offering FREE breakfast and a very large sitting area with sofa and large flat-panel TV. There was a nice pool and hot tub, but the hot tub wasn't hot! After a 12 hour drive, I was looking forward to relaxing there. This was my only concern, that when you advertise you have a hot tub, it should be working and hot, year-round. The cost of my room is supposed to include all the amenities advertised, and I, as a frequent traveler, rely on website information and choose hotels based on their amenities, especially for a brand new facility.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk how full they are first. Then ask the front desk not to put you next to anyone or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for your review,
How is TEXAS? Gladys and Betty are still here with us and we are awaiting your next visit!
Holding a room for you here at HIE in Okeechobee Florida
Jeannie Rhoden and staff at HIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
12
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

stopped here in September for 4 nights on our way from the everglades back to orlando. Rooms were as you expect from a holiday inn - clean, coffee maker and toiletries provided.

very impressed with the coffee and freshly baked cookies in the foyer - the smell wafted around and we found we couldn't resist.

Found out our mobiles wouldn't work in US and needed to contact the UK. The receptionist, JOSH, was brilliant - he googled the company we needed, obtained their email address and sent them a message. The next day he contacted us with the reply - This saved us $25 dollars for 5 minutes on a phone call. Nothing was too much trouble for Josh who even supplied us with a discount card for a nearby 'cowboy bar' with great food.

Only slight downside was the size of the pool - not big enough to have a swim in, although the tiny frogs (after a downpour) thought so!!

We don't expect to be in the area again but if we were we would definately use this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Its been a while since your last stay. We are holding a room for you, book today and save.
Jeannie Rhoden and staff at HIE Okeechobee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stay here for business when working in the area. Jeanne and all the front desk staff are excellent, as is all the staff I have come in contact with. I have been staying there for four years and will continue to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have microwave and refrigerator. The "Suites" also are a little bigger and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
It's been a while since your last stay. Hope to see you again real soon.
Jeannie Rhoden and staff at HIE OKeechobee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here before for business in Okeechobee and enjoyed it each time. The place appears very new. Rooms are comfortable and clean. This last stay, they gave me room with a Sleep Number bed which I had never slept on before. It was fun to try the different settings before I found the one I liked.

Jeannie was the front desk clerk when I checked in at 10:00 pm and she had everything ready upon my arrival. She was very helpful. Breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn setup with hot eggs, sausage and such plus they had a pancake machine. More importantly, they had those awesome cinnamon rolls, which I love.

All in all, a very nice place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Okeechobee is growing leaps and bounds.... make a reservation to check us out again...
Thank You
Jeannie Rhoden and HIE staff in Okeechobee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast is amazing! Automatic pancake maker! They could honor Internet price of AAA discount so a little pricey. But stayed an extra night even with other options in the area. Staff is very helpful & brought my pillow to front desk that I left behind.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
Okeechobee has grown a lot since your last stay. Book a reservation with our front desk staff, myself or Sherry would love to see you!
Jeannie Rhoden and HIE staff in Okeechobee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express when my a/c was out and I had a very nice stay. the room was comfortable and close to the fron door. they have a nice pool and a great breakfast with the best cinnamon rolls. thank you holiday inn express Okeechobee. I would highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Florida is one HOT state! A/C problems are never fun!
But i bet that cool A/C in your room at Holiday Inn Express felt good!
Hope to see you again very soon, but for a night get away!
Jeannie Rhoden and HIE staff in Okeechobee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I got a room for my relatives who came to stay from Illinois. They were very happy with the staff and Jeff helped us with how to best see Lake Okeechobee. There is a nice pool and hot tub along with the nice Holiday Inn Breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 226 King Suite Best In The Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeannie r, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank You for your review,
Okeechobee is my hometown and I have traveled most of the USA and I just keep coming back here! We have wonderful people here nad it continues to grow and bring more and more to our little town!
We have not seen you in a while, time to book another reservation!
Myself or Sherry would love to set it up for you!
Jeannie Rhoden and staff at HIE OKeechobee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 3101 US Hwy 441 South, Okeechobee, FL 34974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Okeechobee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Okeechobee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Okeechobee is the newest Hotel in Lake Okeechobee area, featuring interior corridors, fitness center, business center, complimentary continential breakfast, complimentary high speed internet, and meeting rooms catering to 50 peole. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool. Close to all businesses and attractions. Visit Okeechobee, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Okeechobee
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Okeechobee
Okeechobee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.