We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lightsey's

Lightsey's
10430 Rte. 78 W, Okeechobee, FL 10430
863-763-4276
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 restaurants in Okeechobee
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My sister and I read about this place and thought we would try it. We where disapointed the food was high priced for a place out of the way it realy wasnt on the water but near it. After looking at the menu we dicded to just have dirnks and appitizers. we got the crab cakes they had a lot of crab meat but kind of bland and the fried greenish tomato on top was where not so great. We wont be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    53
    39
    25
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Attendorn, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You should try the alligator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

They have a lot of different dishes: catfish, oysters, cajun shrimp... but you should try the alligator, that way you can really have a "local experience". They would serve it with bread and fries, and be sure to add some Tabasco sauce.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don is the MAN(ager) at Lightsey's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Beyond the deliciousness of catfish finger filets, hush puppies, oysters, fried greenish tomatoes, margarita's, and blueberry and peach cobbler topped with ice cream... Don the manager and his staff are exceptional. My mom and I fell in love with this quaint home-style cookin' and can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Restaurant and Marina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have been to Lightsey's many times for really good home-style seafood. A family-owned restaurant with local color and culture. Don't get in a hurry. No one gets in a hurry in Okeechobee. The restaurant sits in a very large park on the Kissimmee canal near Buckhead Ridge. It is a fantastic place to sit back and watch the wild life come out at dusk and to watch the gorgeous sunsets.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant near Okeechobee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went on Mother's Day, the food was great especially the Cajun Shrimp and Fried Gator. Also ordered Oysters on the half shell which we enjoyed. Fried Oysters and Fried Catfish dinner plates was also enjoyable. All food was served hot. Camille the waitress was very friendly and filled drinks and requests very quickly. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was the pricing was expensive which could be because of its out of the way location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lightsey's also viewed

 

Been to Lightsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lightsey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.