We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for an affordable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Motel

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Motel to your Saves list
Flamingo Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
4101 Highway 441 South, Okeechobee, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Okeechobee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience for an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I chose one of the less expensive accommodations available on a holiday weekend, in a rural town I had never been to, known for their fishing, hunting, cattle handling and sugar cane crops. I was expecting a broken down place, smelly but hoping sheets and towels would at least look clean. I was pleasantly surprised (and ashamed of my presumptions). The motel room was very large (perfect to fit us four adults), it was really non'smoking (no smell), towels and sheets were perfectly white and clean. It even had a sofa convertible to bed. NO BUGS at all!!!! We enjoyed the pool, the breakfast, and the very pleasant and funny Robert at the front desk. my teen kids did not use Wifi but it was available and free of charge. It will definitely be our regular stay whenever we go back to Okeechobee.
The only things I hope they change is some blankets with burn holes (we only noticed when making our beds in the morning) and that they add cream cheese with breakfast. Not crucial, but would be a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
2
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night before going hog hunting. The rooms were clean and pleasant. Staff was hospitable and helpful. I have nothing bad to say. It certainly isn't a high end hotel but I would definitely say it was worth the value and I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

There would be many choices in this area of Florida. I attended an event called the Swamp Bash put on by a club I belong to in both Florida and Vermont. Obviously, This is the Florida branch of an organization that exists around the world.

However, as I told the man at checkout time Sunday morning, this motel, located between Mcdonalds and a Best Western is right up there in my book. There are amenities that even more known motels and hotels don't offfer. A microwave oven, a small refrigerator, a hair dryer, even an ironing board and an iron. An outdoor pool, good cable,good television, two double beds, very comfortable indeed. We were there on a package price but I am sure the Flamingo is competitive year round.

My club chooses many times to plan and provide its own meals. The Flamingo Motel is obviously most accomodating....with an outdoor portable set up for cooking and a community room.located next to an outdoor swimming pool. Needless to say, I arrived reasonably early on Friday and was in the pool by three p m. Might I add that there is a Golden corral about two miles north of the Flamingo, also on 441 South. I went there for Sunday breakfast.

I've lived in Florida now nine years and counting. I'm already planning to attend the next event in Bradenton in November so hopefully I will provide a review there as well.

Room Tip: There are two two storey buildings. Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently enjoyed myself immensely at the Flamingo Motel. 1. The continental breakfast served in the lobby was much better than many other motels, 2. everyone was friendly, 3. my tv control didn't work properly, but it wasn't a big deal since I was only there for a weekend and not in the room much, 4. I liked my room with the small balcony and although I waited for an alligator to crawl out of the small body of water my room overlooked, I never saw one there, 5. Some people in my group took the airboat ride around the swamp and saw gators and wildlife, which was a good experience; 6. I couldn't avail myself of the different fishing spots as I was too busy. 7. The papaya tree near my room was full of fruit, 8. McDonalds was across the road. The price was right. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the small patio, if you're so inclined to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Clean and affordable. Good staff that will go out of their way to help. Restaurants and grocery stores close. McDonalds and Garrards tackle shop next door. Okeechobee Fishing Headquarters about a mile and a half away.

Room Tip: If your fishing and have a boat ask for a room on the north side. They have spaces where you can sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the flamingo motel from march 28-april 5 2012. The price for the week was $256 and this included the con. Breakfast (danish,cereal,coffee, juice, and oatmeal). Overall it has been a very good experience, very clean (no bed bugs, infact we never saw even a fly in our room) and best of all, very quiet at night. Everyone was very friendly. Mcdonalds is right beside the flamingo and is open 24hrs, however the service at mcdonalds is vey slow. If your going to okeechobee, then the flamingo is a must stay, half price of every other motel/hotel in the area. Ohh yeah, and the pool was nice also.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I had a very nice week. Frenidly all of the help. The room worked for me. . I am sorry all of the neg. thing wrote. Go find out for your self.

Room Tip: Suite by the pool was happy and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 4101 Highway 441 South, Okeechobee, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Okeechobee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Okeechobee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Motel Okeechobee
Flamingo Hotel Okeechobee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.