We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fourth of July weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okeechobee KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okeechobee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okeechobee KOA
Save
You added Okeechobee KOA to your Saves list
4276 US Highway 441 South, Okeechobee, FL 34974   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great fourth of July weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at one of the pet friendly cabins w/o a bathroom. Our friends stayed in the cabin next to us. We stayed 3 nights and had an excellent time. At first I wasn't sure that we would be occupied for three days but we had a blast. The cabins are literately right next to the bath house which was always clean. We never had to wait to use the showers.The AC worked great and the beds were comfy. Although they say that they sleep four ( which they can) I think things would be a bit cramped with four people and their things in the cabin, but for two adults it was perfect. The adult pool was so much fun. They had a live band and even threw Jello Shots into the pool! We were by far some of the youngest people in the adult pool ( all 4 of us are in our early 40's but I'm sure the folks are are were with their families in the family pool) It didn't stop us from having a great time.The Shanty lounge has the coldest beer and its only 1.50$ per draft. The general store was a little less then we expected but luckily we didn't forget anything. The fire pits are really nice and have a grate for the top to be able to cook right on the fire. We are already planning a trip back in October.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in this particular cabin we were told that Cabins 1 and 2 had ceiling fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Came here excited to do some family swimming and fishing. The pools are separated so adults that want a cocktail by the pool while they watch their kids swim they are out of luck. The property has some serious flooding problems. The streets, fishing canals and golf course were covered with water after normal Florida summer showers. Several of the cabins and rv sites were water logged and inaccessible without rain boots. The checker board, putt putt golf area and shuffle board areas were covered with ant mounds and or puddles. The access to the golf course was flooded out. The park has the opportunity to be a good one if they address the bug issues, figure a way to improve drainage, and have more activities for the kids. We will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently completed our annual Memorial Day weekend visit to this KOA campground that is so much more than just a campground. All sites are concrete drives, with plenty of grass between. The best sites back up to the 9-hole golf course, and provide a great start to the day with a beautiful sunrise and lots of bird and wildlife watching. During the day, we partake in the numerous fun family activities in and around the large family pool, or cookouts and live music around the adult pool. Putt-putt is available, as are outdoor billiards, a nice playground, a dog park, a small indoor arcade, and the usual campground facilities. Those that cost a few bucks literally only cost a few, and many of them are fund raisers for charity. The kids are entertained all day, riding bikes, playing putt-putt, hitting the driving range, playing or fishing with new friends...when they're not in the swimming pool of course. As the sun goes down, new neighbors gather around fire pits and roast hot dogs and make smores, and the local bar near the adult pool is open for business until around 11pm with great drinks, fun locals, and often local live music. We haven't been to many places friendlier. Cabins are also available to rent, although we camped here in a motorhome.

Room Tip: If in a motorhome, pay a few bucks extra for the golf course fronted sites. Don't miss taking yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. We used both the family and the adult pools which were well kept and clean. There were quite a few long term residents in the area where we stayed and some of those sites could use to be cleaned up, a bit of junky looking stuff around the RV's and campers.

We didn't have the need to use the bat house. We will stay here again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We recently attended a rally along with over 380 rv's at this campground which has many good points. The club house is very nice and has a large kitchen. There is a nine-hole golf course on site as well as tennis courts, bocce ball courts shuffleboard and two swimming pools, one for adults and one for families. There is a camp store and snack bar as well as a pool-side pub named The Shanty. It's evident, however, that this park has been in existence for many years. Some of the sites only have 30 amp hookups, and the quality of the electric service is poor on some sites - low voltage and circuit breakers which could not handle the load. Some sites are built on extreme back to front slopes making it hard to level the rv's. With a few improvements to their infrastructure, this could be a top notch resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My family of four has enjoyed the Okeechobee KOA for years. This is NOT your State Park campground. All sites are cement drives with level sites. A picnic table is included with water and electric. For a fee, WiFi is available. The campground surrounds a 9 hole golf course. My husband enjoyed playing golf, while we enjoyed the family pool, mini golf, biking riding, ice cream socials etc. We travel with a fire pit and enjoy a small fire at night. This is a four season campground. The lack of shade is only a factor in summer and for those who know, there are a few trees for shade or you book an East facing site. As the campground is close to the Lake and an open pasture, biting insects can limit evening fires...this is Florida cow country. In the winter, there are two active flea markets within biking distance that offer a variety of fresh veggies and an assortment of crazy flea market finds. As adults traveling now without kids, we love the adult pool and live bands. Or we enjoy relaxing in this family friendly park.

Room Tip: We enjoy the shade and close proximity of sites located by the Adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our 2nd year as in-season campers. On 12/31 we had paid in full for 3 months till 3/31. Found out end of February that my mom has terminal cancer and I needed to go home asap. Asked office to refund 3rd month but was told NO REFUNDS, so I asked to apply 3rd month rent toward next year. Still told NO, so I asked to speak to Wendy, the manager. Office said she was in the park, but didn't know where. Left on 3/9 and never saw Wendy! We will never return to this corporate owned or ANY KOA again! Disgusting that they need to keep your money that bad!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okeechobee hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Okeechobee - Lake Okeechobee
0.7 mi away
Scottish Inns Okeechobee
Scottish Inns Okeechobee
#5 of 11 in Okeechobee
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Suites Lake Okeechobee
1.5 mi away
Pier II Resort
Pier II Resort
#6 of 11 in Okeechobee
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Okeechobee
BEST WESTERN Lake Okeechobee
#2 of 11 in Okeechobee
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okeechobee KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okeechobee KOA

Address: 4276 US Highway 441 South, Okeechobee, FL 34974
Location: United States > Florida > Okeechobee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Okeechobee
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest KOA, Okeechobee teems with fun-filled amenities for families and entire rallies. This tropical vacation resort features its own palm-fringed 9-hole golf course, driving range and putting green. Play tennis on four courts. Flex your muscles at the fitness center or soak in a pool: one for families, another for kids and a third for adults only. Fishing on Lake Okeechobee is a lure--and so is the kampground's social calendar filled with parades, parties and music events. Join in a Full Moon Bike Ride. Enjoy the Mardi Gras festivities, free Thanksgiving turkey and Christmas decorating contest. Swap fish stories over a cold one or enjoy live weekend entertainment at the Shanty Lounge. Golf cart rentals now available. Every day is special in paradise. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okeechobee KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.