We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good considering motel is older” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Okeechobee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Budget Inn Okeechobee to your Saves list
Budget Inn Okeechobee
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   201 S Parrott Ave, Okeechobee, FL 34974   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Okeechobee
Okeechobee, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good considering motel is older”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Have stayed here many times. Granted, the motel itself is older and has several features that are not on par with modern, newer establishments, specifically the size of the bathrooms. However, I took these items into consideration when staying here. The beds are very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and hardworking. They have continually upgraded the continental breakfast, taking into consideration peoples' requests and suggestions. They also constantly try to improve the rooms and service. Overall, I have been pleased with my stays here. The price was right for this type of establishment. It's not the Hilton, it's not meant to be. But, for a budget motel, it's not bad. If you want an inexpensive, satisfactory stay, I recommend it if you take its age into consideration before you go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Upon checking in at budget inn the room I was given was not ready when I checked in at two p.m. I had to wait. On top of that the next morning I woke up and there were roaches crawling on the wall! Upon check out I mentioned to the front desk about the roaches and all I got was "okay ill have someone spray" I will not stat at this hotel again its not clean enough and over priced!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The whole time we have been here, the continental breakfast has included expired food which has made most of our children sick!! Then when we go to complain the manager says "we can't help that!!" Bullcrap!! We ask why the pool is closed at five and they say because that is when they close it when most of the advertising inside the rooms say 7 and dusk! Bullcrap!! They haven't had the pool open since we got here Sunday the 30th. Then today we finally get to swim at the pool and we get out to eat lunch. when we start back to swim it is closed for a "private party" that's funny that the only hotel guests here are me and my family and the pool is closed for a private party!!! Bullcrap!! that's funny isn't a hotel pool only for the guests. they should not be having a private party for non guest right.. In each of the five rooms there is roaches, malfunctioning electrical problems, plumbing problems and the air conditioners are crappy. The staff are nice except for the snobby, rude manager. I do not recommend coming to this Budget Inn. it is not worth the money. This is bullCrap!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyM24, General Manager at Budget Inn Okeechobee, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We went out of our way to make you happy and feel at home. I don't understand if it was so bad why you stayed for 6 days. We clean our rooms everyday and are sprayed twice a month. When it was brought to our attention about the expired snacks we pulled them from the breakfast bar. When we have bad weather we have to shut the pool down by our inspector requirements. Thank you and if you have any questions please feel free to call Lisa General Manager at 863-763-3185.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel motel has an unsatisfactory ratio cost versus quality: room 110 needs decoration and repair, floor carpet smells, the atmosphere is dark, breakfast is miserable.
Some customers may find the location on the main road as convenient, but I did not because of the traffic.
The only positive point is the bed, or better the mattress.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyM24, Manager at Budget Inn Okeechobee, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am sorry you did not like your stay with us. We are always making improvements to our hotel. We always ask our guest when they are checking out if everything was ok with the room you should have let us know there was a problem. If you every come this way again please stop in and see us would love to show you a room before you check in and I have rooms on the backside away from the traffic. I hope to see you again would like for you to have a good stay with us. Thank you for your feed back so we can make more improvements to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

By giving this motel an "Average" rating, that is to say that is certainly adequate for a night or two stay. The room was clean and roomy enough. Although a bit dated, it was fine and not a problem. It is convenient to be able to park right outside your room and that's a plus for me when I have lots of luggage I need to lug into a room.

The clerks at the desk were quick to respond when we went into the very small office and rang the bell for attention. My biggest complaint is the lack of a hair dryer to use. We travel a lot and I don't believe we've ever stayed in a place that did not have at least a "loaner" for guests to use. I never bring a hair dryer on a trip anymore, because they are always available -- but, not at this budget Inn. The lady said they'd had too many hair dryers go missing when guests borrowed them. I suggested they at least take a deposit that would be returned to the guest when they brought back the hair dryer. Oh, well, I left the place with damp hair.

The continental breakfast was a wrapped bun, there was not even any coffee that morning. That was not a bother, because we didn't expect much in the way of breakfast there. We stopped by the McDonald's down the street.

If you're looking for a place to sleep as you travel through the Okeechobee area, this motel would certainly be adequate for your needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyM24, Manager at Budget Inn Okeechobee, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our page. I am glad you had a good stay with us. We are doing lots of improvements to our hotel all the time. We have put alot of work into our rooms. Would love to show you a room if you come to the area again and stay with us. Thank you and have a nice day from the staff of the Budget Inn of Okeechobee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hard to beat the Price of a large, clean room. Central location just off Busy South Parrott Ave. Walking distance to local American Legion Post where many friendly people hold weekly nightly events... Like Taco, Margarita night (thursday?) Friendly staff very knowledgeable about the local attractions etc. Average motel, parking limited but adequate. Would stay there again for location and value. If you hunt or fish with Ron's guide service mention them and you recieve a discounted price on your room.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to So. Parrott ave are a little bit noisy due to proximity of Ave. (close) Traffic, get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyM24, Manager at Budget Inn Okeechobee, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad my staff took care of you. Look forward to you stay with us again. Thank you from the staff of the Budget Inn of Okeechobee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry valley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

First of all they billed our credit card 4 days before stay. Check their cancellation policy-has to be cacelled the afternoon prior to your days stay or they bill you for a nights stay.First room they assigned us had no working fridge so they reluctantly allowed us to move. The new room had dust bunnies hanging from walls and ceiling. The microwave didnt work properly,the bathroom door frames were rotting, the toilet wasnt bolted to the floor and a million or so ants were travelling around the floor. The pool was shut down and not very nice looking,it is located next to a dog pen with a couple of dogs wandering in it. The lovely picnic area they show in photos is a battered up table sitting in a dirty area with an old upholstered chair. The continental breakfast was supposed to be served from 7 until---. We left at 7:10 and the office was still closed tight so not even a coffee for our money. Only booked here because it was one of the few places accepting dogs in the area and we paid $15 extra for that .At a total of 105 dollars with tax I would expext more. Wont be back

Room Tip: no room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyM24, Manager at Budget Inn Okeechobee, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We always try to hope our guest have a good stay with us, I am sorry your stay wasn't. During the winter time is when we do improvements to the pool area, so I am sorry you was not aware of the pool being closed. Also the pet area is for all guest with dogs so they can give them some running time. Its part of our pet friendly hotel. We have two bbq areas one by the pool and the other one is by room 112. Our breakfast is always open from 7 to 10 everyday. Again I am sorry you didn't have a pleasant stay! We are doing improvements on our hotel so please feel free to stop by and look at our rooms before you check in and let me know if there is a problem I will take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn Okeechobee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Okeechobee

Address: 201 S Parrott Ave, Okeechobee, FL 34974
Location: United States > Florida > Okeechobee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Okeechobee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Okeechobee 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget Inn Okeechobee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Okeechobee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.