We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Cottages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nest on Lake Weir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocklawaha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Nest on Lake Weir
Save
You added The Nest on Lake Weir to your Saves list
12850 SE Hwy 25, Ocklawaha, FL 32179   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Cottages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just wanted something close to our zip line adventure but our real pleasure ended up being our stay at The Nest. Beautiful grounds and lovely, comfortable cottage style rooms. We used the kayaks and paddle board and napped on the dock. After our enjoyable dinner at Big Bob's across the street we returned to the beachfront fire pit at The Nest. We are looking forward to returning for another weekend now that we have discovered this gem.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lorida, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at The Nest for four nights. We spent 3 nights in Room #6 and 1 night in Room #7. It was a rainy week so having the porch on room 6 was wonderful but the bathroom and bed in room 7 was even better. We rented one of the pontoon boats and pulled up on the sandy point on the south side of the lake and went swimming. The water was very calm and warm. Lorraine and David were very friendly and eager to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were decorated in a country cottage style and were beautiful and very comfortable. We ate a few times at Bob's Italian Restaurant and the food was delicious and the staff was friendly. The whole week was great and we can't wait to return for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Room #6 has the porch and is well worth the price but we also loved room #7. We will probably try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

What an absolute gem! The amenities offered in the cottages make you feel like you are staying in the owners home. There were plush towels, nice glassware and silverware, everything you need for a continental breakfast in the refrigerator - the list goes on an on. Absolutely no expense was spared on the fabulous decor either. They were so beautifully decorated I had to tell the owner what a fantastic job she had done on the cottage interior.

I just can't say enough good things about our stay there. We enjoyed the gas fire pit on the beach and rented one of the pontoon boats for the afternoon. This was truly a memorable stay-cation just two hours from home! I would highly recommend the Nest on Lake Weir to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this location. They are all immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.forida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at the Nest. our main goal in coming to the area was to canoe on Juniper springs just a short distance away. we were pleasantly surprised when our focus quickly changed to also include enjoying the beauty of Lake Weir and the comfortable surroundings of the Nest. The owners have paid particular attention to making the facility as comfortable as possible. We stayed in #6 which had a beautiful porch. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy. Also , beautifully decorated.
If you are coming for an extended stay I would bring food and the pans you need to cook. The restaurant selection near by isn't that great. Gator Joe is fun for a night but not more than once.
The Nest provides a perfect place to rest and read and relax . the wind blowing thru the trees was just perfect and set the tone for relaxation. Would be a effect place for a yoga retreat... Namaste

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A perfect getaway for anyone who likes a woodsy type charm with a wonderful beach.
Small lodging establishment with only seven cottage type rooms was the perfect thing for
a long weekend of enjoyment. We stayed in cottage #2 and it was very comfortable. Had a wonderful half day on one of the Pontoons.We had pizza across the street that was quite tasty. This will be the place we stay again next year for sure!!! Our host Lorraine also made a suggestion for lunch on our way to Orlando and it was a hit!!! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Any cottage you choose will leave you content!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I am not so much into camping anymore but occasionally like to visit the Ocala National Forest. Found The Nest on the internet and gave it a try. Think a fish camp by Disney. Great access to the lake, swimming, fishing, boats and clean, functional cabins with great beds. This is not the low cost option, but for comfort and service, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We absolutely loved staying here – the room, the lake and the hosts made for a perfect visit. I had originally booked room 2, and it is gorgeous – it looks newly furnished and has a huge bed, and enormous bath. But when we saw the view from room 6, we upgraded and didn’t want to leave (ever) - it’s so lovely to sit and look at the lake from the porch. Room 6 has the bedroom separate from the main living space, which has the kitchen, a table to seat 4 and a comfy sofa. On your arrival the fridge is stocked with milk, juice, yoghurts, bagels and cream cheese, along with cereals in the cupboard (we stayed 2 nights, so were given enough for 2 breakfasts). As the other guests were off fishing we had the place to ourselves, so it felt like we had our own private beach to lounge on, the deck to relax on and the fire pit to watch the sun going down. The owners are such lovely people, really helpful, but never intrusive. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nest on Lake Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest on Lake Weir

Address: 12850 SE Hwy 25, Ocklawaha, FL 32179
Location: United States > Florida > Ocklawaha
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ocklawaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nest is a Waterfront Cottage Motel on the sandy shores of Lake Weir. A popular destination for swimming, skiing, kayaking, fishing and boating. Each room has a covered porch and is beautifully decorated with flat screen TVs, IPod Alarms, kitchen or wet bar, travertine showers or Jacuzzi tubs and sitting areas. Guest also have use of beach fire pit, beach chairs, umbrellas and kayaks. The Nest is located between Ocala and the Villages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nest on Lake Weir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.