We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, updated Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Ocala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Ocala to your Saves list
Courtyard Ocala
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3712 SW 38th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice, updated Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Another visit to this Courtyard - actually 2 visits in March.....Updated bistro setting with the standard menu.....the lemon cake with strawberries and whipped cream is very enjoyable! Breakfasts are made to order so everything comes out nice and fresh....Staff very friendly and attentive. Very clean throughout. Balconies are a nice touch so you can sit outside for some fresh air.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti M, Sales Manager at Courtyard Ocala, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard during your last two visits to Ocala. We do have an updated lobby with The Bistro wich does offer breakfast, dinner, drinks and yes - lemon cake with strawberries with whipped cream! Our updated lobby also allows for areas to socialize and perhaps work without being in the confinement of your room. Our pool area also has great seating to socialize or relax. We do appreciate you taking the time to write this review and look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
27
20
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I didn't know exactly what to expect upon checking into a hotel for the first (maybe the last) time in Ocala. It was halfway between Naples and Jacksonville, and thus a convenient, and not-so-small town to stay in for one night. The Courtyard by Marriott is typical of the same around the country, except that they haven't renovated the rooms in Ocala (or it doesn't appear to be the case) or hallways. The lobby is renovated. So, I found the hotel room to be just average, clean and just fine for one night -- but not nearly as good as those Courtyards that have upgraded their rooms. I must say, although I arrived very late, my room had been preregistered, and my registration time at the front desk was about 1 minute. Kudos for service!

Price of $134 (AAA rate) was okay, but not great all things considered. I checked out early in the morning and was content to move on to the next location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti M, Sales Manager at Courtyard Ocala, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent stay in Ocala, Florida. We are a convenient stop between Jacksonville and Naples and we are just off the interstate with a lot of dining options around. Our lobby is updated and we have The Bistro where you can Eat.Drink.Connect and we also offer a 24/7 Market for any other needs that you may have. Thank you for letting us know about the great service that you recieved at the front desk. It is always nice to be able to pass good news and compliments along to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I stopped after 11 last night. I found the clerk very friendly and helpful. I was a bit disappointed that there was no complimentary breakfast. The room was clean and the bed extremely comfortable, although it was oriented awkwardly. The bed faced the window instead of the TV. The bathroom was nice and roomy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti M, Sales Manager at Courtyard Ocala, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear to hear that the clerk was friendly and helpful and we will be sure to let them know that this was recognized by a guest.

We do not have a complimentary breakfast, but we do have many fresh and hearty food options available at our Bistro. There are a variety of grab-and-go snacks or you can sit and enjoy a freshly prepared meal. We also offer Starbucks coffee in our Bistro.

The beds in our King Guest Rooms do face the window, but the TVs are on a swivel to help see it a bit easier.

Thank you again for your stay and for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you pass through Ocala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Two colleagues and I (both from out of state) stayed here while in town on business. We checked in on Sunday evening and the front desk clerk was very courteous. The full service restaurant and bar were nice (the Starbucks coffee bar was appreciated); there is a large lounge and business center (but I did not utilize them). The room was very comfortable & quiet and the landscaping added to the relaxing feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, TN
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Travelliing late on a Saturday evening, we booked "the last room available" for a higher than average price and was told it would be a king bed. Upon arrival we were offered "the last room available" by a less than cordial hotel clerk--take it or leave it were his exact words. We took it.
No real complaints on the facility but a bad taste when people are rude and misleading.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti M, Sales Manager at Courtyard Ocala, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our property. We at the Courtyard by Marriott sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience with the the front desk staff. Since your stay, we have reviewed all policies and procedures with our Staff and can ensure you that this type of service will not occur again. We do hope that you will give the Courtyard by Marriott of Ocala another try when you are passing through Ocala again. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is situated close to I-75. It is next to a gas station, other hotels, and close to many restaurants. The lobby was ok and the dining area and business station were pretty modern. The front desk staff was not overly friendly, but adequate. The workout room consisted of 3 cardio machines and some free weights.

I had a king room. It had a flat screen and fridge. The carpeting was stained both inside the room and in the hallways. The hallways had noticeable dirt and debris on it. The bed was generally comfortable. Small bathroom. Small sink area outside bathroom. No USB ports. Old style air conditioner unit where you control it from the unit itself.

There is not much to say about this hotel. You can tell it is what it strives to be - average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti M, Sales Manager at Courtyard Ocala, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard by Marriott of Ocala. Our lobby was recently renovated and we do offer many amenities with a modern feel. Our 24-hour market has items that one may have neglected to pack, our GoBoard provides up-to-date local information, weather and maps, our new Bistro functions both as a dining area and lounge and we have complimentary wireless and hard-wired internet throughout the lobby area and in every guest room.

We do apologize that the front desk staff was not overly friendly. Our staff should always focus on making customer connections vs. transactions and we have reinforced this with them since your visit - so thank you for bringing that matter to our attention.

We have installed flat screen tvs and modern furnishings in each of our guest rooms along with complimentary wireless and wired internet access. And, again, since your visit, we have begun to clean every carpet in our property. We do apologize that it was not done sooner.

We do hope that you will give us another chance when you are in Ocala for either business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I liked the lobby, plenty of lounge space, a place to eat and order drinks, relax and watch TV or read. Hotel has been renovated and appears to be maintained pretty well throughout. Room appearance was clean, missed someone's socks behind a chair though, indicating the cleaning was rushed. Insufficient towels left in the room. Beds were a little too soft for me and they were doubles, too small. Hotel was quite busy when we were there and the staff was very nice but seemed to be a little overwhelmed by it, and I know of two other guests whose rooms were not ready. TV was a good flat screen with good channel selection. Bath and shower were separate from the outside sink, which had insufficient counter space. AC was the standard wall unit in mid-priced hotels that cycled throughout the night. There is a multitude of restaurants and shops within a short drive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ocala

Address: 3712 SW 38th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ocala 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the beautiful Courtyard by Marriott in Ocala Florida, and experience 171 newly renovated and beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Easy to access from SR 200 off Exit 350 of the I-75, your visit to to this strategically located, green certified and pet free hotel places you close to everywhere you need or want to be in Ocala and Marion County! Four newly renovated meeting rooms can host your impressive meetings or social events of 10 - 80 people, and complimentary high speed wireless internet is available to all guests throughout the hotel. Fitness routines are easily maintained in the on-site fitness room, and your stress simply melts away in the enticing outdoor pool, courtyard and whirlpool spa. The on-site guest coin laundry is a practical convenience. Reserve your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott, and you will have a choice to enjoy several dining and shopping options, all walking distance to the hotel. Come to this Courtyard by Marriott Ocala in Ocala Florida, and enjoy superb quality, convenience, comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ocala Hotel Ocala
Ocala Marriott
Ocala Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.