We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major Disappointment Here-Ants stay here at no charge! UGH!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3530 SW 36th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
Granite City, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment Here-Ants stay here at no charge! UGH!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I had stayed at another LaQuinta in Port Charlotte, Fl. and it was just amazing so on my way back north I thought this would be great as well. Not in the least. The rooms are very old, bedspreads are old with stains on them, there was even stains on the sheets, the bathroom had peeling paint and ants everywhere! UGH. I brought my own bed sheets in and just slept on those. I only gave them a 1 star for the fact they acepeted my little dog, which was very quiet and slept in her own bed. Breakfast was a major disappointment as well. This place just needs a major renovation. The staff was friendly. When I checked out I did tell the deont desk clerk about the ants and she asked if they were by the window ( like this was perhaps a known problem?) but I told her no they were all over the bathroom. If I hadn't been so tired I would not have stayed once I saw the room.

Room Tip: If you just need a place to sleep and don't mind very old stained bedding or ants this place wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    84
    33
    13
    18
See reviews for
118
65
30
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in a room near the elevator, which is also near the ice machine, which is unbearably noisy when in use. The linens and room layout was fine, but very worn. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling, the door lock was broken and the paint was scuffed and peeling everywhere. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the hotel is in need of serious attention or a serious reduction in rates. Breakfast was very basic continental, but a nice touch were the hand made waffles. The parking lot was so crowded with trucks and trailers that we had to park in the check-in zone, with the clerks permission. Stay if you have to or if you have pets.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a very good hotel. very clean and modern. Pet freindly. A little pricy but all hotels in ocala are pricy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed on one of their "suites" to have some extra space. Unfortunately, there were two major issues with the room. There's a high intensity spotlight shining directly into the bedroom that even the blackout curtain couldn't mitigate, and the room next door was occupied by a couple with dogs who barked incessantly. If a hotel is going to accept pets, it should ensure that they don't disturb the other guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We travel with pets, and so tend to stay in places like La Quinta hotels which are generally pretty good while being pet friendly. That being said, this La Quinta was one of the least good ones in the chain that we have experienced. Despite assurances from the hotel when reserving that we would get an exec king close to the elevator, they put us almost as far away as possible from the elevator. The room looked small for an executive king when we entered, but O.K. However, it proved on closer inspection to be very dingy, with stained carpet, mildew in the bath, etc., and even a small visiting lizard of some sort inspecting us from high on one wall. (It disappeared back to wherever it got in by the time a helpful staff member came to remove it.) Bed was o.k. We left early so can't comment on the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This Inn is the most interesting motel I've ever stayed in. The room I stayed in looked like a suite in an upscale house. Very comfy - the coffee machine, etc. are in a "Dutch Cupboard" built into a wall and the room doors are in off-set, angled walls. There was a curved desk with power strip buit in, a queen bed and a fold out couch with coffee table. All for about $64. That said, the place looked used - it felt OK clean, but the carpets are stained really badly in the stairways. Some people had walked their dogs and let them pee on the back door pillars. The elevators are slow and noisy and have suspicious stains on the walls - we used the stairs. They put us on the third floor mid-way between exits. I was too tired to complain, but it made walking the dogs more of a chore.
It is well off the busy roads of Ocala and in this "Enclave" there is a Chili's that was good.
It was inexpensive and it worked for us. Not a bad place...it's hard to find a place in Ocala that doesn't charge a lot for a dog. One motel wanted $75!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala

Address: 3530 SW 36th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ocala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
#11 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala was recently named a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner!NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala provides a clean friendly suburban setting for the whole family, including your pet! Wake up to a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM and USA Today newspaper. Hit the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or get going in our on-site fitness center, then connect with all Ocala has to offer. We are conveniently located off of I-75 (exit 350), close to many horse farms, riding ranches, Ocala Breeders Sales, and Post Time Ranch (Host of H.I.T.S.) horse shows. We are the Host hotel for Paso Fino shows, and Live Oak shows. From here you have easy access to The Disney Welcome Center, Local Flee Market, Silver Springs, Wild Waters Park, Don Garlits Museum, and more. Visit Ocala's Downtown Square for local nightlife. Walk to many mainstream and local eateries (some deliver to your room). Ocala has abundant shopping venues (four-minute ride to Paddock Park Mall), public & private golf courses, including a Par 3. We are close to local businesses, medical offices, and area hospitals. Nearby Easy Street Games & Go Karts is a perk for travelers with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala Hotel Ocala
La Quinta Inn And Suites Ocala
La Quinta Ocala
La Quinta Hotel Ocala
Ocala La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.