We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Older Hotel Beautiful Grounds Beds Too Small Great Security” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Ocala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Ocala to your Saves list
Hilton Ocala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Southwest 36th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474-4474   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean Older Hotel Beautiful Grounds Beds Too Small Great Security”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This Hilton is an older hotel clean however needs a little maintenance. Beds were fulls so we had to get an additional room quite expensive at that point...a king with pullout sofa for the kids would have been great but not available at this hotel. Stayed on executive level the hospitality room not too exciting only chex mix... Breakfast buffet in morning was the same 5 mornings in a row... Eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy (if your from the South don't try them not so good) and the normal cereal and danishes...the woman waitress was amazing however... Calvin at the front desk needs some customer service training no personality whatsoever seeing I had 3 rooms 2 for 5 nights you would think he would have been able to at least smile I asked him to correct the bill he said he would handle it had to go back down in morning for Luis to take care of it which was done promptly. Greg at the bar was awesome very friendly and willing to help and very accommodating ... Security was great walked the grounds halls all day and night but they were very friendly not stuffy at all. The kids want to come back and see Buddy the horse so I'm sure we will be back at some point.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
You certainly gave us a very nice snapshot of most areas of the hotel as experieced by you and your family.
As Ocala's premiere hotel and conference center for over 25 years we know that our biggest objective every day is to keep it clean, up to date, and in good repair. We are contantly improving areas of the hotel, as is evident with the recent remodel of Arthurs Restaurant, and a complete refurbishing of both guest elevators (all new equipment, cables, etc...making them 75% more efficient and faster), and othe very noticible guest amenities.
We look forward to your return...and we will tell "Buddy" to expect you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    146
    78
    27
    23
See reviews for
113
131
50
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I needed somewhere to stay on our way from a family reunion to Clearwater beach. I found the Hilton on Priceline for a great deal. When we arrived, I notified the front desk that it was our anniversary and she immediately gave us drink tickets for the bar. She also noticed that our room was 2 beds and asked if we wanted a king (other hotels act like it's an inconvenience to switch).
We had room service for dinner, they forgot the bread, but immediately sent it up and they also sent up a fruit basket with a card wishing us a happy anniversary. We had some drinks at the bar (excellent martinis) and took some to the pool. There was a prom and some kind of convention party going on with live music. I see other reviews complain about event noise in the rooms, but we didn't hear anything once we went to bed.
We really did enjoy ourselves and the location is great to leave our son with my parents about 30 min away. In fact we are returning next weekend for a night getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Your comments are certainly the "rule" and not the exception at Hilton Ocala. It is our goal that every staff member you come in contact with makes your stay as perfect as possible. We are happy that our team helped make your anniversary as special as possible. We look forward to your return visit in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A sad fall from grace as the conditions of the bathrooms (mold in ceilings, clogged drains) was awful. The restaurant staff argues with each other and the facility is understaffed. This is barely a Hampton, much less a Hilton and a sad statement about this awful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
With all the glowing reviews we receive on a constant basis we understand that sometimes we fail to meet a guest's expectations...and that was certainly the case with your stay. We realize you stayed during a very busy weekend (baseball tournament, etc) I cordially urge you to contact us directly and discuss your stay with our General Manager (he will be making an effort to contact you directly as well), or any member of our managment team so we can work harder to ensure each and every guest experience is the best possible. The Hilton Ocala takes a high level of pride to our everyday approach to cleanliness, and the cordial way we handle unsatisfied guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Everything was very nice at the hotel. We had a 2 day meeting. Meeting rooms are nice. Hotel room and bed was comfy. Outside sitting areas were great!! Inside lobby is beautiful. Easy to find, right off the interstate. Lots of restaurants near by. Staff was friendly. Gift shop should carry batteries. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
First of all, thanks for the comment on needing batteries in the gift shop....consider that done! Your feedback is very much appreciated and shared with our team. As the areas most complete meeting and conference facility, we try to ensure that your meetings are effective and efficient while having the perfect balance a top-notch culinary, relaxing, and entertaining experience. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding. I had high hopes for this hotel, as my family usually stays at Hilton hotels and are pleased. Unfortunately, I can only say 2 good things about this hotel: 1. I was able to check in early (around 2:00pm) and 2. The location is very good (right off of I75, close to many restaurants, the mall, supermarkets, etc). Now for the negatives. With regards to the room, the carpet was ripped up in spots and there was mold on the floor in the bathroom. The in room refrigerator smelled quite bad as well. The walls were very thin and we were able to hear people next door (luckily they were not very loud or up very late). The weekend we stayed, there were multiple little league baseball teams staying at this hotel. These children were extremely unruly and disrespectful. I almost got ran into twice by them running around a corner in the hallway, and they spent most of their time in the hotel running up and down the hallway, screaming. I had to call the front desk twice on Saturday night (at 10:20 and 11:05pm) to complain and after the second call they finally sent up security. This was extremely frustrating as I was trying to sleep due to a migraine and having to get up at 4:00am the next morning to catch my flight home. I understand it is the parents’ fault that these children are unsupervised and rude. However, my suggestions to hotel are: have a security guard on every floor or monitor 2 floors, to ensure these children do not act in such a disruptive manner. Also, I suggest making sure all or most of these families stay on one floor together, preferably the bottom floor so that they do not disrupt the guests on the floor below them. Honestly, if you get enough complaints (which I’m sure you did), kick these families out of the hotel. Unfortunately for the Hilton, the next time I return to Ocala, I will make sure to stay at one of the other many hotel options in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
It is never pleasant when a large, city-wide event (such as the Cal Ripken baseball tournament that was in town while you were here) conflicts with an event such as a wedding you were attending. While being the largest hotel in the area, and the host hotel for this important youth sports event, we cannot apologize for the behavior of 8-10 yr old kids...but we certainly can take your comments and suggestions to heart and make every attempt to continue to do the best job possible. Of course it did not help that the consistent rain over the weekend made the kids a little more "active" inside the hotel than normal.
We take a great deal of pride in providing a high-caliber level of service and that includes a staff that responds quickly and courteously. we hope that you come by and say hello in person and give us another try the next time you are in Ocala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice hotel. Breakfast and breakfast staff is great. I find that the late shift desk clerk had the better attitude than the others. Housekeeping lady did what she could to make the room very nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Always want to thank our guests for taking the time to give any feedback here, no matter how short, sweet, or even sour. We cannot reward excellence or raise our own bar without this valuable feedback.
Thank you for your comments - and yes, we are lucky to have such a warm and friendly overnight front desk staff and we will make sure to share your comments.
Please call Hilton Ocala home again the next time you find yourself in the area for the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Horrible Facility. Aged, old, bad furniture, no style, dirty, needs maintenance and food is horrible. Pool was dirty. Three "hookers" were cruising the hotel elevators and hallways and had to be ran out. Carpets are stained and frayed. Dirty Windows. Breakfast buffet was taken down 30 minutes early. Wait staff in soiled clothing. Young and deeply inexperienced front desk personnel. No leadership or management available. What you see on the internet and website is NOT what you get once you get there. This place is a albatross hanging around the neck of the Hilton Brand and needs a total redo and new management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Everyone's comments are taking to heart and used to improve both our facility and service. We are quite proud of everything from the brand new uniforms being worn by our restaurant servers, to the beautiful facility we strive to maintain. The moment you walk through our front door and stoll past the baby grand ivory white piano you are greeted by our front desk staff many of which have over 4-10 years service right here at Hilton Ocala. There are even restaurant servers that have been here since we opened our door 25+ years ago.
Our delicious made-to-order breakfast is served until 11am every morning, however the full, hot breakfast buffet does stop service at 10am...allowing our staff to prepare for the 11:30am lunch guests.
We certainly hope you return to Ocala and experience our Hospitality in the Heart of Florida in a similar glowing light that is reflected by the majority of the people that take the time as you did here on Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ocala

Address: 3600 Southwest 36th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474-4474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
#8 Family Hotel in Ocala
#8 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Ocala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ocala is truely a "Piece of Paradise in the Heart of Horse Country." Located just off I-75 at SR200 you will find the area's most popular restaurants within walking or a short drive distance from the hotel. At the Hilton Ocala, you will find every comfort of home or office. Each room features comfortable, plush bedding, ample work-desk space, modern decor, and more. Our 8th & 9th VIP floors include access to our 9th floor VIP lounge with morning continental breakfast, evening appetizers, drink specials, and more.When it's time to relax, induldge in our large outdoor heated pool or whirlpool, or just relax on our enormous pool deck. If a little exercise is part of your day, we feature tennis, basketball, and white-sand beach volleyball courts in addition to our well-equipped fitness center.The Starting Gate lobby bar is perfect for a cool beverage, dinner, or late night snack. Arthur's Restaurant is on of Ocala's most popular dining destinations open for Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday Brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ocala Hotel Ocala
Hilton Hotel Ocala
Ocala Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.