We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No A/c at visit and nothing offered to compensate” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Ocala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Ocala to your Saves list
Hilton Ocala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Southwest 36th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474-4474   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
GreenLeadersGold level
Trenton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No A/c at visit and nothing offered to compensate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The experience with having no A/c and when went to the front desk and they said they could not do anything for me and they were sorry. But sorry is not helping me sleep when the room is 90
+ degrees. Did not offer any discounts on future stays at any Hilton. Seems like there was nothing done or even tried to help with my stay

Room Tip: rooms are quiet and nice but no a/c made it a terribe experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
As you noted, we did experience an unfortunate malfunction of our high-performance chiller during your stay. This has been fixed and the air quality system is running better than ever!
We made every attempt to accommodate as many guests as possible with fans, portable A/C units, etc. and made many, many financial adjustments.
I cannot make excuses why this was not immediately offered to you as well, but if you contact me directly we can speak about this in more detail and take care of your needs.
Karl Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    155
    80
    27
    24
See reviews for
116
134
50
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I arrived to check-in at 7 pm to my surprise the hotel air conditioner was out. The clerk told me it had been out since the day before. Why did they not notify customers prior arriving from out of town? Is this the way customer service is heading? All in the name of money. Poor management decision. I vote for staff replacement. They did help me get switched to a less than ideal Fairfield Inn. The other staff seemed wonderful. For the hotel condition, I have no idea.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments - I know how frustrating it can be arriving and finding out things are not as wonderful as you planned for your stay at the Hilton Ocala. I wish our crystal ball would have allowed us to anticipate a major malfunction of an industrial piece of machinery within our A/C system. What was hoped to be quick repair turned into days...and even though the temperatures outside were 40 degrees or colder...this incredible facility built by the same Top-Notch builders of Walt Disney World ensured that our indoor temperatures remained consistant..
We are happy to say that in addition to our totally remodeled Arthur's restaurant, renovated lobby, awesome upgrades to wireless internet in the entire hotel, A/V upgrades in the conference center, and even brand new twin high-speed elevators...we now have a nicely rebuilt main "chiller" system for the cooling of the hotel.
We hope you give us a try again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful Hotel and the staff were great! Had breakfast everyday in the restaurant and it was very good. The pool area was amazing and the best part was the Clydesdale horse in the field out back. The hotel owns the horse. His name is Buddy and he is beautiful. He loves apples!! I would defiently go back. Clean, check in was easy, and the area is beautiful!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
On behalf of Buddy....he says "thanks for the apples. Buddy is the hotel's official Mascot and certainly a friend to all our guests. As you found out...our enormous back deck, grass oak-lined paddock and heated pool are a major surprise to most guests when staying with us. Rarely do you find such a cozy resort feel, combined with the close proximity to I-75 as the Hilton Ocala.
That's just one of the reasons we are North Central Florida's favorite destination for business and family travel alike.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We left home the day after Christmas to visit Magic Kingdom, and Universal Park. Arrived late, the check-in was a breeze. The attendants were very helpful and gave great directions for 11:00 pm. Then, oh the housing was more than anticipated. There was plenty of space for 8 persons, the area was quiet and clean. Was able to purchase tickets to the parks in the lobby of the facilities and we avoided the long lines at the parks. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and haven't ben disappointed. The building is a little older, but the hospitality was great. There was a nice restaurant downstairs which I enjoyed. Access to the hotel was easy, just off the interstate.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for returning to Hilton Ocala while traveling in North Central Florida. Yes...our charming and "resort style" hotel just celebrated its 25th anniversary! Ever since our hotel was built by the Arvida Corporation / Disney here in Ocala over 2 decades ago we continue to celebrate having that amazing level of facility and architecture that they are still famous for today. We followed the renovation of our guest rooms with the very recent renovation to Arthur’s Restaurant, the Lobby Bar, elevators, and more…making sure our modern hotel still has the cozy southern charm that makes it one of the most popular hotel destinations in the area. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very reasonably priced hotel for the value you recieve. Also appreciated the hotel was pet friendly. The back of the hotel has a large field area, and even a barn with a Clydesdale horse. This area is free from vehichles, and secluded. Very nice area, and even has a gazebo!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I think you well covered all the bases and summed up this awesome resort-feel Hilton hotel well. Our oak-lined six acre grass paddock "back yard" is a welcome place for pet owners, families, and even business travelers alike. It offers a quiet place to relax, walk the pup, jog, or just take in the sunset.
Our recent renovations of the famous Arthur's Restaurant have received rave reviews and the new additions to the lobby and Conference Center are a great change.
Another noticeable change is the new, fast, quiet and smooth elevators. Guests that frequent us are actually commenting on this amenity that is most times taken for granted.
We hope you return to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel has a great location, right off the interstate. There are many restaurants nearby although the hotel restaurant is outstanding. The grounds include a paddock area and a beautiful Clydesdale horse. The lobby, restaurant and bar are located in an open architecture area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I can do nothing but agree with your comments....the HIlton Ocala is a FANTASTIC hotel. Our recent total renovation of our restaurant and lobby areas sure give this property a "resort" feel...and stepping outside to our wonderful multi-level pool terrace and 6-acre oak lined paddock offers a sense of calmness and a resort feeling found nowhere else in the area. Please come back and say hello whenever you are in the area.
Karl Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ocala

Address: 3600 Southwest 36th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474-4474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocala
#6 Business Hotel in Ocala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
#8 Family Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Ocala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ocala is truely a "Piece of Paradise in the Heart of Horse Country." Located just off I-75 at SR200 you will find the area's most popular restaurants within walking or a short drive distance from the hotel. At the Hilton Ocala, you will find every comfort of home or office. Each room features comfortable, plush bedding, ample work-desk space, modern decor, and more. Our 8th & 9th VIP floors include access to our 9th floor VIP lounge with morning continental breakfast, evening appetizers, drink specials, and more.When it's time to relax, induldge in our large outdoor heated pool or whirlpool, or just relax on our enormous pool deck. If a little exercise is part of your day, take a jog outback in the glade and visit Buddy, our resident Clydesdale horse, and enjoy our outdoor fitness stations or workout in our well-equipped in door fitness center.The Starting Gate lobby bar is perfect for a cool beverage, dinner, or late night snack. Arthur's Restaurant is on of Ocala's most popular dining destinations open for Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday Brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ocala Hotel Ocala
Hilton Hotel Ocala
Ocala Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.