We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and reasoable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good quality and reasoable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Treated my wife well, had what they told us over the phone, nothing hidden and room was as promised - handicapped - first floor - smoking - with dog.

Retired and visiting family and friends this summer 6000 miles so far and 2000 to go traveler.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Howard Johnson Ocala Florida. Also, Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Seeing how you are a traveler, Im sure that you have stayed in many hotels. Next time you are in the area I would like to refer you to checking out Silver Springs, a nature theme park here in Ocala, Florida. It would be our pleasure to have you as a guest again in the future. I hope you have a safe trip in your next 2000 miles to go. Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    256
    135
    60
    38
See reviews for
222
172
108
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We spent one night after a Gators football game. The pool was very refreshing after a hot day. Nice poolside area with tables and umbrellas. OK breakfast, waffle machine. Close to restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for the kind review and for staying with us at Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida. Our pool is one of our unique treasures in that it is much larger than the typical pool you see at many hotels. I am glad that you were able to enjoy it after the very hot weather from the football game. The Waffle machine is a new addition that we have made in which guests, especially children, love for the free breakfast. We would be honored if you choose to stay with us again perhaps the next florida home game. Thank you and Go Gators!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florham park, nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I read trip advisor all the time and have never shared a review, but I felt that the exceptional service and stay we had at this Howard Johnson's in Ocala was worth taking the time to share with other readers. This hotel was cleaner than some 5 star hotels I have paid hundreds of dollars to stay in! The staff was excellent, from the managers to front desk personnel, wait staff in the dining area and housekeeping, we did not encounter one person who did not go out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. We stayed for 3 nights while visiting family before heading to Disney. The rooms were very clean an comfortable, the pool was very clean and heated (which it didn't need to be!) and the free breakfast was very good. If you are looking for a place to stay in Ocala that is affordable and clean, this is your place!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for placing your first trip advisor review for our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala, Florida. We greatly apreciate you taking your time to let other readers know how your stay went. It is always nice to hear positive feedback from our guests. Next time you are in the area I hope you will stay with us again. Thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The employees are very friendly and eager to please. Our room was clean and comfortable. The furnishings and bedding were in very good condition. The beds were very comfortable. We were never disturbed by guests in neighboring rooms. The sidewalks, grass & parking lots are kept clean. The pool, jacuzzi & surrounding pool area was kept clean and was very enjoyable. The miniature golf course was great fun as well. The ice machine worked fine as did the washers and dryers. We enjoy ourselves EVERY time we stay here. The rates are very reasonable. Even with the freeway opposite the parking lot, we never heard the traffic. We NEVER felt unsafe during our stay. I highly recommend the Ocala Howard Johnson to anyone looking for a reasonable decent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us on more than one occassion. We will do whatever it takes to make sure that you feel this way each and everytime you stay with us. I am very happy that you had such a friendly, safe, and comfortable stay. I look forward to you being our guest again in the future here at Howard Johnson Ocala, Florida. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Howard Johnson, in Ocala, FL, is like a 5 star hotel without the price! The staff are warm, friendly and courteous. The services they provide are awesome! They are always smiling and make me feel "at home".

The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. This includes 3 different softness of pillows, from nice and soft to firm. Their restaurant has exceptional food! Especially their Baked Ziti! The prices are very reasonable and the taste is fabulous!

Most importantly, to me as I travel by myself, is that it is truly a "safe" place to stay. I have absolutely no concerns for my safety and get a wonderful rest during my stay.

I recommend Howard Johnson, Ocala, FL to any and all who may visit that area!I

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Howard Johnson Ocala, Florida. And thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience while you were visiting Ocala. Next time you are in the area I hope you choose to stay with us again and also maybe if you bring your family I can recommend a nice theme park 8 miles east of our facility called Silver Springs/Wild Waters that you would enjoy. I am very happy that you were safe, comfortable, and treated like family because those are all apart of our culture here at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala, Florida. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This was my second time staying here. It is still a nice place for a stop over. Room was clean but outdated. For the price, you can't complain. Staff is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to complete a review of your stay at Howard Johnson Ocala, Florida. And more importantly thank you for choosing to stay with us a second time around. We are a 40 year old property and we are trying our hardest to update our rooms each and everyday. Some of the most recent renovations include brand new mattresses and pillows (new bedding will be in next month), Painting all the rooms, walkways, and railings, all bathtubs are being refinished and brand new faucets installed, our a/c units are now thermostat controlled and get ice cold, and new furniture has taken over the old furniture. I look forward to seeing you again and for you to witness all of the improvements that we have made on your next visit. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

very clean, from the room, to the pool, to the dining room for the continental breakfast. even the parking lot was clean....the staff was great....we would recommend this place 100 % to anyone traveling.....the waffles and coffee at breakfast were freakin great!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest, I appreciate you taking time to complete a review of your wonderful stay here at our Howard Johnson Ocala, Florida. Our staff is fully dedicated to making sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. This includes keeping our grounds, rooms, and facilities very clean, also providing the best possible customer service, and value for your money spent. We did just recently add the waffle machine to the breakfast bar and the waffles are very delicious I am happy that you enjoyed them. Please come back and visit us if you are ever back in Ocala, Florida. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson as your choice of lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#11 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs Natural Theme Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, Howard Johnson's Restaurant on-site (Buy 1 Dinner and get the 2nd dinner of equal or lesser value FREE) and nearby dining and convenience at Roma Italian Restaurant and the Publix SuperMarket. No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HoJo Ocala, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.