We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is near the interstate and is easy to get to. I...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
GreenLeadersGold level
Enola
1 review
“This hotel is near the interstate and is easy to get to. I...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is near the interstate and is easy to get to. I recently stayed twice in two weeks and had two different rooms. Both were nice and clean. Internet connections were good. On the down side, one of the rooms was not equipped with an adjustable desk chair.

Based on prior reviews, I tried the restaurant (roast chicken). I thought it was okay for the money and would eat there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at our Howard Johnson of Ocala. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant and found our rooms to be clean with good wi-fi. We certainly hope that if you continue to travel through Ocala in future, you consider staying with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    224
    108
    51
    33
See reviews for
196
141
97
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bargersville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed here several times and have always had a great experience. The staff is like no other! Every person is extremely friendly and makes you feel at home instead of in a hotel. I feel like a welcomed home friend instead of a guest. I have gone 50 miles out of my way to come back and will continue to do so to stay at my new home away from home. I had a small issue while there but Cedric took care of it immediately !!! Thanks guys, you're the best !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much Kim! It is true that our front desk staff, housekeepers, restaurant staff and maintenance staff truly love what they do and treat each guest like family. We are always excited to see a familiar face and when we get return guests like yourself, it is always like welcoming an old friend. Thank you for seeing this and telling others about our friendly atmosphere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent one night here on our way home from a trip. Upon check-in, the front desk clerk was very friendly and pleasant. Once we got our room keys, we drove over to the next building where our room was. We arrived around 9:30 p.m., so it was completely dark outside. The parking lots were very poorly lit, and although there were lights along the exterior corridors, the room numbers on the doors were almost impossible to read until we walked right up to them.

This appears to be an older hotel. Our room was clean, but it smelled somewhat musty. The TV was in a cabinet with sides on it, and the whole thing was positioned near the couch and door area, making it difficult to view while sitting on the bed. The room was a fairly good size and contained a couch, large desk and chair, small round table and chair, frig and microwave, and king size bed. There was plenty of lighting in the room itself, and it appeared that the walls had been recently repainted. Some of the curtain hooks were unhooked, making the curtain droop a bit, but at least the window was covered. One of the extra locks on our door was loose, rendering it useless.

The bathroom offered just 2 towels, which were thick but fairly small. The tub/shower combo had a curved shower rod and a deluxe shower head, and hot water was available almost instantly. There was no exhaust fan, but there was a window high in the shower wall that was open when we arrived. We shut and locked it because it seemed big enough for a small person to climb through. The lighting over the bathroom sink was very dim, and because the counter was quite deep, it was difficult to lean close enough to the mirror in order to see well enough to apply my makeup.

This hotel is right next to the interstate. We always travel with an air purifier for white noise, but without that running, we would have noticed the noise of the interstate traffic quite a bit.

We were anxious to be on our way in the morning, but in order to save money we wanted to eat the hotel breakfast before leaving. The night clerk had told us that breakfast started at 6:15, so we dawdled a bit before driving over to the main building which contained the restaurant and breakfast area. When we arrived a few minutes early, I said something to the morning desk clerk about being a bit early for breakfast. She airily replied, “Oh, breakfast has been ready for an hour.” I said, “I thought it wasn’t open until 6:15.” She said, “We just have to tell people that.” If we had known this, we would have gotten an earlier start on our day by coming to breakfast sooner.

I thought that because there was a restaurant on site, the free continental breakfast would be somewhat decent. However, we were pretty disappointed. Breakfast consisted of a pitiful selection of mini-bagels and other small pastries, a waffle maker, cold hard-boiled eggs, and coffee.

Because of the exterior corridors, the poor parking lot lighting, the loose door lock, and the distance of our building from the main office, I did not feel entirely safe here. The next time I am in this area, I will definitely consider other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. As a budget property, we are somewhat limited in what we offer to our guests. Unlike a Hampton where you pay 50% more, you will not get omelets or bacon, however, we do provide made to order waffles, fresh fruit, fresh baked banana bread, cereals, boiled eggs, pastries, juice and coffee. This is complimentary however, we offer hot breakfast combos for about $5. Our breakfast is technically open at 6:15 but if our attendant has things ready before then, we are happy yo serve any guests who may show up before then.

As for safety concerns, we have the automatic door locks, the deadbolt and the slide lock. I am sorry that the slide lock was loose. We do patrol the property regularly to ensure that there are not any rowdy guests being loud.

Although we understand that you were not impressed by our hotel, we encourage other travelers to peek at your photos and see exactly what you saw. Although our hotel may be a bit older, it is still clean, spacious and has many amenities that other budget hotels do not. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Late in the rainy Florida evening we got into Ocala looking for a hotel, and were lured in by neon-advertised low rates at the Howard Johnson. For this price, we expected a shabby but hopefully clean room. Imagine our surprise to find luxurious accommodations priced far below their worth. The room was impeccably clean and well-appointed, including mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. The bathroom was new and fresh, with lots of fluffy white towels. The hotel amenities included free Wi-Fi that worked flawlessly, on-premise guest laundry, and a bathtub warm heated pool and hot tub. There was also free room service and breakfast that we didn't take advantage of. Seriously, this hotel has it all. However, one of the best features of this hotel was the personal attention to detail shown by the courteous staff. The desk clerk explained all the hotel features upon checkin and personally pointed out details about the pool, such as where the extra pool-side towels were kept. I could not get one of the soda machines to take my dollar bills and happened to mention it when I went to the front desk to get change - as I was leaving I overheard the clerk noting to another staff member to "make sure to get the pop machine checked out before the end of the shift" (this was 10PM at night) - many places would just not even bother with something so small, but this night crew seemed to take extraordinary pride in the hotel and seemed very concerned about my small little problem with the soda machine (I was able to purchase a soda at the front desk, so no real problem). My husband and I are talking about visiting Florida again next winter, and we talked about spending the entire vacation in Ocala because it's just such a good value. Not related to the hotel, but we also had a great time taking country drives in the surrounding horse-country area which is so beautiful with rambling lanes full of live oaks draped in moss.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much Lori! We are absolutely glowing at the wonderful comments that you have for our Howard Johnson of Ocala staff. We truly hope that you and your husband do come back. Ocala has a wealth of activities and things to do. Most people who stop here only see the tip of the iceberg but Ocala truly has a lot to offer. If you are interested in finding out more, then you can visit our website, http://hotelocala.com/things-to-do/ . Here you will find a wealth of resources and if there isn't enough there to plan your vacation, our friendly front desk staff are always pleased to tell you about the area and what there is to do. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent customer service, room was clean, but dated. Stopped on our way through town. Nice location in that it was directly off the expressway. It included a continental breakfast which was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala! We are pleased that our friendly staff could make you feel at home. Our property is a bit older as you mentioned but we are constantly improving. For instance, we are replacing the bathroom tile and vanities one by one and will be resurfacing the parking lots in the near future. We also work to replace the carpeting and furniture as funds allow. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#13 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs Natural Theme Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, Howard Johnson's Restaurant on-site (Buy 1 Dinner and get the 2nd dinner of equal or lesser value FREE) and nearby dining and convenience at Roma Italian Restaurant and the Publix SuperMarket. No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HoJo Ocala, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.