We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay with Howard Johnson again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Zanesville
1 review
“Would not stay with Howard Johnson again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

No elevator for handicap, which my Dad is, the rooms were over priced, the room keys would not work and we were left standing in the cold while one of us made one trip to the front desk to get a second set of room keys. Keys still did not work, had to wait for desk clerk to spot us waiving the 2nd set that did not work, she took her time getting another set over to us then she had to go back to the office and put us in a different room. All the while we are standing in the cold. We registered with 4 adults and did not have enough towels/wash cloths for 4 people. Not enough items on the continental breakfast. Prior to check in, when asking the desk clerk about room rates, she attempted a complete sales job so I had to stop her and ask what the rate was.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Raymond, I am sorry that you had issues while at our hotel. Unfortunately, if you do not call ahead and reserve a first floor handicapped room, then our staff cannot always provide one as they tend to sell out quickly. As for the door lock, it sounds like the lock was out of batteries. This is actually something that can happen at any hotel with electronic door locks. I am very sorry that this happened to you though and I wish that we could have gotten you a different room sooner. Thank you again for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    257
    135
    61
    38
See reviews for
224
172
108
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NAPLES
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Despite my wife’s misgivings about staying at “HoJo’s,” I decided to trust the ratings and give this place a chance. I’m glad we did. From the moment we walked through the door to register--at almost 10:00 at night--until we checked out at 9:00 the following morning, we had a very good experience at this property.
You can tell the people working here take pride in what they do. Everyone—and I mean everyone—smiles and says hello, asks you if everything is OK, or if they can do anything for you. It’s like they have all been hired for their personalities. How refreshing!
Now with all that TLC going on, you might feel inclined to let slide some of the “not so excellent” features. But that’s not the case here. True, this is not a 4-star resort property. But as a place to stay overnight on the road, you’d be hard pressed to find a better value in this area.
The rooms are well equipped—each has a microwave and small refrigerator—and they offer free Wi-Fi—although it can be spotty at times. The furnishings are older, but seem to be in good shape. The rooms—as with most “on the road between here and Florida” properties—have been well used. But they seemed to be impeccably clean.
When we left at 9:00 in the morning there was a full cleaning crew hard at work and each door seemed to be left open after the room was finished. There was a manager (or owner) walking the area, stopping to talk to guests and—it seemed—checking each room before it was closed off and approved to be rented. I liked that.
The continental breakfast was OK—nothing special—but it was held in the restaurant where you could also purchase additional items—like a full meat and eggs breakfast cooked to order for only $4.99, which I though was a nice touch too.
All in all, the is Howard Johnson’s lived up to its rating and is a place I would be willing to drive a bit out of the way to stay at again and again while traveling through this part of the country.
Kudos to management for doing so many things right!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at our Howard Johnson of Ocala. As you mentioned, our staff take great pride in our hotel. From the front desk person who checks you in to the housekeepers who clean the rooms, everyone takes ownership of the property and works to ensure our guests satisfaction. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I read Trip Adviser reviews before booking this hotel so expected it would be good and was not disappointed. I stayed one night but will be going back for more. ( business need to be in the area ). Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed. Restaurant on site was a nice suprise and welcome. Breakfast was great. I had the free continental but you can buy cooked to order as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala, Florida! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms, friendly staff and newly renovated restaurant. We sure do hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#11 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs Natural Theme Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, Howard Johnson's Restaurant on-site (Buy 1 Dinner and get the 2nd dinner of equal or lesser value FREE) and nearby dining and convenience at Roma Italian Restaurant and the Publix SuperMarket. No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HoJo Ocala, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.