We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was going to go to the Ocala, Fl area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
GreenLeadersGold level
WINTER HAVEN
1 review
“I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was going to go to the Ocala, Fl area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was very clean, including the bathroom. The continental breakfast was all we could eat and poolside (including a hot tub) was great with plenty of tables and chairs with some being covered. The staff was very congenial and cooperative. Easy on and off I-75 with plenty of eateries close by. All this for an extremely inexpensive price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of our Howard Johnson of Ocala, Florida! You mentioned one thing that many travelers do not know about our hotel; that we have a large heated pool with hot tub and that we can assign your chosen room nearby this pool. If you love to swim (or soak) it is a wonderful surprise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    224
    108
    51
    33
See reviews for
196
141
97
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent one night in Ocala during our trip to the Florida Keys. I chose this hotel because the price was great, but wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. The property was very clean and the front desk staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Our check-in was quick and easy and the room was basic, but clean and spacious. I loved the free wi-fi and continental breakfast in the morning. You can not beat this place for price, value and location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for making the Howard Johnson Ocala a part of your family vacation! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are one or two budget hotels in Ocala that can beat us on price but most travelers don't realize how much they sacrifice in cleanliness, quality, and added amenities by staying elsewhere. Thank you for telling others about us so that maybe they will give us a try too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is very affordable and CLEAN!! I travel with disinfectants and I didn't need to use them at all. The beds were comfortable, but don't expect a bed like your own. The pillows leave alot to be desired, but I also travel with my own pillow so that wasn't an issue. I didn't see any mold or mildew, or stains on the sheets. The sheets smelled clean so I believe they were recently laundered. I swear, I inspect a hotel room before I start unpacking because I cannot tolerate unkept rooms. Overall, I was happy with the accomodations and I plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Judith, thank you so much for your review! We hope that you do get a chance to return to our Howard Johnson hotel in Ocala, Florida. You mentioned how clean the sheets smelled. That is because we ALWAYS launder the sheets between guests as well as for stays of more than a few days. Our housekeeping staff are proud to provide a level of service that far surpasses most budget accommodations and we are pleased that this made your stay a great one. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flesherton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

i have been staying @ ho jo in ocala for several years now its the hotel of my choice in that area the staff is great rooms have always been very clean in my opion its like my home away from home and will remain that way Al Gibbons Flesherton ont canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you Al! At the Howard Johnson of Ocala, Florida, we truly do want every guest to feel at home. I personally travel between our hotels every week and spend two nights at this Howard Johnson hotel and I absolutely agree with you that the staff, the laid back atmosphere, and the rooms make you feel welcome every time. I know I will always get to see Cedric and Adrian's smiling faces at check-in. And, best of all, I know that they feel just as pleased to see a familiar face also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accokeek, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We traveled from WV to FL in 2 days with a moving truck, 4 adults & 2 small children. The Howard Johnson's was a very nice place to stay! The rooms were clean and the employees were extremely friendly! Breakfast was good too! Thanks you HoJo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much Paula! I hope that the rest of your move went smoothly and that you are now settling comfortably into your new home. We are so pleased that our Howard Johnson Ocala could be a part of this major milestone in your family's history! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The two young men that checked me in, Adrian and Cedric, were sensitive to my needs, went above and beyond to be sure I was satisfied with the accommodations and I felt that my comfort level was as important to them as it was to me. Kudos guys for a job well done!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much! Our Howard Johnson Ocala is truly lucky to have such an wonderful staff. Cedric and Adrian are an amazing and important part of our team and are always very genuine and sincere with our guests. I all the time that I have know them, I cannot say that I have ever seen either of them get upset or treat a guest as anything less than royalty. We are truly proud of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenboro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a very good choice. We came here after being disappointed with another close by room. About the only thing I can think of that wasn't great in this room was the traffic noise was a little more then I care for. Don't get me wrong. It wasn't horrible, You could just hear some of the trucks. The breakfast was great. I like motels that have waffle makers. They also had hard boiled eggs plus the typical stuff. If ever back in Ocala, i would be sure to come back here. Good staff , good room and a great price. Thanks guys. Job well done

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dave, thank you for your very flattering review of our Howard Johnson Hotel in sunny Ocala, Florida! We do hope to see you back again and we will keep the waffle maker and syrup on standby for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#13 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs Natural Theme Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, Howard Johnson's Restaurant on-site (Buy 1 Dinner and get the 2nd dinner of equal or lesser value FREE) and nearby dining and convenience at Roma Italian Restaurant and the Publix SuperMarket. No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HoJo Ocala, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.