We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
GreenLeadersGold level
Bradford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“first night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

arrived early evening having just flown into Orlando International from the UK

Rooms could do with refurb, furniture looking well used, but clean and included a limited breakfast.

Okay for a stop over and value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala Florida and taking the time to write and post your review on trip advisor. Every team member at the hotel is committed to treating every guest weather the guest is traveling from another state or in your case another country, as if you are a part of our family. We have many options for things you may want to enjoy while you are in the Ocala Florida area. The hotel offers different packages, such as horseback riding tickets to Silver Springs Natures Theme Park tickets. Next time you are in the Ocala area and would like to take advantage of one of these packages, please do not hesitate to ask our team members when you are making your reservation with us. Our property is centrally located in Ocala, just west of I-75 at exit#354. Also we are a short drive from all the central Florida major attractions, and just an hour drive to the beach. Again thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala Florida for your lodging needs. We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    223
    108
    51
    33
See reviews for
196
141
97
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We saw and booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor so we thought "how could we go wrong". Boy were we wrong! We pulled in late after driving all night, got checked in and found our room. As my husband, my son and myself were walking along the outside corridor we found our room. My husband proceeded to get the keycard out when I looked at our window and I could see the biggest, blackest spider I had ever seen in my entire life. It was easily the size of a hamburger bun. My son then saw it and thought it was a Halloween decoration. I immediately looked at my husband and told him to look in the window before opening the door. That's when we saw the spider start to crawl up the inside of the curtain! This was no decoration. My husband decided to open the door to see if he could find something to kill it with and that is when we saw another spider inside the room! There was NO WAY we would be sleeping at this hotel. We promptly went back to the check in counter and my husband reported the spiders in the room and said we would not be staying at their hotel. The desk clerk tried to make a joke by saying that "This is Florida and we have spiders" to which my husband replied, "We live in Florida and no hotel should have spiders this big!!" The desk clerk said he would cancel the reservation. It took two weeks and finally a call to American Express to get the charges off our card. I would never stay at another Howard Johnson's again! This is the same chain that stole my husbands credit card in Miami several years ago!! NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala Florida and taking the time to write and post a review on trip advisor. We would like to sincerely apologize to you and your family for the inconvenience this incident has caused you. We take pride in every aspect of our hotel. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We do try and keep up with the latest protection for any pesky insects. Like many hotels today the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala Florida is independently owned and operated. We strive to be the best, in all aspects of our industry. Again we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you and your family while you were in the Ocala Florida area. We have five other hotels within thirty minute drive of our property. They are all indoor properties, and completely non-smoking. We would greatly appreciate that if you are in the Ocala, Florida area, in the future, you may give one of our other properties a chance to make your next visit a pleasant one. If you would like to have the information regarding our other hotel properties in the Ocala are please call the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala Florida and we will be happy to provide the phone numbers and locations of our other properties. Again thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala Florida for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have stayed here twice now and are very happy. The price is great. The rooms are clean. The pool is very nice. The staff is super friendly especially Renee (breakfast). Even the dinner was surprisingly good. We like to visit Ocala a few times each year and will stay at the HoJos from now on.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the third floor unless you really love stairs. Make sure the room is going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala, Florida and taking the time to write and post a review on trip advisor. Our aim is to make sure that each one of our guest’s receives value for every dollar they spend at our hotel. Along this line, our Howard Johnson Restaurant offers nightly dinner specials at reasonable prices. And yes, with a purchase of dinner there will be no charge for the ice cream. Our Howard Johnson Restaurant does not have 28 flavors of ice cream. However, the ice cream is still delicious. Our promise is that we will do whatever it takes to make sure you have a great and comfortable stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala. Our team also is trained to make every guest feel like they are family. All of our rooms do not come with a microwave and a fridge. Just mention that you need a room with a micro/fridge in it and we will gladly have your room ready for you. We thank you for your continued business. Again thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala, Florida for you lodging needs. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

my husband and i stayed here last january while visiting friends. we have stayed here before. i find it to be a very pleasant stay. i will continue to stay here everytime we visit ocala. the staff is always friendly and have always found it to be clean and comfortable. even with the guest being up all night at times it doesn't stop us from get the rest and comfort we need. kudos to your business. will be back if GOD allows me. thank you

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Front Desk at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.com. Your comments allow us to make any adjustments to our services so we may better accommodate you and our other guests. Perhaps on your next visit you would like to take in some of our State Parks around the area. Activities include canoeing, hiking, swimming, fishing, and even horseback riding. Most importantly we would like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

I was pleasently surprised when I saw my room! The staff couldn't be more friendly, courteous, and accomodating. I got a kick out of Renee...she was my favorite as well as Heather...they were both sweethearts!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala, Florida and taking the time to write and post a review on trip advisor. The dedicated team at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala has one goal-that goal is to make sure each one of our guest has a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The Howard Johnson Inn is very centrally located in Ocala. The Howard Johnson Inn Ocala is minutes from downtown Ocala and Ocala’s famous springs and horse farms. Many of our guests love visiting the fresh water bubbling springs of Ocala. While at Juniper, Rainbow, Salt, Alexander, or Silver Glenn Springs, our guest s can swim, canoe, kayak, snorkel or sunbath. These Springs are either located in State Parks or the Ocala National Forest. Within these parks, there are hiking trails, bird watching venues and picnic areas. Again thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala Florida. We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at Howard Johnson in Ocala several times in the past and have been very satisfied in the accomadations. Stayed for four days after extending our stay an extra two days. We found it clean and well maintained and a safe place to stay even though it was right off highway 75.But the most plesant part of our stay was the attitude of the staff who genuinely happy that we stayed at their hotel. The standouts of the crew were Bridgette and Renee who were very helpfull to the patrons who didnot know how to operate the waffle machine they were constantly cleaning and refilling the breakfast buffet and extremely patient with people who made terrible messes that I wouldn't want to clean-up. Also Sharon who made sure our room was clean and straight and Earl who made sure that everything was in good working order in all the rooms. We grew to know these people because they greeted us every morning and engaged in conversation making us feel like friends instead just two more people they needed to serve. Two thumbs up to the management and a sincere thank you to the staff for a job well done we'll stay there every time we come up that way
Leslie & Ed Signorile

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala, Florida and taking the time to write and post a review on trip advisor. The Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala takes pride in treating every guest like they are a part of our family, weather they are staying with us for just one night, or staying with us for two or more days. Every team member is trained in this aspect from management, all the way through housekeeping. We are conveniently located off of I-75 at exit 354, a short drive from Silver Springs, Nature’s Theme park, Wild Waters water park, We have all the creature comforts of home. We appreciate your business and again thank you for staying with us at the Howard Johnson Inn Of Ocala and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Everyone from reservations to the cleaning staff was very friendly to help however it was needed. The rooms were very clean. Location has great access to stores ,restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have easier access for ones with challenges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn Ocala and taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! The Team here at Howard Johnson Inn Ocala strives on going that extra mile to make sure each and every one of our guests are happy and comfortable with their stay with us. We try to take care of any issues as soon as possible and will do WHATEVER it takes to make each guest happy. As you point out “ Location has great access to stores, restaurants, and attractions” might I suggest the next time you are in Ocala to try out the Ocala Civic Theatre, Silver Springs to check out the glass bottom boats, or just relax at the bubbling fresh water springs in the Ocala National Forest. Again, Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn Ocala and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#13 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs Natural Theme Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, Howard Johnson's Restaurant on-site (Buy 1 Dinner and get the 2nd dinner of equal or lesser value FREE) and nearby dining and convenience at Roma Italian Restaurant and the Publix SuperMarket. No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HoJo Ocala, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.