We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins are awesome! River is beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver River State Park

Silver River State Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver River State Park
Save
You added Silver River State Park to your Saves list
1425 Northeast 58th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34470   |  
Hotel amenities
Seminole, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cabins are awesome! River is beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in the cabins for 2 nights. They are wonderful. Sleep 6. Two bedrooms with double beds and a queen sized bed. Full bathroom with a tub, fully stocked kitchen, living room with couch and 2 chairs, dining area with table and chairs. All linens and utensils are included. Pots and pans, broom, mop etc.. I just loved the porch that wrapped around 2 sides of the cabin and was screened in, so no bugs! The porch had ceiling fans, rocking chairs and a large picnic table. The back outdoor area has a firepit, and a grill. No television. The price is very reasonable. The park it's self is nice, with lots of trails. We saw Owls and wild boar on the trails. There are lots of mosquitoes, so bring bug spray and apply frequently. We brought our own kayaks to travel on the river, they do have canoe's for rent down by the river. This is probably where my only complaint comes in. It is about a 1/2 - 3/4 mile walk down to the river which I don't understand, because the trail is plenty wide enough for a car,so if you bring your own canoe or kayak, it really is a hassle getting them up and back from the river. Once on the river, it is a beautiful paddle. It takes about 1.5 hrs to paddle up river to the head of the spring. I have heard about the wild monkeys, but we did not see them. The rangers said they don't really like the heat, so I guess they are harder to see in the summer months. It takes about a half hour to float/paddle back to the launch. Lots of turtles, birds, fish, and yes even alligators to be seen on the river. You feel like you are in the middle of no where at this park, but you are only a short drive (about a mile) from the super wal-mart, and other grocery shops. A nice place to spend a few days.

These cabins would be a wonderful place to have family reunion... just rent 2 or 3 and have a ball.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent a five-day vacation in Cabin # 1 the week of July 4th and we enjoyed it completely. We have stayed in state park cabins before but the cabins here are some of the most modern and well-kept we have seen. Peaceful and serene, Silver River State Park is a back-to-nature getaway that affords excellent canoeing and hiking trails with few amenities. It's very close to Ocala so shopping and restaurants are close by, so you can be in the wilderness but not out of reach of whatever you need.

My wife and I mainly came for rest so we did not try the canoeing... I enjoyed a hike to the springs and yes the water is beautiful. Canoe rentals are $7/hour and many people bring their own. It's one of the main attractions. We enjoyed the small but nice museum that is open on weekends and holidays only. There's little else to do here but that's ok.

It's the cabin that got five stars. Modern and roomy, the two bedroom cabin has about 960 square feet of living space that rivals any hotel for comfort. Best of all is the huge wrap-around porch that is big enough to roller skate on. We spent most of our time there, especially during some of the afternoon thunderstorms that passed through daily. It was reinvigorating, which is exactly what the doctor ordered. There are no tv's or phones in the cabins and we did miss the TV a little, but we played DVD movies on our laptop for evening entertainment and that worked great (on the porch of course!). By the way there is good cellphone coverage here and our AT&T-connected iPad kept us in touch with the world when we wanted it.

Service was fast and courteous... we had a minor problem with the microwave and they replaced the unit quickly. The house is clean and in excellent condition. There is a propane fireplace which is only active in the winter. And there is a grill and fire ring in the back that looked inviting if not for the weather. For $110/night it's a little on the high end for a state park cabin but you get good value for your money (we hate hotels anyway so there's no comparison there).

We took a day-trip down to the Kennedy Space Center (2 1/2 hour drive) but otherwise we brought good food, movies and our laptop and iPad and did some rainy-day snuggling. We always enjoy state park cabins and we always seem to get our money's worth but the cabins at Silver River State Park are exceptional and they get our highest recommendation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Clear warn water, lots of wildlife including monkeys, manatee. Be prepared for a long paddle maybe 45 minutes, to spring head. Spacious camp sites. Swimming is not allowed but we found a little place to try it. Very close to town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Park has nice clean sites very nice hosts nice playground with up to date equipment and safe trails and canoeing. One of Florida's state park gems plenty of sites in the shade tables grills fire pits adequate

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This little state park has great canoe rentals for Silver River.We rented a canoe go to down to the beginning of silver river by the adventure park, about a 3 hour paddle round trip. We saw tons of turtles, egrets, herons, wood ducks, vultures, anhinga, and were even able to see the wild monkeys! They only have about 12 canoes that are available on a first come first serve basis. There is also a "Cracker" village, a few hiking trails and a little museum.. Just a beautiful park- and a beautiful day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micanopy, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just spent four days in the Silver River State Park in one of their luxury cabins! Loved how remote it was, yet just minutes from shopping and restaurants. The cabins are extremely well kept and clean. Equipped with a dishwasher, refrigerator, pots and pans, and dishes. The staff picks up towels daily and brings a fresh supply. It is an excellent value for the money. I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint augusine, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Great campground but the mosquitos are enormous and hungry. The campground offers very nice trails and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River State Park

Address: 1425 Northeast 58th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34470
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ocala
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Silver River State Park Hotel Ocala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.