We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 SW 38th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our baseball team stayed at this hotel while in Ocala for a state baseball tournament. The hotel lobby was beautiful. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. The Sales Manager was very patient with me as I made reservations for 10 families with many request and changes before arrival. The lobby staff was very nice and very helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Ensuring your comfort and convenience is what drives us to work hard in giving you a pleasantly memorable experience to remember. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and giving us your positive feedback. The appreciation you gave with regards to the beautiful lobby as well as the nice and accommodating service our entire team gave you is indeed heart-warming. Thank you for expressing the desire to stay with us again, we couldn’t wait to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    61
    17
    16
    12
See reviews for
60
52
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as we were traveling through. Comfortable beds, neat lobby, great service from the girls at check in desk. The only thing I didn't really like was not having an included continental breakfast, but they told me that so probably wrong to complain. This is a moderately upscale area and probably why it is a little pricey as we did spend a little more than I wanted for a place to sleep. If in the area I would definitely stay here again. If I was traveling through though, would probably go to the next town where the cost of living might be a little lower.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
It is a pleasure to receive wonderful praises from our valued guests. We seek to be consistent in terms of providing you with great service, and it inspires us more to hear that you appreciate all our hard work. Thank you for complimenting our great staff services as well as our comfortable beds and neat lobby. We wish to give you nothing but the best, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Got a great price through Priceline Express Deals for a one night stay. Did not use the pool and so can't review. Staff was helpful and efficient. The beds and bedding were comfy, air conditioning worked well, and room was clean. The SKY restaurant and bar on the top floor was enjoyable, though drink service was slow and proteins were bland without sauce. The roasted pineapple martini was divine. Low end appetizer $8 and salad entrée $13.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Your satisfaction means a lot to us, and to be able to hear that we have served you well is more than enough to inspire us to work harder than hard to give our valued guests the best service they deserve at all times. Thank you for sharing to us your wonderful experience and for commending our reliable staff for the excellent service given to you. It brings us great joy that you had a pleasant experience while staying with us. We certainly hope to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed and were informed that the whirlpool suite we had booked had broken and were offered a balcony suite upgrade only to learn they did not have any available and we were "upgraded" to a standard king suite from our reserved whirlpool room and breakfast was comped in the morning.

The hotel itself is fairly nice, although we were confused by the combination of Asian decor with cypress swamp decor and a teal color scheme in the rooms. It just seemed pieced together or that different designers did different parts of the hotel.

As has been mentioned in a number of reviews, the shower water temperature was very difficult to regulate and it seemed to make itself hotter every couple of minutes and got very hot, very quickly.

All in all, a somewhat disappointing stay and what has the potential to be a very nice hotel. I can definitely understand the wide variations in reviews the hotel has received.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how our services have been during your recent stay with us. We understand that you were met with disappointing circumstances during your stay, and for that we are deeply sorry. It is indeed regrettable to know that we were unable to provide your room of choice, and the water temperature was deemed difficult to regulate. Rest assured that your concerns will be assessed and evaluated thoroughly to ensure great service. We wish to let you know that our customer’s voice means so much to us, and we really value your inputs. We hope to give you a far better experience next time around, should you reconsider visiting our hotel again. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haynesville, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A hotel that offers all you need and then some. The location is good. Cracker Barrel and Burger King are accross from the parking lot. Kohls and other stores are accross the Hwy. There are other eateries and shopping spots are close. Hotel staff is second to none. The lobby is decorated and very inviting.. Soft piano music greets you as you enter the lounging part of the lobby. The houskeepers are kind and efficient. Restaurants are second to none.

Room Tip: We have a standard room, 2 queen beds, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen t.v., wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
It is our goal to provide our guests the best service there is to offer like no other hotel can, and we sincerely appreciate the time you took in writing us your valuable feedback to commend us for the services we have given you. We couldn’t be more pleased to have served you well and made your experience a memorable one. It pleases us to know that you appreciated the convenient location and the staff services in total, for we wish to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible while giving them the best value for their money. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed the friendly staff here.  The people are the only reason we would come back.  Everyone was so nice!  The front desk gives out a nice little "welcome" box with cookies and water upon arrival.

As for the accommodations, there are some areas needing attention.  The room carpets are dark brown and appear to hide a lot of dirt.  I put on a brand new pair of white socks and walked around the room for a few hours before I noticed the bottom of my socks had turned brown from the unclean carpet.  The carpets aren't the only items that need a visit from Coit.  Some of the upholstered lobby furniture had significant stains.  I decided to stick with the leather and faux leather seating.  Furthermore, our shower (Room 624) could use some help from Comet (see photo).  There was some mildew growing.

The interior can be called anything but ordinary.  The lobby restrooms and the other areas of the inside of the hotel look like the product of two different interior design teams fighting with each other like a bad episode of The Apprentice...one team zen inspired, the other apparently gin inspired!  The men's room is awesome!  It's smartly designed with contemporary earth tones and some amazingly cool faucets.  On the other hand, the lobby and room interiors are clad in barf-inducing shades of green and blue with some incoherent themes going on.  The motif looks like the Orient Express crashed into a Rainforest Cafe.  Once you see it you will either love it or hate it.  

Rooms on all floors open to a central atrium allowing views of the lobby below.  Sadly, some of the lobby soft seating was way too ridiculous to be functional.  One example is the large wicker cocoon-like enclosure in the center of the lobby containing a queen-sized cushion with bed sheets.  Who on Earth would feel comfortable laying down in the middle of a hotel atrium?  Ditto with respect to the giant chaises.  Take your shoes off, lie back and make yourself comfortable with 8 floors of rooms looking down on you?  Why not have clusters of comfortable seating where people clan sit upright, eat, socialize, collaborate or curl up with an iPad or novel?

The hotel has a giant roadside billboard north of town on the 75 Freeway that boasts fast, free Internet.  Truth in advertising!.  As it turns out, the WiFi was plenty fast for a hotel.

In the end, this place serves its purpose for a good nights sleep.  The people excel where the  interior design and cleanliness fall a little short.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It brings us great delight that we were able to serve you well. Thank you for sharing to us your wonderful feedback. We especially appreciate that you took notice of the dedication our staff members put into making the stay of our valued guests pleasant at all times. It is our aim to continually seek excellence and we couldn’t thank you enough for constantly giving us a chance to improve the delivery of our services, rest assured that your voice has been heard and correction of deficiencies will surely be expected to deliver the best service we can offer. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were here on a visit for five days to see my father-in-law in the hospital. We arrived at the hotel without a reservation on a Wednesday night. The two young ladies at the front desk were extremely friendly, and warm. The lobby area is nice, with an inviting, fresh smell and was relaxing. There is a large seating area with very cool decorations and different types of seats, two large screen TVs showing the news. I liked that! When you check-in they give a you small box with two bottles of water, various coupons for discounts in the restaurant as well as the bar, and the complimentary internet code. The room rate supposedly included breakfast for one, but in reality it was only a coupon for five dollars off the breakfast menu. However, the menu prices are reasonable and the quality is good. I was very impressed with the room - it was quiet large with two queen size bed, a nice sizes fridge, a microwave, a large desk and plenty of drawers. It was very clean, looked newly renovated, and the A/C was not noisy. I loved the bathroom amenities as there were enough towels/washcloths and the shampoo smelled very good - it seemed like it was some sort of green tea concoction! Also the cleaning of the room was very well done and they really do a great job. Unfortunately I was not able to use the pool, but it is a nice size. The fitness room was a little bit small though. I would definitely come back! The front office staff makes you feel at home by recognizing you and calling you by your last name when they see you. Oh Great location for shopping too!

Room Tip: We were in room 521
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Knowing that we have served you well brings us great joy. Thank you for sharing to us your entire hotel experience. We indeed make it a point to always attend to the needs of our guests to the best of our abilities to give them a pleasant experience to remember. The very positive feedback you gave us regarding our hotel accommodation, the facilities and amenities offered, as well as our very reliable staff members truly makes us beyond happy. Thank you for motivating us to do so much more to give our guests the best service they deserve. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center

Address: 3600 SW 38th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Ocala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
#9 Family Hotel in Ocala
#10 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most incredible Holiday Inn & Suites in Florida! Our 6-story atrium lobby hotel is packed with amenities and features seldom found at any hotel. With Tempur-pedic beds in every room and a world class style your stay in Ocala is sure to be the best possible. Make sure to dine at one of our two restaurants or bars, including SKY ASIAN FUSION, winner of the 2010, 2011 and 2012 Golden Spoon Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Ocala
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites - Ocala Conference Center
Holiday Inn Ocala
Ocala Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Ocala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.