We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checking out is suite revenge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 SW 38th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Checking out is suite revenge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

In the corner "suite", decorated in a garish teal with cheap furnishings, the water pressure in the bathroom brought to mind summer camp or, worse, prison camp. Water temps are either scalding or bone chilling. The Tempurpedic beds are pretty good but the pillows are standard-issue lumpy. With achy necks we stumbled down to breakfast. No one to seat us despite a sign urging us to "wait to be seated". The waitress and the hostess were the same person. We poured our own coffee. She couldn't seat us right away, in any case. They were running low on silverware. We went down the street to join the crowds at a local fast-food establishment. It was that kind of weekend. Finally, we checked out. Once you're on the outside of this Holiday Inn, you're never going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you’ve had during your stay with us. None of us wanted the incident to happen because we always aim to provide quality services, clean environment and great accommodation. We assure you that we will discuss this on our regular meeting to make improvements and possible sanctions to those who are accountable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    73
    20
    18
    14
See reviews for
73
65
29
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night on Feb 15 on our way down to South Florida. The hotel and surrounding hotels were packed and very busy. However, it was really quiet inside the hotel in spite of the busy activity. Check-in was very quick and the ladies behind the desk were very nice and professional. They have an asian restaurant on the top floor (7th), but we did not eat there. It looked busy so I'm guessing that the food is pretty good. The side of the hotel is very clean and pleasant looking. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like you to know that we are happy that you have chosen to stay at our hotel. We are glad that we have provided you the services that you deserve and met your expectations. We are always committed to always value the stay of our customers. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

In a Hotel of this price range one would at least expect a comfortable bed. On February 2, 2013 I spent one night in a room on the 2nd floor containing one king bed. Although the room appeared freshly painted in pastel colors and the furniture was adequate, the bed sagged in the middle to such a degree that I could not help but rolling to the middle with the two sides bowing up higher. The sag was visual enough to detect it while sitting in the chair next to the bed. As I arrived fairly late after an exhausting day, an inferior mattress was an unwelcome surprise, especially in a room of this price. I expected more from a Holiday Inn property. In addition, the clerk or manager checking me in was stiff and unfriendly, showing little of a welcoming attitude. The one good surprise was the breakfast, which was cooked well compared to most hotel breakfast venues. However, the inferior bed and stiff attitude flunks this hotel for me, and I will in the future stay at the Hilton during my future trips to Ocala.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor - the hall from the elevator to the west side of the building is interrupted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear DaveFMFL,

Thank you for your review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am deeply sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the condition of the bed accommodations that you were given. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do apologize and regret that this impacted your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Came to town to run Ocala half marathon and this was host hotel. Very funky decor in lobby but in good way. Room big and clean. As with someone's else's comment breakfast is slow and it's not busy as I write this. The waitress just brought food and had her thumb on the eggs and it was the wrong order. Lets wait some more...finally here. Not quite what I ordered but who cares. 20 plus minutes when only one waiting is crazy. So stay here just don't eat breakfast here walk to Cracker Barrel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful that you spent your vacation at our hotel. We are happy for being able to provide you comfort and cozy location which is perfect to relax on this holiday season. We assure you that we will surprise you with great services every time you’ll stay with us. We can’t wait to serve you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights and absolutely loved the atmophere of the place, a very refreshing decor. The front desk staff were helpful. The breakfast servers were very friendly and professional. This is a hotel where you have to get out of your room and sit in the lobby to read, work on a computer or just have your tea or coffee there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time in writing us your feedback. It was such a pleasure to serve you during your stay with us. We are also grateful for pointing out the things that we have been great on and we assure you that we will always provide quality services, facilities and accommodation like no other hotels can provide. We can’t wait serve you again on your next stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a newer Holiday Inn. Very nice staff. The lobby is wonderful. This is everything you would want it to be. A little on the pricey side. Clean, quiet, free wifi. There is also a restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. We did not eat there, we are just passing thru. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to know that you had a great experience during your stay with us. We always aim to provide great accommodation, comfortable place and friendly environment. Rest assured that we will always continue this for us to keep valued customers like you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just what everyone else says: Nicest place we ever stayed - period! just beautiful! Restaurant was superb! Check out the other reviews-very accurate description of everything! We make it a point to stop here every year! Never been in a nicer place - even ones that cost 3 times as much!! five stars all the way!! *****

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaswartz, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, we are extremely humbled at the fact that you consider us not just the nicest Holiday Inn, but the nicest place you have ever stayed. We work hard to make sure all of our guests are provided with exceptional service and accommodations and I am glad we were able to continue that promise to you and your family.

And you are correct. Sky Asian Fusion is absolutely superb! They have recently won yet another Golden Spoon Award, making it three years in a row now. They serve an excellent cuisine topped with a great staff that tend to your every dining need.

Thank you for your continued loyalty and we very much look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center

Address: 3600 SW 38th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Ocala
#6 Business Hotel in Ocala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
#10 Family Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most incredible Holiday Inn & Suites in Florida! Our 6-story atrium lobby hotel is packed with amenities and features seldom found at any hotel. With Tempur-pedic beds in every room and a world class style your stay in Ocala is sure to be the best possible. Make sure to dine at one of our two restaurants or bars, including SKY ASIAN FUSION, winner of the 2010, 2011 and 2012 Golden Spoon Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites - Ocala Conference Center
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Ocala
Holiday Inn Ocala
Ocala Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Ocala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Ocala Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.