We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different approach to seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille

Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille
24 SE 1st Avenue, Ocala, FL 34471
352.840.0900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 377 Restaurants in Ocala
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A different approach to seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Harry's is in several Florida locations and all are very good. The Ocala location is on the downtown square, a fun location especially for sidewalk seating. Food and service very good. Try the redfish if you like spicy and the Oreo beignets if you like sweet and gooey. We're always satisfied when we stop at Harry's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    145
    29
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Two colleagues and I ate here while in town on business. It was about 7:00 pm on a crowded Sunday night but we were seated promptly. The service was very good; the baked stuffed shrimp was also a good decision. The downtown area around the restaurant was pleasant and parking was easy to find. Oh yeah, the basket of fresh bread was accompanied by a terrific whipped butter with garlic, chives and cream cheese! If we had not just spent the entire day in airports, flying and driving, we would have stuck around and enjoyed the bar scene after dinner. I will definitely eat here again when I am in Ocala.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We love Harry's, the food is excellent. This is the third sno-bird trip to Harry's since we arrived in January. Each time it has been a wonderful experience from the fried green tomatoes, fandeau dip, scallops, salmon and of course last but not least the deep fried oreo beignets. We have also brought our friends there and they love it as much as we do. You may also want to dine outside if the weather is warm, it is a charming restaurant with lots of character, however, it is all about the food and that is what keeps us going back. They also have daily specials on wine and cocktails an added touch, love the two for one and also on the day they offer a bottle of wine half price, if you don't finish it, they cap it for you to take home, what more could you ask for. A great restaurant, service a little bit of New Orleans plus.......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florahome, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Seems I always like this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I eat here once a year or so when passing through the area. I almost always love the food and look forward to the stop. Atmosphere is cozy, upscale. This week, we tried two of the specials. Both were excellent. Things aren't really quite as spicy as you expect in New Orleans, but most everything is spicier than most menus elsewhere. This particular trip, the service was what you expect in much higher priced places. Lots of little things like bringing/refilling water without being asked, suggestions spot on, not taking plates until everyone finished, timing of checking back with us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Masterfully spiced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Went to Harry's with 4 couples. Midweek about 5.30 and it was busy but no wait to get a very nice table, off to the back and quiet enough so we all could talk. We were on the bar side which incorporates much of the charm of the old building. Waitress was terrific and did not cringe when we asked for separate checks.
My wife had the pork medallions and I elected to have the Cajun pot pie which was a terrific dish. The drinks were two for one and the meals reasonably priced, and beautifully seasoned. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.