We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Fannies Restaurant

Aunt Fannies Restaurant
1031 S Pine Ave, Ocala, FL 34471-9806
352-732-4497
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 393 Restaurants in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat as we drove through Ocala on a Sunday and saw Aunt Fannie's Restaurant by the road and decided to stop. At first glance the place looks like a greasy spoon but we decided to stay. The staff were very friendly and while the menu might be overwhelming, the page with specials was clear and the food prices very reasonable. When we got our orders we could not believe how huge the servings were! The dinner rolls were like small loaves of bread! Two in our party ordered the grilled chicken chefs salad and they were excellent and enormous. Another individual had fish and the other roast beef, both were excellent.

If you are looking for a fancy place, don't stop here. However, if you are looking for a good meal at a very reasonable price, Aunt Fannie's Restaurant is a good place to stop.

(I'd suggest you forget about using the bathrooms here though!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    37
    11
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Just like eating at your southern granny's home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just for information sake's the name of the restaurant is Aunt Fannie's Restaurant and not Aunt Fannies, as it makes it difficult to find on Trip advisor to review this lovely place.

About the establishment, it was one of those little places that one finds on the road that is simple, casual and has a real down home southern charm. This is not a fancy place, by any means but quite the opposite. What the place lacks in elegance it more than makes up in charm, hospitality and really good food.

This unassuming little shack has the most amazing delicious food and items that are seldom found outside of the Deep South. Imagine perfectly cooked fried green tomatoes, delectable okra, smooth creamy yet crunchy fried eggplant slices, perfectly fried fish, mash potatoes like your grandma used to make...heaven! The prices are really reasonable and the portions are huge. They have a huge menu and such friendly servers that one feels like family from the minute one walks in. The place is crowded and filled with customers who were more than happy devouring what was in front of them with gusto.

Do not overlook the jams and jellies and real cane syrup for sale by the register.

This restaurant is located on S. Pine Ave corner of Highway 200. Would definitely go there again if in the area, as well as take some delicious food for later.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Discrace to Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

All I can say is yuck. Our family stopped by this restaurant on our way to St. Petersburg. The whole restaurant smelt like a bathroom, and the menu took me ten minutes to read because it was about five pages long, single spaced. I ordered the only think I thought that would be safe to order off of this menu, which was the baked chicken. The chicken was awful. I tasted like it had been frozen for a year, then melted, then cooked. I highly recommend for a family or anybody not to come here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have eaten at this restraunt many times over the years. The food is cooked on a grill by a chef that puts on a show as he cooks it. The food is always excelent and the service is very good. I recommend the AGED Tofu. for an appitizer. We usually order the Jumbo Ocean Scallops grilled. Its way more than you would expect from a strip mall storefront. Walk in and its Japan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Homemade food that fills the soul.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Omg...the breakfast menu is unbelievable. You will find anything that you can imagine. My best was a fried pork chop with grits and gravy. Don't go there on a diet!!! The food is reasonably priced and you get good portions. mmmmmm....good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Fannies Restaurant also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Aunt Fannies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Fannies Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.